Ruthless Kotoko thump Black Meteors in friendly

Kotoko Squad18 The Kotoko squad

Mon, 10 Dec 2018 Source: ghananewsagency.org

Kumasi Asante Kotoko defeated the Black Meteors of Ghana 3-0 in a warm friendly played at the Accra Sports Stadium on Sunday.

A brace from Kotoko captain Amos Frimpong and Jordan Opoku strike ensured a resounding victory for the Porcupines, who head into their clash against Sharks in the Confederation Cup full of confidence

The opening minutes of the game was a feisty one with both sides making early incursions into the goal area.

The Black Meteors looked the better side in the opening with the likes of Liberty Professional's Simon Zibo and Bright Andoh controlling affairs in midfield.

Kotoko goalkeeper, Felix Annan had to pull a stunning save from Richmond Lomotey’s thunderous strike to deny Meteors the opener.

Kotoko defender Amos Frimpong opened the scoring for the Porcupine Warriors in the later stages of the first half, when he headed home from close range, after a superb corner kick from Maxwell Barko.

The Black Meteors begun the second game on the front foot as they pressed for the equalizer but were unable to break the Kotoo defence.

The Porcupine Warriors regain dominance of the game with the introduction veteran Daniel Nii Adjei, who demonstrated his class in the middle of the park together with Jordan Opoku.

Opoku doubled the lead for the Porcupine Warriors on the 74th minute mark when he slotted calmly from close range after being beautifully teed up by Substitute Emmanuel Gyamfi.

Kotoko would face Sharks of Kenya in the round of 16 of the 2018/19 Confederation Cup while Black Meteors face off against Togo in the preliminary stages of the U-23 African Championship

Kotoko pressed for the fourth goal but some fantastic save from Black Meteors Kwame Baah ensured the scoreline remained the same

Black Meteors line up: Kwame Baah, William Dankyi (Ibrahim Yakubu), Bright Enchill, Yaro Ibrahim, Simon Zibo, Brimah Foster, Daniel Lomotey, Joseph Esso, Bright Andoh, Micheal Ampadu

Kotoko line up: Felix Annan, Amos Frimpong, Augustine Sefa, Abdul Ganiu, Jordan Opoku (Omar Basiru) , Maxwell Barko, Martin Antwi (Daniel Nii Adjei), Naby Keita (Sougne Yacouba), Frederick Boateng (Emmanuel Gyamfi)

Source: ghananewsagency.org