Politics Thu, 11 Jul 2019

‘I won’t contest La Dade-Kopong seat’ – T. T Caternor

Renowned communications team member of the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC), Tetteh Caternor has said he will not pick nomination forms to contest in the party’s upcoming primaries in the La Dade-Kopon constituency.

Speaking in an exclusive interview with Myxyzonline.com, Caternor, who has been off active politics for a few months, said he had decided not to join the race due to personal reasons.

“I am doing very well, but I won’t pick the nomination forms. The reason not to contest is personal,” he revealed.

After he contested in 2012 and2016, Caternor was tipped to win the 2019 contest because of his affability, hard work and communication skills. He is also hailed for how he relates with the grassroots of his party in the constituency.

His announcement comes at a time the NDC has opened nominations, calling for eligible party members who are interested to file to enter the parliamentary race.

About The Primaries.

Interested parties are expected to pick nomination forms from Wednesday, July 10– 12, 2019 and submit between 18th and 19th July, 2019.

According to the NDC, a person wishing to contest to be a parliamentary candidate of the party must be a citizen of Ghana, who has attained the age of 21 years, be a card-bearing member of the party who has paid party membership dues in full and a known and active member of a branch of the party in a constituency, for at least four (4) years and not a member of any other political party.

Addressing a press conference to announce the guidelines for picking nomination forms, last week, General Secretary of the NDC, Johnson Asiedu Nketiah said party members who wish to contest in the primaries must be qualified in accordance with the 1992 National Constitution to be elected as Member of Parliament and Must not have contested as an independent candidate in the 2016 elections.

“Any person who contested as an Independent Candidate lost his membership of the Party by reason of that and is therefore not qualified to contest the election by virtue of Article 41.8(b) of the NDC constitution or contested as a candidate for any other political party apart from the NDC,” Mr Asiedu Nketiah added.

He also said “Any member of the National Executive Committee (NEC) or the Regional Executive Committee who decides to contest for any of the parliamentary seats shall resign his position on the submission of his nomination form to contest the election” just as any Member of the Constituency Executive Committee (either elected or appointed) who also wishes to contest the parliamentary election.

At the end of the primaries on Saturday, 24th August, 2019, any candidate who wins the primaries by a simple majority of Votes cast is deemed duly elected as the party’s parliamentary candidate for that constituency, according to the NDC.

Also, if at the close of nominations only one person files his nomination as the

Party’s Parliamentary candidate, such fellow shall be elected unopposed.

Source: XYZ
Related Articles: