Mauritania announce international friendly with Ghana

Ghana Ethiopia 1 Mauritania will face Ghana in an international friendly on March 26

Wed, 13 Mar 2019 Source: goal.com

Mauritania will face Ghana in an international friendly on March 26, according to the nation's football federation.

A publication on Sunday said Al-Murabitun will face the Black Stars at the Accra Sports Stadium after squaring off against Burkina Faso in a 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier on March 22.

On Tuesday, the federation went on to announce a squad of 24 players for the upcoming double-header.

Ghana Football Association, however, is yet to confirm the said exhibition fixture.

"In the wake of the match against Burkina Faso, the group of Corentin Martins will take advantage of this day FIFA to play a preparation match on Tuesday, March 26 against Ghana in Accra," Sunday's publication read.

Ahead of an Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Kenya in Accra on March 23, the Ghana Football Association announced a list of 24 players selected by coach James Kwesi Appiah on Monday.

The publication, however, went silent on any scheduled game against Mauritania.

Should the match come off, it will mark the start of preparations for the final Afcon tournament in Egypt in June/July, the two nations having already booked their tickets for the championship ahead of the final matchday of the qualifying series.

Mauritania 24-man squad:

Goalkeepers: Souleimane Brahim (FC Nouadhibou), Boubacar Salahdin (FC Tevragh-Zeina), Babacar Diop (AS Police)

Defenders: Bakary N'Diaye (Difaa Hassani El Jadida, Morocco), Saly Sarr (Servette FC, Switzerland), Harouna Abou Demba (Grenoble Foot 38, France), Issa Samba (AJ Auxerre, France), El Mostapha Diaw (Nouakchott King's), Aly Abeid (Deportiva Alcorcon, Spain), Abdelkader Thiam (US Orleans, France)

Midfielders: Hassen El Id (Real Valladolid, Spain), Khassa Camara (AO Xanthi, Greece), Mohamed Dellah Yali (DRB Tadjenanet, Algeria), Dialo Guidileye (Elaz?gspor Kulubu, Turkey), Abdoulaye Gaye (FC Nouadhibou), Alassane Diop (Hajer FC, Saudi Arabia), Ibrehima Coulibaly (Grenoble Foot 38, France)

Attackers: Adama Ba (Giresunspor Kulubu, Turkey), Ismail Diakhite (US Tataouine, Tunisia), Amadou Niass (Salam Zgharta, Lebanon), Khalil Moulay Ahmed Bessam (AS Gabes, Tunisia), Mohamed Abdallahi Soudani (DRB Tadjenanet, Algeria), Hemeye Tanjy (FC Nouadhibou), Souleymane Anne (FC Aurillac Arpajon CA, France)

Source: goal.com
Related Articles: