General News of 2014-07-21

Cut red tape to succeed, Mahama orders new Ministers

President John Mahama has urged newly sworn-in Ministers to endeavour to reduce bureaucracy in their offices in order to be more effective.

Mr Mahama swore eleven of the new Ministers into office on Monday.

In a tweet, he advised the new ministers to “learn to cut through bureaucracy as the clock we hear is different from the clock that the civil servants hear.”

The new Ministers include Nii Osah Mills, Minister of Lands and Natural Resources; Dr Kwaku Agyeman-Mensah, Minister of Health; Mr James Zuugah Tiigah, Upper East Regional Minister; Mr Acquinas Tawiah Quansah, Central Regional Minister; and Mr Antwi Boasiako Sekyere, Eastern Regional Minister.

The rest are Mrs Della Sowah, Deputy Minister of Gender, Children and Social Protection; Dr Victor Asare Bampoe, Deputy Minister of Health; Mr Johnny Osei Kofi, Deputy Minister of Water Resources, Works and Housing; Mr Alex Segbefia, Deputy Minister of Defence; Mrs Mona Quartey, Deputy Minister of Finance and Mr Ato Sarpong, Deputy Minister of Communications.

A recent ministerial reshuffle necessitated the new appointments by the president. He is expected to effect further changes at the presidency per a personally signed letter distributed to staff at the flagstaff house thanking them for their services and urging them to be on the alert for any changes in government.

« Previous | Next »
View Comments
News Categories
Site Menu