Business News of 2014-06-29

Board for Energy Ministry inaugurated

A 10–member Advisory Board for the Ministry of Energy and Petroleum (MoEP) has been sworn in with a charge to increase energy generation to meet the growing demand for electricity.

The ministry has been without a board for four years.


Members of the new board include the Minister of MoEP, Mr Emmanuel Armah- Kofi Buah; the Deputy Minister of MoEP (Petroleum), Mr Benjamin Dagadu; the Deputy Minister of MoEP ( Power), Mr John Abudulai Jinapor; the Chief Director of the ministry Professor Thomas Akabzaa, and the Executive Secretary of the Energy Commission, Dr Ofosu Ahenkorah.

Other members are the Chief Executive of the National Petroleum Authority, Mr Moses Asaga; the Managing Director of the Electricity Company of Ghana, Rev William Hutton Mensah; a representative of the Association of Ghana Industries, Mr James Asare Adjei; a representative of the Oil Marketing Companies, Mr Agyeman Duah; and a representative of the Electrical Contractors Association, Mr Joseph Walker.


Mr Buah said a board was very crucial for the success of the energy and petroleum industry.

He, therefore, charged the board members to be proactive and collaborate with the ministry in addressing the current challenges in the industry.

Mr Buah also charged them to focus on increasing energy generation to meet the growing demand for electricity.

The board members expressed their gratitude to the ministry for the confidence reposed in them.

« Previous | Next »
View Comments
News Categories
Site Menu