Prof Adu Boahen ‘was broke as a historian’ - Son

Read Comments Comments (84)

• kofi adu. 7 years ago

your father was not realist. who do you blame?

• FUCK OFF DAARA 7 years ago

ALL KWABOTWE LOKOSHUA KUM BARTELS BOYZ WISH YOU WELL.KEEP GOING BRO!NO YAAWAH.

• RE kofi adu 7 years ago

kofi adu;CRY YOUR OWN CRY WAI!

• 21st century boy 7 years ago

I DONT THINK SO, HE CHOOSE TO WRITE DISCRIMINATORY AND TRIBALISTIC HISTORY WHICH INTELLIGENT PEOPLE DONT WANT TO BUY INTO. HISTORY IS SUPPOSE TO BE BASED ON FACTS WHICH PEOPLE ALREADY KNEW ORALLY.

• zilla 7 years ago

very true

• sam 7 years ago

Any time i hear of that man the first thing that comes in in my mind was his bigotry. A bit like that idiotic tool called okoampa who has been writing stupid ethnocentric articles on ghanaweb. May he rest in peace though but ...

• COUNSELOR 7 years ago

WELL SAID!

• NICH 7 years ago

Do you people have history?

• 21st century boy 7 years ago

NPP OPEN YOUR EYES AND STOP THE HATE CAMPAIGN AGAINST KOFI ADAM OR EWES. WHEN KUFOUR CAME 2000 TO CAMPAIGN, THEY WERE BROKE GUYS. THEY USE ONLY TWO PICKUPS PROVIDED BY ALIWU MAHAMA. BUT EIGHT YRS LATER AS PRESIDENT THEY ALL ...

• Superior 7 years ago

You are a loser and don't count

NPP rule for civilised people only

• sam 7 years ago

no wonder you are NPP.

• CHARLIE 7 years ago

Adu Boahene was a teacher at the University and we were children we were told that a teacher's reward was in heaven. So he is going to "enjoy" in the so-called heaven.

• Joyce 7 years ago

What do you mean by so called heaven?whether u like it or nit heaven is real

• huja 6 years ago

Whose father are you talking about kwasia!

PROF KUDOS YOUR FRUITS ARE FEEDING KAYAYEI

• EFO KOKU 7 years ago

We all know Kofi Adams when he was a pupil teacher. After becoming a politician, he now has in his possession 5 V8 vehicles. One V8 land cruiser takes his kids to school. His party killed people for having water closets in th ...

• ISSA ABONGO 7 years ago

THE BABIES WITH SHARP THIEF ARE SWIMMING IN BILLIONS OF STOLEN GH CEDIS AND DRIVING FLEET OF V8 CARS.

• CHAMPION ATTA 7 years ago

ISSA ABONGO, MAYBE YOU ARE POOR AND HUSTLING, OR JUST PLAIN YOUNG AND NOT EXPERIENCED, NO POLITICIAN IN GHANA IS RICH, OR GOT RICH FROM POLITICS! DON'T TAKE RICHNESS TO MEAN HAVING FINE HOUSES AND CARS! IF YOU THINK KOFI ADAM ...

• CHAMPION ATTA 7 years ago

I HAVE A RELATIVE WHO IS A TEACHER AND IS VERY RICH, HE FIRST SAT DOWN PLANNED AND WROTE AND PUBLISHED BOOKS FOR USE IN BECE AND WASSCE, HE SOLD BOOKS, HE ORGANIZED EVENING CLASSES IN HIS HOME, LATER STARTED A REMEDIAL STUDIE ...

• FAFRA 7 years ago

LAZY KIDS; THEN.THEY CAN COMPLETE ANY OF GHANA UNIVERSITY'S BEFORE GOING TO THE USA.

• Esi 7 years ago

So people who do not complete their education in Ghana before travelling abroad by your illogical statement are lazy? Sometimes when you have nothing to add it's ok to just sit back and read.

Anyway, back to Mr. Adu Boahen ...

• Kofi. 7 years ago

Frafra did you go to school?.Then tell me all those politicians.Academians in Ghana who have their education in overseas are lazy?Because you yourself is lazy I think your education was stolen by laziness

• rabbii 7 years ago

illiterate

• Edem 7 years ago

"He, therefore, had to enroll at the University of Ghana as a Chemical Engineering student"

In which did University of Ghana introduce Chemical Engineering and how old is the man in question?

• Bino 7 years ago

I had the same question too.... these politicians can lie.... hehehe

• ASABUYAKE 6 years ago

Chemical Engineering at Legon?
    When?
    plse check your facts again .

something must be amiss in this guy's cv if indeed he stated so .

• Prof. A.K.Appiah 7 years ago

Whatever happened to his numerous book royalties?

• Kwabena Yeboah 7 years ago

Only idiots and buffoons think of 'rich' as having material possessions. How could Prof Adu Boahen be broke when his name is a household name in Ghana and his name is rich in academia?

What is so newsworthy about this for ...

• KONKONSA 7 years ago

I share your sentiments. Unfortunately this is the depraved state of the minds of our youth today and the media are a sad reflection of this reality. At this rate the development agenda is going to be a mirage for a long tim ...

• KAB 6 years ago

But the media is reporting what the son said about the father.

Perhaps the media is trying to tell us how stupid the son is to be making such claims in public.

• Omanba 7 years ago

Not like professor[?]Ocquaye who in terms of academic stature is far below Adu Boahen but is very rich and using his influence in the government to get his son to be appointed high commissioner to India.

• Lori 7 years ago

Papa Ajasco is an ordinary thief. He was in India to steal, and he stole.

• Michael K. Tettevi. 7 years ago

I remember your school days in 1979 and 1980, when you two brothers used to ride in your father's car to school daily. By then I was a building craftsman on the construction site between your Abelemkpe home and that of Comman ...

• Michael K. Tettevi. 7 years ago

Giving comments in bed at dawn is a pity at times. One could easily make mistakes.

• Gh hormone 6 years ago

Why does everyone in Ghana live in Accra

• NPPigs 7 years ago

Adu Boahene wrote some history books and I want to believe that he was earning royalties from those books.

Fucking idiots who call themselves journalist don't even know about what royalties are?

By the way, how could ...

• Citizen 7 years ago

This boom was standard history book for students studying W. African history. Well written in flamboyant English language, never seen.

But was it really necessary for the children to say their father was broke at vetting? ...

• Kwami US 7 years ago

Readers should blame Charles for kidding at the vetting instead of him using critical thinking and logical reasoning. Who cares about his American citizenship at a vetting? Any way what kind of studies has Charles pursued in ...

• ama 7 years ago

They are all extremely bright kids who went to schools on scholarships. in US colleges if you do well your fees are paid for you. If you have kids and want them to do well please encourage them to study hard and they will be ...

• EBORENASA MOUTH ODOUR 7 years ago

Kofi Adams is Kotokoli from Northern Togo.

• Abudu Teacher 7 years ago

Just like Ewes, Kotokolis are in Ghana, Togo and Benin. We have Ghanaian Kotokoli and Kotokolis of other nationalities
    During the plebiscite one of the Kotokoli towns /village (Koue) voted to be part of Ghana.

If G ...

• KAB 6 years ago

No, when the plebiscite took place, there was Gold Coast but no Ghana. Ghana didn't exist then.

• kaketonti 7 years ago

.....SO HE WROTE FALSE HISTORY TO DAMAGE PEOPLE TO MAKE A LIVING!!!!eh eh.

• kaketonti 7 years ago

USELESS:HE Re:WROTE FALSE HISTORY

• Sam 7 years ago

Ghanaians do not acknowledge scholars who had set a foundation. There are many like your father still struggling penniless in Ghana. Even when one is poor one's family expects you to cough out money to pay for funeral.

• Al Hajj AAA-Rashid(OH.US) 7 years ago

To start with, when did UG Legon introduce Chemical Engineering as a course? I do not believe that story,because I know Prof. Adu Boahen wrote so many books that was in use by secondary schools and universities so he was rece ...

• Tni 7 years ago

This guy wrote ghana's history in favour of his tribe. See what problems Ghana has today.

• COUNSELOR 7 years ago

The professor should have known better for spreading false information to justify his ulterior motives.

• Nsia 7 years ago

We renounce citizenship not denounce.

• Aduna 7 years ago

so what. This guy is lying coz, the old prof had a lot of properties before his demise so what are you talking? This finance ministry is in big trouble then. William ofori and prof Abu Bowden sons will milk the state

• zantoda 7 years ago

if your father was poor as a history professor, "history" has nothing to do with it, he, may be didn't plan well, he had a book to his credit, should get a lot of royalty from that, may be his pay as a professor was not grea ...

• ABOAGYE 7 years ago

ARE (0540527508) YOU A STUDENT,GOVERNMENT
    WORKER,
    OR UNEMPLOYED LOOKING FOR A BUSINESS TO DO ON PART TIME / FULL TIME.
    CALL MR ABOAGYE !!!(0540527508)

• kanewo 7 years ago

meaning his degrees,PhD's and all the certificates were waste.

• WhenIdiotsRule 7 years ago

Politician make more money and get free V8, so you are in a better business than your father. However he has a name that will always be remembered favorably by all.

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 7 years ago

There are historians

• kk 7 years ago

His father did not want him to be a teacher. How many politicians want their children to teach? how many people in Ghana want their children to become teachers?

• BENTLEY 7 years ago

HE WAS BROKE BECAUSE HE USED HIS MONEY FOR POLITICS WAS FAILED TO WIN POWER-PERIOD!!

• Mandy TK 7 years ago

Your father was a useless and wicked historian.her further helped to marginalize the real Ghanaians after the Europeans.

• Dr D Pole-Mason 7 years ago

WE ARE GRATEFUL TO US UK GERMANY RUSSIA,ETC

• Koool 7 years ago

Congratulations my boss

• Open ur eyes 7 years ago

Idiot you are comparing Kofi Adams to prof Adu Boahen it means you and your President are senseless and stupid for you to Kofi Adams is wiser

• Yebo 7 years ago

Will live to regret renouncing citizenship.Ghana is mot worth dying for.

• HMMMN 7 years ago

It was deliberate because he invested his all to see you become what you are today and in that, he was very wealthy, very, very wealthy.

• josh 7 years ago

Who said historians should be rich???

• FAMILY AND FRIENDS 7 years ago

SO YOU HAVE BEEN MADE A BOARD MEMBER AT COCOBOD

• Maria Yakubu 7 years ago

Mobile phone not acceptable by ministers designate family members my reason is that look at what happen in London so sinminlar thing can happen in the Parliament house so i disagree.

• Nelson Osei 7 years ago

Is a big lie How then was he able take care of him and his siblings.

• Dr Ellis 7 years ago

I was blessed to meet the late professor face to face before he passed away. As a teen I used to follow his entourage when he was challenging the then president Rawlings. Professor may your soul rest in peace.

• Paa Joe 7 years ago

WHETHER YOUR FATHER WAS A POOR MAN, YOU HAVE STUDIED SOMETHING BETTER AND IT IS FOR YOU NOW TO USE YOUR ACADEMIC QUALIFICATION TO TRANSFORM THE ECONOMY STILL IN SHAMBLES IN GHANA.

ONLY COCOA BEANS AND RAW MATERIALS EXPORT ...

• Ksk 7 years ago

He was actually one of the richest politicians in opposition at that time. The only thing is that he didn't get the opportunity for NPP to come to power at that time for? him to chop Ghana money. He wasn't a poor man at all, ...

• Ksk 7 years ago

Do you know a broke father?? Funny how dadabees are claiming poor. Does he know a broke dad?

• Eben BINEY 7 years ago

There is nothing in ENGLISH as Senior brother or sister. The correct way is to say 'OLDER' brother or sister.

• Kojo 6 years ago

Elder ont older

• THE SENTINEL 6 years ago

I WON'T SAY IT IS DISTURBING, BUT IT IS DIFFICULT FOR ME TO DIGEST THIS ASSERTIOM BY THE SON OF THE EMINENT PROFESSOR OF HISTORY AND HISTORIAN. HISTORY IS A VERY IMPORTANT SUBJECT, MORE IMPORTANT THAN CHEMICAL ENGINEERING, IF ...

• THE SENTINEL 6 years ago

...ENGINEERING IS SUBJECTT TO CONSTANT CONCEPTUAL AND INNOVATIVE METAMORPHOSIS AND TRENDS WITHIN ITS SCIENTIFIC OPTIC, WHEREAS HISTORY RESTS ON FACTS, SOLID AND INDELIBLE FACTS. Thanks!

• Mokobi teacher 6 years ago

Broke ? When in the 70s he was riding a Volvo 240 DL which was the envy of many of his students. Your idea of a broke man is relative. When prof asked one of his students, who was a Marxist to the core, to categorize him the ...

• adomakoh froboo 6 years ago

The greatest in Africa. Universities here quote him often. Where are the fake historians who say Okomfo Anokye came from Eweland?

• Kofi Ellison 6 years ago

This is a very STUPID statement coming from Charles Adu Boahen, son of the late eminent HISTORIAN Professor Albert Adu Boahen. This is utterly nonsense, totally uncalled for. And it is NOT TURE either.

Your father must be ...

• Nana 6 years ago

@Kofi Ellison . Great

• Amoro Mpuse 6 years ago

The reward he had for galavanting around the world giving lectures attacking Nkrumah for the CIA. A pity Nana's father never did that today he is president

• Nana 6 years ago

Great message from u Kofi Ellison

• Obeng Thomas Kofi 6 years ago

Kofi Adams

NoT serious

Pro Adu is brave man in Npp .he soffer alot before he dead