Sports News Tue, 11 Jun 2019

2019 AFCON: Heartbreak for Waris as Ghana unveil final 23-man squad

FC Porto striker Abdul Majeed Waris is undoubtedly the biggest casualty as Ghana announced their final squad for the upcoming Africa Cup of Nations in Egypt.

The 27-year-old, who spent last season on loan with French outfit Nantes, is one of five players cut from 28 players currently in camp in the United Arab Emirates.

USA-based midfielder Ebenezer Ofori, who played at the 2017 Afcon, Ghana U-23 captain Yaw Yeboah and the local-based duo of Mohammed Alhassan (Hearts of Oak) and Abdul Safiu Fatawu (Asante Kotoko) complete the quintet.

Although coach James Kwesi Appiah named a 29-man provisional roster, the team was reduced to 28 men on Thursday following an injury to St. Gallen centre-back Musah Nuhu, who consequently returned to his Swiss club.

Captain Andre Ayew headlines the 23-man party, which also includes deputy skipper Kwadwo Asamoah of Inter Milan, veteran striker Asamoah Gyan and Atletico Madrid's Thomas Teye Partey.

The squad has been named a day after Ghana succumbed to a shocking 1-0 loss to Namibia in a pre-tournament friendly on Sunday.

Kwesi Appiah's outfit will take on South Africa in a second test game on Saturday before departing for Egypt five days later.

At the Afcon finals, the Black Stars, who will be seeking to win their fifth continental title and their first since 1982, have been drawn against cup holders Cameroon, Benin and Guinea-Bissau in Group F.

Squad List:

Goalkeepers: Richard Ofori (Maritzburg United, South Africa), Lawrence Ati-Zigi (Sochaux, France), Felix Annan (Asante Kotoko, Ghana)


Mubarak Wakaso (Deportivo Alaves, Spain), Thomas Teye Partey (Atletico Madrid, Spain), Kwadwo Asamoah (Internazionale, Italy), Afriyie Acquah (Empoli, Italy), Andre Ayew (Fenerbahce, Turkey), Christian Atsu (Newcastle United, England), Samuel Owusu (Cukaricki, Serbia), Thomas Agyepong (Hibernian, Scotland)

Attackers: Asamoah Gyan (Kayserispor, Turkey), Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace, England), Caleb Ekuban (Trabzonspor, Turkey), Kwabena Owusu (Leganes, Spain)
Source: goal.com
Related Articles: