“Your Excellency” is killing us

Read Comments Comments (75)

• nyankonwu 10 years ago

Jesus is the only lord

• ST SIMON 10 years ago

A VERY THOUGHTFULL ARTICLE. THIS SUPERIORITY COMPLEX SHOULD BE NIPPED IN THE BUD.

• OYOKOBA 10 years ago

I recently posted in one of my comments, inter-alia, Atuguba's creeping throwback to an era associated with the culture of silence on 6th July, 2013.

I wrote: " It is about time these judges stop wearing horse-hairs and Dra ...

• william 10 years ago

These issues John has raised relate to the psychology of relations between the governors and the governed. They also bring to mind issues of African culture and titles as well as 'fun fool respect'!!Indeed is not about disres ...

• Al Gammal 10 years ago

The swedes have nothing like Excellency, Honourable, Lordship, etc. They don't even address PhD holders as "Dr" and students call their professors by their first names. People call the Prime Minister by his first name. Yet th ...

• afuabaosei 10 years ago

I have thought about these "titles" myself over and over and their meaning to those positions, Its only in Africa and i hope the first group of people to end this are the MEDIA. If they stop using those titles everyone else w ...

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

This article is petty, subjective and empty.

Even without titles, Ghanaians and blacks would still be behaving the way we do. As far as we are concerned, Ministers of State etc. don't have monopoly of feeling big, megalom ...

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

* Countries in Europe use the same address...

* Our mentality is to blame for our troubles.

* Titles don't mean diddly squat.

• Repugnant. 10 years ago

"when men yield up the privilege of thinking" That is the sum total of all our problems. Any one who dare think own his own is branded a dictator along with all the nonsensical hypothesis and banal vulgarities.

The mist al ...

Any one who dare think on his own

• william 10 years ago

Are you suggesting that those who are not given to our African flamboyance respect their leaders any less than we do! John has not at any moment suggested we disrespect our leaders! What he is suggesting is good for both the ...

• Dapaah Daniel 10 years ago

This system of titular honour was derived from colonial masters...in law, parliament, etc...they have ways of addressing themselves which we picked up in the course of making their language our official medium of communicatio ...

• nyankonwu 10 years ago

call them judges

• Prof Lungu 10 years ago

Critical mind at work, the way we see it!

READ: "...Why would ministers consider themselves accountable to us ordinary Ghanaians on the street, when we fall over ourselves to call them “Honourable” and beg for their be ...

In other words, who are the "we"?

• KB 10 years ago

Wow,you're living up to your name,Lungulungu,sorry,PROF(lol)Lungu!!Intellectuals and scholarsd ought to be able to write critiques without quotations or references to their religions and their subjective faiths.Yeah,right,but ...

KB,
    You have a problem with "Prof Lungu"?

"Prof Lungu" is not an "official"!

"Prof Lungu" is not a "public servant"!

The drift of the essay does not even begin to apply!

But yes, ....Intellectuals and scholars ...

• Yarney 10 years ago

You are giving that dummy called KB a lot of credit like he understands the issue here. This fool is a tribalist who believes anything against this government or saying anything against current Politicians is against the Mah ...

• TEACHER 10 years ago

Well, these food for thought must be made part of our educational transformation or forget it. I agree that, such admonitions are so perfect but the Ghanaian's local thinking is so hard pressed to make a change..... But belei ...

• BE BOLD 10 years ago

"These officials are our servants, they are not our superiors in anyway. They are not excellent, honorable or lords. They are just public servants and we must regard them as such."
    The unnecessary titles lure them to think t ...

• Yarney 10 years ago

Even the DCE's are addressed as honourables and some of these DCE's can't even interprete the district budget.

• YB 10 years ago

Very pathetic bro. And the worst part of this nonsense is that some of these DCEs are frustrating the technocrats at the Assemblies with their empty brains. I think we have a very long way to go.

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

Once there was a monkey that had only 4 fingers. He was very mad. So, one day the monkey went to a monkey hand repair shop.

The monkey that worked there said "how can I help you?"

The monkey said "Hi my name is George a ...

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 10 years ago

Prince, I love your story very much. We hear such names every minute in the USA,eg. Dick Chaney.The Vice President to George Bush.

HILLARY CLINTON RAISED HER SKIRT BEFORE CONGRESS AND SAID NO MORE BUSH AND DICK.

• AKWELE 10 years ago

I believe it is people who are corrupt and not the mere titles. Titles however may contribute to it, a lot of people without titles are just as corrupt if not worse. The title makes the corrupt individual stand out.

• yd 10 years ago

You are absolutely right but the Ghanaian citizens does not see themselves as superior than these soo called politicians.

• Kojo 10 years ago

Look there are more serious issues to engage our minds on wate anaa? Why are Ghanaians masters over such useless issues. You have the time to pen plenty paragraphs on this? too much free time I suppose.

• ASMAH TEMA 10 years ago

Very true to every word. we have to educate ourselves and understand that when we vote for people we are hiring them to do a job for us.

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 10 years ago

If it is not important Judge Atuguba and his ilk would not send their fellow citizens to jail for disobeying their commands.

Thank you, when Addison was caught the other day, in court trying to impeach the credibility of Afari Djan with a forged voters registrar extract instead of proper sanctions or contempt, Atuguba feebly called for withdrawal, ...

• PKA 10 years ago

This article is clearly much ado about nothing. The fact that the three arms og government and other public servants are elected and/or appointed to serve does not mean they are the footstools of the citizens and thus should ...

• Pontius Pilate 10 years ago

the psyche of a man can even pre-destined him to succeed or fail. much as perhaps the mere title given to a person shouldn't generally speaking pose any challenge or problem, what we have witnessed over time is its psychologi ...

• Tony Habia 10 years ago

Those titles are not what are destroying Ghana. What really is destroying Ghana is the appellation "Nana" in the Ashanti’s' psyche. I came back to GH this year after 18 years and what I found is every Ashanti (mostly) want ...

• Kojo! 10 years ago

Those meaningless and idiotic titles like his excellency and honourable were introduced to Ghana by the npp when they first got the chance to rule Ghana. Empty barrels!

Nana this nana that...

• Brute 10 years ago

you must be very very foolish! what actually came into your small mind that made you spend a lot of time to write this long bullshit? you are a fool!!!!!

• Asiwome 10 years ago

It looks to me as if we are running a serfdom with "brainy" lords taking advantage of peons. We should examine the way we view each other and our world.

• Nicholas Sallah 10 years ago

Critical minds at work indeed. I agree with you 100% and believe any soul-searching citizen of Ghana can't help but to agree with you. I suggest you start a movement or some active ground work towards this and let's see how t ...

• Satcmo 10 years ago

Its time we as a nation have a second thought about the way we project the officials and let them be subject to the electorate insteaYourd of the electorate being subject to them in every area ofthe administration

• Satcmo 10 years ago

Be subjective to the electorate in their assigned offices and do not lord it over us as we the electorate who voted them to office are their servants.

• Ama Osu Accra 10 years ago

People shower these titles because they are afraid. Yes silently Afraid so we show too much respect. These people in power can make you lose your job in 1 minute.

• me and you 10 years ago

with all the problems facing GH this is what you could write about. You must be a one boring creature.

• YB 10 years ago

You don't seem to understand the problems of your society. Majority of the our people suffer from low self esteem and inferiority as a result of the "title difference". Ghanians must be made to understand that we make our big ...

• Dynamic 10 years ago

At least, he has written something sensible with his God's given talent which does not insult any one.What he has written is the truth.

Even though, Europeans and America call their head of states sometimes by the surname ...

• T.T 10 years ago

Dynamic, you are confused.

• Robin Hood 10 years ago

Neither President Obama nor Prime Minister David Cameron is ever referred to as "Your Excelency".Each is called by his name or simply his title.It is about time Ghanaians stop making these public servants feel too pompous.

• PKA 10 years ago

Do we always have to do things the western way? Come on guys! Are we ever going to be proud of who we are? Poor Ghanaians.

• Ghana 10 years ago

Any body who don't understand this article it means that fellow is a shallow minded person.
    If you give a simpleton a higher position than their position that's exactly what you reap. Looting and disrespect.

• Honestman 10 years ago

This writer is nothing less than a clown. Who is directing this thrash to? It's neither the writer nor the people of Ghana today who conjured those titles for people occupying those offices/positions. They were there long bef ...

• Kuoro 10 years ago

The English created the titles but they not use them commonly as we do in Ghana even to the extent that if you fail to some that that the become mad at you. The writer is a critical thinker.

• Kuoro 10 years ago

The English created the titles but they do not use them commonly as we do in Ghana here even to the extent that if you fail to call some with that title they become mad at you. The writer is a critical thinker don't rubbish h ...

• Kojo! 10 years ago

The latest collection or re-awakening of title craze was introduced by NPP when kufour first came into power. That was when His excellency, Honourable shit began.

The writer believes, that in an ideal state, no man should call another individual his "Lord or excellency, or honorable." because they retardate. This does not happen in the USA THE MOTHER OF ALL DEMOCRACIES AND REPUBLICS, w ...

• ABDULAI 10 years ago

i am baffled too. Even in correct english, the title of the political office is applied after the name lke: MR kofi mensah honourable M.P OF BAYERE BON.Never would one see in the british, amercican or the russian press excell ...

• Drah 10 years ago

This is a classical piece BUT how many people would listen n take this advice. Ghanaians over elaborate everythin- weddings, funeral, etc though they're not benefitting us in anyway.

• De Prince Collectionz 10 years ago

I welcome you all to De Prince Collectionz with love. At De Prince Collectionz, we sell high quality ladies and gents clothes, shoes and accessories at affordable prices.
    Please go to our website (www.deprincecollectionz.web ...

• Mr. Mister 10 years ago

The groveling is becoming too much! We should ask ourselves are we subjects or citizens?

The funny thing is that on the one hand groveling...on the other hand indiscipline everywhere...and by the SAME PEOPLE!

• akonfem prez come clean,9holes 10 years ago

HMMMM NSEM PII,KILLER MAHAMA KILLED MILLS,NOW IS GHANAINS BECOS HIS JUJU NEEDS MORE BLOOD,MAHMA IS FAKE TO THE NATION,INCOMPETENNT,CORRUPTS,BIG THIEF,WOMANIZER GAY,ATOPAHENE,USELESS ONE,SHAME ON HIM

• hhj 10 years ago

STUPIDITY AT ITS BEST.

• yawv atebubu 10 years ago

mister, is kumasi part of ghana,and if so part of the rebublic? where from the title otumfour.. is there any justification in fellow human carrying fellow human "otumfour" so sad

• afuabaosei 10 years ago

Mr Atebubu, its rather unfortunate u don't know the Republic governance and the traditional rule. With traditional rule, the people are subjects to the chief. Get your dictionary and educate yourself.

• Kojo! 10 years ago

Abi?

• KWEKU 10 years ago

ONE OF THE VERY FEW SENSIBLE ARTICLES BY GHANAIANS I HAVE READ IN RECENT TIMES. THESE ARE SOME OF THE HEALTHFUL TOPICS WORTHY OF DISCUSSING NOT THE DIRTY ONES ABOUT NPP AND NDC AND THEIR SELFISH HOLIGANS

• akonfem prez come clean,9holes 10 years ago

MAHAMA IS A THIEFS,CORRUPT AND CRIMINAL,HE KILLED MILLS,DOC ASEM FOFRO SAID IT,HE IS AN NDC ,MAN,SHAME TO AZAA MAHAMA,KWASEA

• Kobre 10 years ago

My brother this a typical Jerry Rawlings attitude which promotes indescipline and disregard for authority.The problem is not titles but rather chiefs traveling all the from Kumasi, Ho, Tamale and the like only to congratulate ...

It is 'Do you know who I am?'

• adom 10 years ago

This is the most educated article I have read this year on SIL. Lets educate ourselves and free ourselves from mental slavery

I have always been flabbergasted with old and retired Ambassadors like Kabral Amihere who still w ...

• BLACKMAN 10 years ago

KWAME, YOU ARE ABSOLUTELY RIGHT!!! WHAT HAVE THEY DONE FOR GHANA TO DESERVE THESE TITLES. NONE, ZIP, ZERO.THEY DESERVE TO BE CALLED YOUR EXCELLENCY CORRUPTED LEADER AND DISHONEST PARLIAMENTARIANS.WE MUST REWARD GOOD PEOPLE FO ...

• iowa 10 years ago

Bravo, Mr writer.I like this article.Citizens of any civilized country do not bow down to people we have sent to serve us.Therefore those parliamentarians are the servants and we the citizens are the masters, but unfortunatel ...

• Brefo Isaac 10 years ago

You are absolutely right.

HILLARY CLINTON RAISED HER SKIRT BEFORE THE GHANA PARLIAMENT AND SAID NO MORE BUSH AND DICK.

• Mansa Musa 10 years ago

Great great piece. I would have loved you to expand this article to our 'beloved' pastors et al. Very soon armed robbers will accord themselves titles just like our chiefs, politicians. pastors and fake PHD holders! Mediocrit ...

• CONCERN CITIZEN 10 years ago

VERY GOOD ARTICLE. THESE TITLES IN GHANA NO GOOD AND MAKE THEM LAZY BECUASE THEIR BRAINS ARE FERMENTED BEFORE THEIR POST AND CALLING THEM HONOURABLE, HIS EXCELLENCY ETC MAKE THE SWOLLEN HEADED WORSE AND THEREFORE NON PERFORMI ...

• Alonte din 10 years ago

This over flattery has been eaten me up. Therefore you find NDC communicators saying His Excellency the President on radio when all that is required is "The President" Nonsense!! Thank you Mr Adams

• BOLD 10 years ago

I think they (NDC) die when you do not address Mahama "His Excellency" and in fact he is not and shouldn't be when we have priorities to address. A bunch of mother fuckers!!!!