General News Sat, 21 Jan 2012

NDC Primaries: Quashigah, Mumuni win, Teye Nyaunu loses

As counting in the NDC primaries draw to a close, more results are coming in. In the Central Region, precisely the Twifo – Atti-Morkwa constituency, Deputy Education Minister Elizabeth Amoah Tetteh, who is also the incumbent lost her bid to Samuel Ato Amoah who is the Regional Youth Organizer. She got 152 votes as against 154 votes.

Outspoken MP for the Lower Manya Krobo constituency and incumbent MP Michael Teye Nyaunu has also lost with185 votes as against 211 votes for Deputy Eastern Region Minister, Ebenezer Teye Larbi. In the Ho Central, incumbent Capt. George Mfodwo lost his seat having polled 52 votes.

He was beaten by Benjamin Kpodo who had 270 votes. Fafa Adinyira had 104 votes, Steven Adom 17 votes and Kodzo Akpadi 15 votes.

In the Volta region, the Akan constituency to be precise, Gyapong Kudzo won the primaries with 175 votes. Still in the Volta Region, incumbent MP for South Tongu Korbla Mensah Woyome won with 328 votes as against 66 votes by Maxwel Lukutor.

In the Central Region, Dr J. S Annan who is the Deputy Minister of Trade and Industry had 249 votes to beat Dr Ato Quarshie who had 133 votes to represent the constituents of the Komenda-Edina-Eguafo-Abirem.

Results reaching Citifmonline. com indicate that Deputy Information Minister Samuel Okudjeto Ablakwa has won the constituency primaries for North Tongu, beating Charles Hodugbe who is the incumbent with 157 votes to 31.

Information Minister John Tia Akolugu has also been given the nod to represent the people of the Talensi consituency with 186 votes as against BT Baba who polled 89.

Sports Minister Kofi Humado has polled 269 votes to be elected as the NDC’s candidate for the Anlo constituency. He beat contender Gandi Mawuenyega who polled 44 votes.

In Hohoe South, Volta Regional Minister and incumbent MP Joseph Amenorwode won with 186 votes as against Angela Allo Tey who got 102 votes.

Inusah Fuseini, Deputy Energy Minister has won the Tamale Central constituency.

Baba Tanzania, incumbent MP for Yendi has defeated Dr. Yahuza Gomda who is the national spokesperson of the Andani Family.

Alban Bagbin, Minister for Water Resources Works and Housing has been acclaimed to represent the people of the Nadowli West constituency after his competitor was disqualified by party executives of the region.

The propaganda secretary of the National Democratic Congress Richard Quashigah also won the constituency bid to represent the people of the Keta constituency in the 2012 elections.

He beat off competition from the incumbent Larsey Agbenyefia who lost by about 10 votes.

Another competitor for the Keta seat was NDC lawyer Chris Ackumey. Voting is however still underway in some of the constituencies

Alhaji Muntaka Mubarak former Sports Minister has also won the primaries in the Asawase constituency, warding off competition from one lawyer Anis Moghtar Mohayideen who was supported by Mustapha Ahmed who stepped down to support lawyer Anis.

Asawase is the only NDC constituency in the Kumasi. There are however three NDC constituencies in the Asahnti region which has been touted as as the stronghold of the opposition NPP.

Moses Asaga has won the Nabdam constituency primaries again, giving him the opportunity to represent the people of the constituency for the fourth consecutive time.

Foreign Affairs Minister Mohammed Mumuni has also won the Kumbungu seat, knocking off competition from the incumbent Imoro Yakubu with 161 votes as against 133 votes.

Source: citifmonline