General News Sat, 20 Jul 2013

Late President Mills' birthday to be celebrated tomorrow

A choral concert will be held at the National Theatre in Accra on Sunday at 3pm to mark the 69th birthday of the late President John Evans Atta Mills.

It will begin a week-long programme of activities planned to commemorate the first anniversary of his death.

President Mills died at the 37 Military Hospital on July 24, 2012.

The Chairman of the Planning Committee of the anniversary programme, Kofi Totobi-Quakyi, outlined the activities at a news conference in Accra on Thursday, with a call on Ghanaians to give the occasion a national character.

On Monday, July 22, 2013, a first anniversary commemorative lecture will be held at the Accra International Conference Centre at 3pm.


There will be a wreath-laying ceremony at the Asomdwee (peace) Park at 1pm on Wednesday, July 24, 2012 to observe the exact date and time of the demise of Prof. Mills.

That day will also mark the commencement of an International Hockey Gala at the Accra Hockey Pitch at 4pm in recognition of the passion the late president had for the sport.

As part of activities marking the programme, there will be a gathering of family members and chiefs and people of Otuam, where Prof. Mills hailed from.

Friday, July 26, 2013 will be devoted to Muslim prayers across the country while a foundation stone-laying ceremony will take place in Cape Coast on July 27, 2013 for the construction of the Atta Mills Memorial Research Library, which will be affiliated to the University of Cape Coast.

Remembrance services will be held by the Seventh Day Adventist (SDA) Church throughout the country that day.


Also, on that day, a family gathering and reception is scheduled at Prof. Mills’ family residence at Atabadze, near Komenda in the Central Region.

The celebration will end with a non-denominational church service on Sunday, July 28, 2013, at the Robert Mensah Stadium in Cape Coast at 9am.

Dress code for the celebration is black and white, except for the wreath laying ceremony, for which the recommended attire is black.

Members of the planning committee include Commodore Steve Obimpeh, Madam Faustina Nelson, Mr Kofi Nyantakyi, Mr Elvis Afriyie Ankrah and Mr Koku Anyidoho.

Source: Graphic.com.gh