India 99-1 Ghana: The complete story of the mythical 1963 epic match

Read Comments Comments (46)

• Azumah Nelson 6 years ago

This is Fake News

• GHANABA 6 years ago

IT NEVER HAPPENED.

• Kwasi Asante RI USA 6 years ago

I am 67 years old. I remember this story being told at my village Akoasi when I was about 6 years old.
    I am stuck in bed the past 4 days recovering from bunion surgery. I have been in pain the past 4 days. I must confess th ...

• Kwasi Asante RI USA 6 years ago

*This is true story* (Title)

• POW@SPIDERMAN HOMECOMING 6 years ago

Mr. Asante, it is true that this story has been there for years but there's no TRUTH to it in anyway. I've heard this story in different ways and forms and none of them adds up. Just ask your self, if you heard this story som ...

• SACRAMENTO 6 years ago

OBVIOUSLY THE WRITER OF THIS STORY HAS WAY TOO MUCH TIME TO SPARE. I STARTED LAUGHING BEFORE I STOPPED READING. TOLLI PAA, BUT YOU MADE ME LAUGH VERY WELL.

• Benjamin 6 years ago

It's sad the way some of you guys on this platform behave. The writer is a genius, he has crafted a long told mythical story humorously and even at the tale end he asked questions about Ali Jarah and about 29th Feb,which obvi ...

• OYOKOBA 6 years ago

I agree. Perfectly toli but a good toli.

• KBA 6 years ago

so so loved this.....made my day!!

• Luca Brasi, Woodbridge VA. 6 years ago

This Kwaku Ananse story is full of indisgestible ingredients which would cause serious constipation. When I was about 8 years old, we would gather around Wofa Boadi who was blind for anansem at nights. He told his stories in ...

• Ogoglo Quarter 6 years ago

Wilberforce Mfum won the "net breaker" accolade in Kumasi Sports Stadium but not in India.

• PK 6 years ago

Great tolee. You really know how to create a fictional story!

• Agyaaku 6 years ago

This is CNN. Read and laugh. More than Fake News

• KWASI IN EUROPE 6 years ago

Don't write nonsense here again.

• Aworowa 6 years ago

Where mythical, fake, or somevtruth somewhere, it is interesting.

• Aworowa 6 years ago

Whether it is mythical, fake, or some truth somewhere, it is an interesting story.

• APANTESIS 6 years ago

You are not serious.

• POW@SPIDERMAN HOMECOMING 6 years ago

That's why you have Ali Jarrah who never wore a Black Stars jersey, featured in this funny match.

• Ulysess, USA 6 years ago

I stopped reading this gibberish when I seen Ali Jarah [1980s] being put in the same context as Baba Yara [1950/60s]!

• Mho 6 years ago

I've heard this story several times from my uncle and trust me I believe it.

• kodwo 6 years ago

I think this guy needs a time-occupying job. He has too much time on his hand

• Aworowa 6 years ago

He is a computer guy

• Prof Botswana 6 years ago

Folks this is a true story I have heard it before

• Ogoglo Quarter 6 years ago

Prof, you heard it alright. I'm not disputing that but did you make any effort to find out if it was true? Your title demanded that as a prof. Professors don't make such statements based on hearsay. Fake prof!

• Kutsii 6 years ago

We have better things to contemplate on this sport page, instead of this nonsense of mythical football history and politics u have mixed up in your write up like gari and beans.

Kwasiato, next time write sense. Nonsense

• Asem 6 years ago

Nice One

• Babatu Jaraah 6 years ago

I was at the stadium that day. Those who want details should contact me

• ...... sam 6 years ago

I have a video of the entire match. You can buy it at my store.

• Kojo Sarfo 6 years ago

I remember this story very well. I was in the stadium with the then MP for Dome Kwabenya, Adjoa Sarfo, my senior sister. In fact, she convinced Dr. Nkrumah to sign that agreement

• Kennedy Adjepong 6 years ago

Kikikikikiiki...kwakwakwakwakwka...hhaahahahaahhahahahaha.... ny stomaxh aaadjeiiii...my in....looool... ahahahhhaaahahahaha

• Fiifi Tema 6 years ago

The biggest lie in the century...and interesting every Ghanaian football fan knew this tolly...hahahahaha

• maree stopes 6 years ago

or his great great grand pa?

• Kweku 6 years ago

Wonderful story made even more interesting by the narrative. This is a mythical story that has been told since the 60s. We all hear it an are amused by it. There are several variants and this is a nice one too. (..)

• Knockout 6 years ago

Is this in the Guinness book of world records?

• Isaac 6 years ago

Thanks for the way you wrote the story. I love reading it over and over again. God bless us all. Readers should copy it and tell their children one day, Its not a story to believe but its interesting to read and hear. Credi ...

• nana kofi 6 years ago

this news is far more interesting than the shit that's going on with the so called honorable idiots in the gh parliament

• and he said what? 6 years ago

Yes, Ananse was the referee.

• John Boafo-Stockholm 6 years ago

hahhahahah
    Then, to the greatest stupefaction of the Ghanaian players and officials but the admiration of all the Indians, look! here the Indian players were coming out of that small Guinness bottle one by one.

• LORD INNO 6 years ago

True story.
    adey kae that day.

• mma 6 years ago

Hahahaha Well put together though

• lone prophet of Jehovah 6 years ago

THE GREATEST LIE EVER TOLD SHALOM PEACE

• BANZA 6 years ago

Apparently it's very good shit. Gimme some

• THE GHANAIAN 6 years ago

Was Ali Jarrah alive by that time. It is a story to serve as a comic relief'

• Paul 6 years ago

This article is excellent. Keep it up.

• AAA 6 years ago

Anansesem.

• inercycl 6 years ago

Are we for real or a bunch of comedians in everything we do.
    Get serious, folks