Cricket Tue, 26 Mar 2013

Accra Titans win cricket league

New entrants, Accra Titans Cricket Club, were last Sunday crowned the champions of the India High Commission T20 Accra League 2013 at the Achimota Cricket Oval.

The Titans defeated All Rounders by seven wickets to lift the trophy for the first time and took away a cash prize of GHS1,000, a trophy and souvenirs.

The feat was historical, being the first to win the league on their maiden appearance.

In the first innings, All Rounders recorded a score of 119 runs all out in 20 overs, which was described as winning score, but Accra Titans who had looked good and efficient in all their matches attained the target at the 15th over.

All Rounders gave Accra Titans a scare in the early overs when Kofi Bagabena lost his in the third over.

However, the entry of national captain, Peter Ananya, and Obed Harvey soaked up the pressure and increased their runs steadily.

Even though Obed Harvey lost his wicket in the ninth over it was so obvious Titans had the game wrapped up.

The Titans at the end of the second innings made 121 runs in 15 overs losing three wickets winning by seven wickets.

All rounder took home GHS700 and souvenirs. The tournament was sponsored by the India High Commission and supported by Surgimed Ghana Limited and Shaporji Pallonji Ghana Limited.

Meanwhile, the Ghana Cricket Association together with the India High Commission will organise a sendoff game between India XI and Ghana XI for His Excellency, Rajinder Bhagat the India High, on Sunday.

Source: Daily Graphic