Other Sports of 2013-12-12

Happy FM to honour sports personalities on Dec. 27

Happy FM, the multiple award winning sports station has announced December 27 for the maiden edition of its Sports Fans Awards. The Happy FM Sports Fans Awards seeks to give sports fans the opportunity to honour deserving sports personalities through public voting.

Mr. Emmanuel Akromah, General Manager of Happy FM in an interview said ‘as a radio station with the aim of promoting sports in Ghana, this is a great opportunity for fans to recognise their sports heroes. This is the first of its kind in Ghana.

I will urge all sports fans to vote for their deserving personalities to win in the various categories in the awards. He added that voting has already begun and will end on December 23rd.

Asamoah Gyan, captain of the Ghana National team has been nominated twice in two different categories which include sports personality of the year and Footballer of the year. Nominees for the sports personality of the year category include James Akwasi Appiah, Emmanuel Tagoe, and Asamoah Gyan.

The Footballer of the year (foreign based)category has Sulley Muntari, Asamoah Gyan, Dede Ayew, Kojo Asamoah, and Christian Atsu.

Other Categories and personalities of the Happy Sports Fans Awards include, Footballer of the year (local) with Fatau Dauda, Mahatma Otoo, Michael Akuffo, and Ruben Gnagne. Sports Discipline of the year category has Football, Weight lifting, Beach soccer, and hockey.

The categories also include Basket Ball School of the year with Mfantsipim, Wesley Girls, Accra High, St Mary’s, and Aggrey Memorial. Fans can vote for their personalities by texting names of their chosen personalities to 1723 on all networks.

In addition to the main categories, fans can vote for deserving Sports Individuals for particular categories which have no pre-selected personalities.

They include Unsung Hero of the Year, Beach Soccer Player of the Year, Hockey Player of the Year, Athlete of the Year – track and field, sports personality of the year (overall), and boxer of the year.