Ambassador Francisco Da Cruz reaffirms Angolan commitment to ECCAS

Francisco Da Cruz  Director Of UN And AU Francisco da Cruz, Permanent Representative to the A.U and the UN ECA

Fri, 18 Jun 2021 Source: angop.ao

The Permanent Representative of Angola to the African Union and the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa, Francisco José da Cruz reaffirmed the country's total commitment to the purposes of the ECCAS (Economic Community of Central Africa States).

The information was passed during a hearing granted to the new ECCAS Representative to the African Union (AU), Rufina Obono, at the Angolan Embassy in Addis-Ababa, following the courtesy visits that the Guinean is carrying out to several diplomatic institutions accredited to Ethiopia.

According to a press release from the Angolan representation in Ethiopia, which has arrived at ANGOP, among other matters, the two sides talked about the rotating presidency of Angola in the ECCAS commission, and converged on ideas related to Peace and Security, the relationship between communities and the AU, as well as ongoing reforms in the African Union Commission.

Rufina Obono's mandate at the AU is part of a reform process within the ECCAS, whose five-year rotating chairmanship of the commission is being held, since 2020, by the Angolan Gilberto Veríssimo.

As part of the presidency of the Committee of the referred organ, Francisco da Cruz, also ambassador of Angola to Ethiopia, received in February 2020 the former ECCAS representative at the AU, Ahmed Sene Achta.

Angola became a full member of ECCAS in 1999, joining Burundi, Cameroon, Chad, Gabon, Equatorial Guinea, Central African Republic, Congo, DRC, Rwanda and São Tomé and Príncipe.

Source: angop.ao