9 times Akufo-Addo has renamed institutions in 3 years

Mon, 2 Dec 2019 Source: www.ghanaweb.com

About 9 institutions within a period of over two years have been renamed under President Akufo-Addo.

These have attracted divergent views from the public at various points.

While some have tagged it as a self-seeking glorification or an act to appease his political ancestors, others have condemned the act saying, the right to rename these institutions, particularly the Universities solely lies with Parliament.

In April 2019 for instance, there were mixed reactions after the introduction of a draft bill that proposed the renaming of four of the country’s universities.

University for Development Studies, the University of Professional Studies, the University of Health and Allied Sciences and the University of Energy and Natural Resources which were to be named after Jerry John Rawlings, Nana Opoku Ampomah, Komla Agbeli Gbedemah and Kofi Abrefa Busia respectively.

Newest to be added to the list is the Kumasi campus of the University of Education (UEW), which has been renamed and called the University of Skills and Entrepreneurial Development.

The president explained his reasons for re-naming that particular institution saying it’s as part of plans to make the school an autonomous institution in order to curb the inefficiencies and the uneven distribution of facilities within the “Winneba system”.

Meanwhile, some Minority members have also labelled the president’s renaming activities as a misplaced priority adding the President’s renaming strategy has exposed his inability to build anything significant under his watch.

Here are 9 institutions that President Akufo-Addo has renamed since taking office in 2017.

Flagstaff House to Jubilee house

President Akufo-Addo officially renamed the seat of the presidency, the Flagstaff House to Jubilee House on his 74th birthday. Former President John Agyekum Kufuor commissioned the Jubilee House in 2008 as the seat of government and official residence of the President of Ghana.

The name of the edifice was reverted back to the Flagstaff House after the New Patriotic Party lost the Presidential elections to NDC’s Late Professor John Evans Atta Mills in 2008.

However, his successor, John Dramami Mahama operated from the Flagstaff House during his tenure.

UPSA renamed Nana Ampomah Univ. Of Professional Studies

The President made the announcement at the fourth special congregation of the UPSA held to confer honorary doctorate degrees on Nana Opoku Ampomah and the President of the Confederation of African Football (CAF), Mr Ahmad Ahmad.

UDS Navrongo campus renamed C.K. Tedam University for Technical and Applied Sciences

President Nana Akufo-Addo announced the change of name at the burial ceremony of the late New Patriotic Party (NPP) founding member, CK Tedam. The change according to him is to honour the former Chairman of the Council of Elders of the NPP and to also make the campus an autonomous university.

Wa UDS campus renamed S.D. Dombo University of Business and Integrated Development Studies

The university’s new name is after Simon Diedong Dombo, a Ghanaian politician, teacher and king who belonged to the United Party (UP) tradition, of which the New Patriotic Party has its roots.

Simon Dombo was a Member of Parliament during the First Republic of Ghana. The decision according to government will transform the existing campus of University of Development Studies (UDS) campus in Wa into a fully-fledged university.

Tamale Stadium renamed Aliu Mahama Sports Stadium

President Akufo-Addo signed an Instrument to rename the Tamale Sports Stadium to Aliu Mahama Sports Stadium, in honour of the late Aliu Mahama, a former Vice President.

The renaming was as part of the fifth-anniversary celebration of his passing.

Ho Technical University renamed Ephraim Amu Technical University

The Ho Technical University (HTU), which was formerly known as Ho Polytechnic, has been named Ephraim Amu Technical University by President Akufo-Addo during the grand durbar of the 50th anniversary celebration of the University.

University of Energy and Natural Resources renamed after Dr Busia

The University of Energy and Natural Resources (UENR), Sunyani in the Bono Region has been renamed after the late Prime Minister of the Second Republic, Professor Kofi Abrefa Busia, by President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo.

According to the president, Dr K.A Busia is an illustrious son of the region, hence the decision to honour him by naming the university after him.

UEW Kumasi campus renamed University of Skills and Entrepreneurial Development

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo announced that the Kumasi campus of the University of Education will become an autonomous institution under the name, University of Skills and Entrepreneurial Development.

He noted that the decision is far advanced in making the school an autonomous institution.

An attempt to rename University of Development Studies (UDS) after former president Jerry John Rawlings

A draft bill from the Education Ministry sought to rename the University of Development Studies (UDS) after former president Jerry John Rawlings which he declined.

The former president wrote to the Education Minister to “reiterate his position and requested that the re-naming of UDS after him be withdrawn from the Draft Bill to be submitted to Parliament.

Source: www.ghanaweb.com

Send your news stories to and features to . Chat with us via WhatsApp on +233 55 2699 625.

Related Articles: