Business News of 2014-08-20

13th Ghana Banking Awards slated for Sept 13

The 13th edition of the Ghana Banking Awards, organised by Corporate Initiative Ghana (CIG), has been slated for September 13, 2014, at the La Palm Beach Hotel in Accra.

The annual event, which has grown to become one of the most respected programmes on the country’s events calendar, is on the theme: ‘Identifying and Rewarding Excellence in the Banking Service Proposition.’

The acting Executive Secretary of CIG, Mrs Matilda Ohene, finally confirmed the date for the awards in Accra when CIG signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) with the Graphic Communications Group Limited (GCGL) in Accra on August 13.

As part of the MoU, both parties are to collaborate to raise funds for the successful organisation of the awards programme while making the GRAPHIC BUSINESS, the financial newspaper of the company, the main mouthpiece of the prestigious awards.

Explaining why this year’s awards had delayed, she said the event which was expected to be held in July had to be placed on hold to allow Ghanaians to enjoy the just-ended 2014 World Cup in Brazil.

Mrs Ohene said it was also meant to allow the event statisticians ample time to conduct and complete the survey and the validation of the results without rush and to avoid any unforeseen challenges.

“We have strived to uphold the integrity of the awards for 13 years and we will continue to do all it takes to ensure a free and fair event by ensuring that the best banks win awards,” she added.

The Managing Director of the Graphic Communications Group Limited, Mr Kenneth Ashigbey, on his part, described the collaboration as a strategic decision which would inure not only to the benefit of the company but the country as a whole.

He said the banking sector played a significant role in the growth of the economy hence the need to ensure fair competition to enable players in that industry to deliver satisfactory services to the nation and its people.

Mr Ashigbey reiterated his call on the banks to fully avail themselves to the independent event statisticians, Ernst and Young, among others, to deliver the best results as has been done in the past.

He urged other corporate institutions to help support the awards to ensure a successful event which would help grow the economy.

Award categories

This year, 15 award categories have been identified to include Customer Care, Advisory Services, Trade Finance, Trade Deal of the Year, Long-Term Loan Finance, Household Finance and Enterprise Finance.

The rest are Agriculture, Forestry and Fishing; Product Innovation, Competitive Pricing, Corporate Social Responsibility, Financial Performance, Bank Growth and Bank of the Year.

New additions to the award categories this year include ‘The Most Active e-Zwich Bank’ to encourage the banks in the ???Ghana Interbank Payment Systems (GhIPSS) product of e-zwich and IT and electronic banking,??? as it is now the norm rather than a choice banks have to make.

Approach and methodology

The approach and methodology for assessing banks for the various categories have been reviewed and agreed by the Technical Committee which is made up of representatives of the banks.

To underscore the independence of the awards process, no universal bank has been allowed to provide sponsorship.

Instead, non-universal banks and other corporate entities are offering sponsorship at a fast rate to enable them use the platform to market their products and services to the rich audience that the awards ceremony assembles.

« Previous | Next »
News Categories
Site Menu