Comments on Minister Cited In Land Grabbing Spree

Go Back to Minister Cited In Land Grabbing Spree

AFOTEY AGBO IS AN OLD CRIMINAL.

Author: WE WANT FREE EDUCATION Posted: 2012-09-24 01:24:33
I DONT KNOW WHY NDC PARADED SUCH DISGRACED CRIMINALS AS MINISTERS OF STATE.

Re: Minister Cited In Land Grabbing Spree

Author: MERCY Posted: 2012-09-24 02:08:54
THIS IS NO FRESH NEWS, ITS BEEN GOING ON FOR LONG. THIS IS AFRICA`S HEADACHE LOOTING MINISTERS,HEADS OF STATE,SO CALLED PRESIDENTS, MY FOOT THIS NDC IS PUSHING THE COUNTRY INTO CHAOS REALLY AND GOD WILL PUNISH ANY GHANAIAN WHO WILL STEAL AND PROCESS NATIONAL ASSETS AMNE:

Undeserve titles and nonsenses

Author: paa joe (U S A) Posted: 2012-09-24 02:28:33
Why u call these motherfuckers HONOURABLES? And one person a minister of state plus MP as well. And you talk abt unemployments! Correct this ASAP

NANA ADDO'S FREE SHS, FANTASY OR REALITY

Author: PAUL Posted: 2012-09-24 03:19:33
If a man promises of bringing a cargo ship full of goods to Kumasi we cannot know whether or not he could do it but there are,obviously, basic questions we must ask him such as, "which port will the ship berth?" since we know that there are no seas nor harbours in Kumasi and ships don't travel in the air or on the road.

So it came to pass that during his encounter with the IEA Nana Akuffo Addo promised of making SHS education completely free if voted into power. Then he went on to state the cost involved which was 78 million Ghana Cedis for the 2013/2014 academic year.

However, after careful scrutiny of this promise one finds it flout with all kinds of inefficiencies. For example, the amount quoted is woefully inadequate to cater for the needs of the 728,000 SHS students currently in school. If you divide the 78 miilion Ghana Cedis by the 728,000 students the figure comes to a little over 100 Ghana Cedis per student per year. A further breakdown to three terms will give us a little over 36 Ghana Cedis for each student per term. Meanwhile we know that the barest minimum a boarding student pays for a term is 400 Ghana Cedis. So how will the difference of about 340 Ghana Cedis be paid for? Remember that this calculation did not even take into account the influx (increased enrollment) of students at the SHS that will result from this policy. Again, the additional cost of putting up more infrastructure to absorb increased numbers was also not factored in this estimate.

Nana Addo's source of funding is also unreliable. He mentioned GETFUND and Petroleum Revenue as his main sources of funding. Already we know that the GETFUND is overstretched for which reason sometimes contractors are not paid for work done.

For the Petroleum revenue we only generated something close to 500 million Ghana Cedis last year and this figure is not expected to change that much in the near future. Meanwhile, the constitution states clearly how it should be spent. In fact some percentage has to be reserved for posterity. But assuming we alter the constitution so that we can spend all of this amount on education it will still not be enough. Barring all other costs the 728,000 SHS students will,in fact, require 1.2 billion Ghana Cedis to cater for all their academic needs in a year. Unless he seeks to increase taxes, which he has stated categorically that he wouldn't, I don't see how he is going to implement such extravagant policy. This therefore, is what forms the basis of those who argue that the promise is not feasible, at least for now.

What Nana Addo seeks to do is to build a house without foundation which we all know will collapse.

Just like the man who promised bringing a cargo ship to Kumasi but couldn't tell which port it will berth so does Nana Addo fails to convince Ghanaians how the free SHS education policy would be funded. It is a mere political talk and we should likewise listen with mere political ears. It is a dream but not a reality.

For now what government must do is to increase access to SHS by putting up more infrastructure, supplying adequate teaching and learning materials, continue to motivate teachers and expand government scholarships to cover more needy students. Scholarship, as it was, shouldn't cover only needy but brilliant students but even average students who truly have the need but who have shown certain willingness to learn. History is full of several examples of students who were initially weak but who turned out to be extra-ordinarily brilliant academicians in their latter years. Mention could be made of Einstein, Thomas Edison, Ghana's Prof. Allotey (the only physicist from Africa) etc. Government must pump more money into scholarships to cater for all needy students. This way no child will be left out of our educational journey.

May God grant our leaders the wisdom to lead and implement policies that will benefit us. May they be filled with the spirit of honesty hard work and dedication to make our nation a better place to live, in Jesus name,amen.

NDC IS CORRUPT NOT ONLY MONEY

Author: TerriblY Spe cifiC Posted: 2012-09-24 03:24:14
With these NDC criminal ministers i´m no more NDC but NDP.

WHAT DO YOU EXPECT FROM NDC MINISTERS

Author: WE AKANS Posted: 2012-09-24 04:09:26
IT IS NO NEWS THAT AN NDC MINISTER CONNIVES WITH SOME OTHER IDIOTS TO LOOT PROPERTIES BELONGING TO OTHER PEOPLE. BECAUSE WE ALL KNOW THAT THE MILLS/MAHAMA NDC STANDS FOR GREEDINESS AND CORRUPTION.

WOW - THEY WANT EVERYTHING

Author: NHWEHWEMU Posted: 2012-09-24 04:26:18
They want to enrich themselves fast. Aburi Gardens is out for sale by some greedy politicians. FOR THEIR POCKETS

Author: NHWEHWEMU HENE Posted: 2012-09-24 04:26:18
They want to enrich themselves fast. Aburi Gardens is out for sale by some greedy politicians. FOR THEIR POCKETS

NOT ABOVE THE LAW? MY FOOT.

Author: A CONCERNED CITIZEN Posted: 2012-09-24 04:26:18
Afotey Agbo, if you are really not above the law(All NDC members are above the law anyway), how can you order the police to release criminals from custody? The days of you people are numbered yet you still don't want to change but rather continue to use criminals to brutalise citizens. I hope you will not complain if things turn 360 degrees.

Author: THE FINDER Posted: 2012-09-24 04:26:18

Author: NHWEHWEMU Posted: 2012-09-24 04:26:18

Author: THE FINDER Posted: 2012-09-24 04:26:18

Author: NHWEHWEMU HENE Posted: 2012-09-24 04:26:18

GREEDY BASTARDS!

Author: Barima Yaw Posted: 2012-09-24 04:28:33
yes

SAKAWA POLITICS BY NPP

Author: PROGRESS Posted: 2012-09-24 04:34:44
THIS IS NPP PRPOGANDA, FOLLOWING BY NPP ACTIVIST, THEIR FEW OF THEM
YOUR MINISTERS LOOTED THE GREATER ACCRA LANDS AND NOW YOU'R BLAMING NDC
LISTNING TO WHAT THE MINISTER IS SAYNG "I'M NOT ABOVE THE LAW"
SOMEBODY WHO.S IS LOOKING FOR AMICABLE SOLUTION TO A PROBLEM IN HIS CONSTITUENTS GIVE HIM A BIG UP.
HE'S A HONEST GUY.
SHAME ON NPP SAKAWA POLITICS WITH SAKAWA FREE EDUCATION

please!!!

Author: kwasi Posted: 2012-09-24 05:36:40
pls, if have you any prove some ministers are looting state lands then the best place to send such person is the police or the courts not news papers. we know your intentions......

Minister cited..........

Author: Ed Nash Posted: 2012-09-24 06:51:59
The so called Nii Armah Ashiboye is the most criminal, who gave him that title, and which villages is he speaking. C'mon Nii Armah bring back my money and that of my brother's wife together with the land was to be allocated to us. GHe absconded with millions of cedis with pretext of allocating lands. Nii Armah come back to Tema New Town and you will see what will happen to you. Look who is calling somebody name.

Author: Hazor Posted: 2012-09-24 08:40:11
The people of Apolonia has to realised that they got the power to decide who they will give their mandate to represent in the legislature in this coming both the presidential and parliamentary elections.The people of Apolonia got the power to determine any parliamentary and presidential contestant destiny in they hands.All Ghanaians should be bold and fearless to vote our the oppressor and non performing administration our of power to sent a clear message across the political spectrum that non performing administration is persona-non-grata in 21 century Ghana.Across the lenght and breath of Ghana all members of parliament who were non performance should be vote out of office and to give those who are willing to serve and perform to have the ability to do so.

CONCOCTION COCNCOCTION CONCOCTION

Author: Whatever Posted: 2012-09-24 10:28:03
Fabrication and llies here we come says NPP. If you say Apolonia community got the land instead of Tema. How do you bring a minister into this and says he grabbed a land?

Author: maame Esi, Ottawa Posted: 2012-09-24 14:18:50
RE_WOW THEY WANT TO ENRICH THENSELVES,
Please do your research before blaming someone. Please do you know the Minister Nii Layeah very well before reigning insult on him? he is the honest person I have ever come across. The guy doesnt need any land to enrich himself. The whole Akatamanso Land belongs the father, Ghanaians should start appreciating good works from ppl and stop accusing tthem for no apparant reason
Comments on Minister Cited In Land Grabbing Spree

Due to limited space we do not publish comments on comments on this page.

News Categories
Site Menu