Politics Sun, 2 Sep 2018

Jowak elected NDC Eastern Regional Chairman

Mr John Amankrah, popularly known as Jowak, a businessman has been elected Eastern Regional chairman of the NDC at their regional delegates congress held at Apeguso.

He garnered 373 votes to beat his closest contender and incumbent chairman, Mr Bismarck Tawiah Boateng who polled 281 and two others Alhaji Baba Sumaila 5 and Mr Basile Ahiable 249.

Mr William Atamudzi polled 285 to become the vice chairman beating five other contestants including two women Madam Stella Obeng and Madam Stella Ansah, the incumbent, while Mr Michael Akpalu, polled 190 to become the first vice chairman.

Others were; Mr Mark-Oliver Kevor who polled 568 votes to beat his sole contender Baba Jamal Kone who polled 365 while, Cudjo Adukpo also polled 593 to become the Deputy regional secretary.

The Treasurer position went to Alhaji Samson Kwakwa who polled 466, Deputy Treasurer Richard lartey polled 378, Hackman Kabore secured 653 votes to win the organizer position while, David Bekuji polled 366 to win the Deputy Organizer position.

The voting supervised by the electoral commission started at 1730 hours on Saturday and ended around 0200 hours on Sunday and was characterised by misunderstanding and chaos leading to suspension of the polls severally to allow issues to be sorted.

Tension heightened and nearly marred the entire process when in the midst of protest by the Akropong constituency, lights at the entire venue went off and members of the media and the EC officials had to suspend voting and take cover until the lights were restored.

The timely and experienced intervention of the National Vice chairman and Director of elections of the NDC, Mr Samuel Ofosu-Ampofo and the abled leadership of the elections committee headed by Ms Mavis Frimpong, former Regional Minister saved the situation.

It all started when the EC announced that delegates from the Akropong constituency could not vote due to a pending court case, however, Mr Ofosu Ampofo insisted that once the elections committee nor the party had not been served or received any notice to that effect, the delegates must vote.

After several arguments and cross checking, the EC agreed that once the party had not been notified officially of the pending court case, it was wrong for such delegates to be denied voting.

Party bigwigs including Dr Yaw Appiah Kubi, Mr Victor Smith, Mr Antwi-Boasiako Sekyere, all former Eastern regional Ministers, Mr Seth Tepker, former Finance Minister, Baba Jamal Mohamed, Mr Sylvester Mensah and Mr Koku Anyidoho and a host of MPs were present.

Speaker after speaker reminded the party faithful that the real battle was to wrestle power from the NPP and therefore urged them to do away with internal wrangling and focus on the task ahead.

Source: ghananewsagency.org
Related Articles: