Politics of 2013-12-17

NPP gets new executives at Ablekuma North

Mr Kofi Ofori Bella is the new Constituency Chairman for the New Patriotic Party (NPP) at Ablekuma North in the Greater Accra Region.

He obtained 382 ballots in constituency elections supervised by the Electoral Commission at the weekend.

He beat his closest rival Mr John Ortsin, who collected 306 votes followed by the former Chairman; Mr Alexander Aboagye Ohene, who had 34 votes.

Mr George Kofi Nkrumah had 317 votes to beat the former First Vice Chairman; Mr Stephen Annor, who obtained 249. Ms Becky Hesse Lartey is the new Second Vice Chairperson, who collected 211 ballots to beat Mr Omari Ampadu who had 198.

The new Constituency Secretary Mr Okyere Danso Dennis had 182 votes to beat Mr Eric Sasu Afare who garnered 170 votes.

The Assistant Secretary position went to Mr Kojo Tetteh Aidoo, who had 348 votes followed by Ms Rachael Budu with 204 votes. Mr Kwaku Duah retained his position as Organiser with 308 ballots followed by Mr Obed Asamoa Antwi 182 votes.

Ms Beatrice Davis who obtained 293 ballots is the new Constituency Women Organiser beating Ms Afua Sefa Agyemang, who obtained 159 votes.

The position of Treasurer went to Mr Christopher Okyere who had 389 votes to beat Ms Vida Krodua who had 259 votes.

Mr Abubakari Braimah the new Youth Organiser attracted 322 votes to beat Mr John Osafo who obtained 256.

Mr Joe Appiah, Member of Parliament called for unity to facilitate the victory of the NPP in the 2016 General Election.

Mr Bella thanked the electorate for the confidence reposed in him.

He also talked about the need for unity within the party to ensure victory in the next elections.

“Making the party more attractive especially, to floating voters in the constituency is my major priority,” he said.