Special Prosecutor's Office gets 9-member board

Kissi Agyebeng   OSP.jpeg Special Prosecutor, Kissi Agyebeng

Tue, 21 Jun 2022 Source: www.ghanaweb.com

Kissi Agyebeng is Special Prosecutor

OSP gets board of governors

OSP board to advise Special Prosecutor on any policy matters

The Attorney General, Godfred Yeboah Dame has inaugurated a 9-member governing board of the Special Prosecutor (OSP).

The inauguration of the Board is in accordance with section 5 of the OSP Act (Act 959).

The incident which was announced on the official Twitter handle of the OSP indicated that the board which was commissioned on Tuesday, June 21, 2022, will, among other things, formulate policies necessary for the achievement of the object of the office.

Members of the board will also;

-ensure the proper and effective performance of the functions of the office.

-facilitate cooperation between the Office and relevant national investigative bodies to ensure the property and effective performance of the functions of the Office.

- advise the Special Prosecutor on any policy matters that may be referred to the Board by the SP and

-advise the special prosecutor on the recruitment and selection of the Secretary and other senior staff of the Office.

- and develop and monitor implementation of a code of conduct for staff of the Office

Members of the board comprise of representatives from the Ghana Police Service, the Audit Service, EOCO, CHRAJ, FIC, National Security, and a female from the CSOs.

The board is yet to elect a chairperson from among the members because both the Special Prosecutor and his deputy cannot chair the board by law.

Aside Kissi Agyabeng, the Special Prosecutor, and Ms. Vivian Lamptey who is Deputy Special Prosecutor, other board members are; Lawrence Ndaago Ayagiba – Audit Service Representative, DCOP Wilfred Boahen Frimpong – Ghana Police Service, Aba Jacqueline Opoku – Economic and Organized Crime Office.

The remaining are: Kofi Boahen A. Boakye- Financial Intelligence Center, Stephen Azantilow- Commission on Human Rights and Administrative Justice, COP George Tuffour (Rtd), National Security and Linda Ofori-Kwafo – Anti-Corruption Civil Society.


Source: www.ghanaweb.com
Related Articles: