General News Wed, 9 May 2018

Akufo-Addo suspends Justice Dery, three other judges

President Nana Akufo-Addo has suspended four High Court judges with immediate effect.

The four were part of the 12 High Court judges captured by an investigative journalist, Anas Aremeyaw Anas, in audio and video recordings in 2015, which allegedly showed them collecting bribes from litigants to pervert the course of justice.

All the indicted justices were dismissed with the exception of the four who had gone to court to battle the case.

A statement from the Presidency signed by the Director of Communications, Eugene Arhin, said President Akufo-Addo took the decision on advice by the Judicial Council.

The suspended judges include Mr. Justice Uuter Paul Dery, Mr. Justice Mustapha Logoh, Mr. Justice Gilbert Ayisi Addo and Mr. Justice Charles Quist.

“The President of the Republic, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, on Tuesday, 8th May, 2018, on the advice of the Judicial Council, given in accordance with Article 146 (10) (b) of the Constitution, suspended with immediate effect, four (4) Justices of the High Court.”


“The suspension follows the establishment of a prima facie case against the four Justices, by the Committee set up by the Chief Justice to investigate alleged acts of bribery and corruption against certain persons, including the four Justices, as contained in the 29th August, 2015 petition of Mr. Anas Aremeyaw Anas,” the statement said.

The statement also added that the four justices have been notified about the suspension.

“President Akufo-Addo has by letter, dated Tuesday, 8th May, 2018, notified each of the four Justices of the decision,” the statement added.

Source: citinewsroom.com
Related Articles: