Other Sports of 2014-05-08

CAL Bank to be honoured at 39th SWAG Awards Night

CAL Bank, one of the indigenous financial institutions performing very well in business would be one of the corporate bodies to receive special awards at the 39th Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) Awards ceremony coming off at the State House on Saturday May 17, 2014. CAL Bank has been recognized for their contribution to sports, especially Golf and Beach Soccer which they have injected a huge financial backing over the past three years. According to the Awards Committee, CAL Bank has been consistent and improved its package for Beach Soccer and the bank contributed a lot to the Ghana Beach Soccer Association (GBSA) to be able to represent Ghana at the 2013 African Beach Soccer Championship in Morocco. CAL Bank recently presented some amount of money to all the ten clubs taking part in the Championship of the GBSA League. The teams that benefited included Keta Sunset, Havedzi Might Warriors, Layoca, La WuoGbee, Dansoman Beach Soccer, Ada Assurance, East Legon Sharks, Nungua United Beach Soccer, Gulf Powers and Nima Beach Soccer. Mohammed Mustapha, CEO of Nima Beach Soccer said rewarding a sponsor like CAL Bank is a motivation to the GBSA, the bank itself and all stakeholders in Ghana Beach Soccer because it is a great achievement and he thanked the Ghanaian Sports Media for following the activities of the GBSA. Meanwhile, the Ghana Beach Soccer League continues with some interesting pairing this week end.Nima will host champion side Keta Sunset, WuoGbee face East Legon Sharks and in-form Havedzi host newly promoted Gulf Powers. Dansoman and Teshie will play in a tough battle of the beach, whilst Tema and African Angels will engage in a grudge game. Other corporate institutions to be rewarded by the umbrella body of the sports media in Ghana are First Capital Plus Bank, Ghana National Petroleum Company, Indomie, Guinness Ghana Ltd and T T Brothers. Six individuals who have contributed to the promotion and ceveloment of sports will also be honoured, they are KudjoeFianoo, Nestor Gulley, Shaban Mohammed, NuruBremansu, Kennedy Adjapong and KwesiNyantekyi. About 900 guests are expected at the function which is strictly by invitation.Source: Sammy Heywood Okine
« Previous | Next »
News Categories
Site Menu