Politics of 2013-12-24

Casualties at NPP constituency delegates conference in Yendi

Three party executive members of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) in the Yendi constituency lost their positions during the party’s constituency delegates’ conference held in Yendi at the weekend.
Alhaji Sulemana Baba polled 294 votes to win the First Vice Chairmanship position. He beat the incumbent, Mr Sulley Salifu Abubakari, who polled 223 votes.
Mr Mohammed Mustapha polled 302 votes to emerge as Treasurer, beating the incumbent, Alhaji Abukari Abochi, who polled 216 votes.
Mr Mohammed Iddrisu emerged as Organiser with 362 votes to beat the incumbent, Mr Amadu Ahmed Yakubu, who had 150 votes.
The rest of the old executives retained their positions. They are the Secretary, Mr Fusheini Bawah Zakaria Kpana, who polled 227 votes to beat Mr Shei Zakaria (224 votes) and Sulemana Wunniche Habib (67 votes).
The rest are Madam Sana Abudu, Women’s Organiser, and Mr Dalandi Abdul-Basit, Youth Organiser.
Alhaji Inusah Amadu contested as Constituency Chairman unopposed. The Second Vice-Chairman, Afa Ziblim Sayilidow, was also re-elected unopposed.
Alhaji Inusah Amadu asked his colleagues to fight for the victory of NPP in the Presidential and Parliamentary elections in 2016.
The Member of Parliament (MP) for Yendi, Alhaji Mohammed Habib Tijani, expressed appreciation to the executive members and supporters for their hard work in the 2012 Presidential and Parliamentary elections.
The secretary-elect, Mr Kpana, in a report, said more than 100 youth groups of the party had been formed in the constituency.
He said the party was also witnessing a number of defections from other political parties.