Politics of 2014-08-05

Alan and Nana pick 5th and 6th positions on ballot

The balloting for positions for the upcoming Super Delegates conference for the seven candidates vying to lead the opposition New Patriotic Party for the 2016 general elections took place Tuesday morning.

Dr Kofi Konadu Apraku, former MP for Offinso North picked the first position on the ballot followed by Stephen Asamoah Boateng, former Information Minister at second and Francis Addai Nimoh, MP for Mampong at the third position.

On the fourth position is Kofi Osei Ameyaw, MP for Asuogyaman followed by John Kwadwo Alan Kyerematen at fifth and Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo at sixth with Joe Ghartey, MP for Esikado-Ketan taking the seventh position.

Two of the candidates, Nana Akufo -ddo and Stephen Asamoah Boateng were personally present at the short ceremony at the party’s headquarters in Accra.

It was Nana Addo who picked the first ballot followed by Mr. Stephen Asamoah Boateng.

For the rest of the contestants, their representatives picked for them.

The National Vetting Committee of the NPP approved the candidacy of all the seven presidential aspirants who were vetted last week.

The special delegates’ conference, which will whittle the number of aspirants down, will take place on August 31, 2014 in all 10 regional capitals and the head office of the NPP.

According to the General Secretary, Mr Kwabena Agyepong, the party was in discussions with the Electoral Commission for the organisation of the ballot.

He said they were in the process of compiling the register for the special conference, which according to the NPP constitution, were members of national council, national executive, regional executives, members of parliament, founding members who are still alive and three representatives from the organs of the party, youth, Nasara and Women’s wing as well as three representatives from accredited foreign branches and then all past national officers who are alive.

Source: graphic.com.gh
« Previous | Next »
View Comments
News Categories
Site Menu