Regional News of 2014-05-28

Curfew in North, Volta regions

The government has imposed a curfew in some parts of the Northern and Volta regions. The curfew, which took effect from May 26, is to put a stop to the violence in those areas.

The affected areas are Nakpanduri and Bimbilla in the Northern Region and Alavanyo and Nkonya in the Volta Region.

The curfew in Nakpanduri and its surrounding communities begins from 7 p.m. to 5 a.m. daily. The surrounding communities affected include Kpatritings, Bonbila, Borgni Boatarrigu and Sakagu.

The movement of people within the Bimbilla town during the curfew period is restricted to 9 p.m. to 5 a.m. daily.

The curfew hours placed on Alvanyo and Nkonya towns in the Volta Region starts from 8 p.m. and ends at 5 p.m. daily.

A ban has also been placed on residents in the affected areas from carrying arms, ammunitions or any offensive weapon.

Any individual or group sighted with any weapon will be arrested and prosecuted.

The decision, according to a statement issued and signed by the Minister of the Interior, Mr Kwesi Ahwoi, was taken after the government had received an advice from the Northern and Volta Regional Security Councils.

As part of the measures to curtail the violence, the government has urged chiefs, opinion leaders and residents of the affected areas to exercise restraint in the face of the challenges that confront them.

The statement also called on residents to use non-violent means to channel their energies into ensuring peace and stability in their respective areas.

« Previous | Next »
View Comments
News Categories
Site Menu