General News Sun, 18 Nov 2018

NDC Delegates Congress: Slow-paced voting process drags into the night

Video Archive

It seems there is no end in sight as delegates, enthusiasts and particularly National executive aspirants have been left on tenterhooks and anguish as they await the voting process to be over.

It's been more than 12 hours since voting commenced at the 9th National Delegates Congress of the NDC. Many of the delegates, observers and journalists have resorted to the discomfort of tables and chairs as resting grounds.

The process has been at a snail's pace with three more regions yet to vote as at 5am on Sunday, November18, 2018.

Reports suggest that so far the outstanding issues being faced by the electoral commission include that of spoilt ballots particularly in the race for Vice Chairpersons of the party. Some delegates are ignorantly voting for 3 out of 9 candidates on the ballot sheet even though the party's rules suggest the top 3 candidates with the highest individual votes are the ones who will be considered for the position of 1st, 2nd and 3rd Vice Chairpersons. This means a vote for more than one person on the ballot paper annuls the validity of the said vote.


About 15,000 people, made up of 9,350 delegates and 5,650 observers, thronged the Accra International Trade Fair Centre to decide the fate of the 65 candidates vying for various positions.

Several party bigwigs took to the platform to address members and sympathisers of what has to be collectively done if they are to wrestle back power from the incumbent governing party.

Founder of the NDC and former President Jerry John Rawlings in an unexpected fashion delivered the shortest ‘harmless’ speech ever to the party when he took his turn, admonishing the party to ‘listen to themselves’ since everything had already been said.

Below is the list of the candidates of the various positions;

National Chairman

1. Dan Abodakpi 2. Betty Mould Iddrisu 3. Samuel Ofosu-Ampofo 4. Alhaji Huudu Yahaya 5. Danny Annang

National Vice Chairman

1. Alhaji Amadu Bukari Sorogho 2. Said Sinare 3. Lawyer Adu- Yeboah 4. Sherry Ayittey 5. Yaw Owusu Obimpeh 6. Alhaji Sumaila Mahama 7. Dr Kwame Ampofo 8. Awudu S. Azorka 9. Seth Ofosu-Ohene

General Secretary

1. Johnson Asiedu Nketiah 2. Samuel Koku Sitsofo Anyidoho

Deputy General Secretary

1. Alhaji Nuru Hamidan 2. Barbara Serwaa Asamoah 3. Peter Boamah Otokonor 4. David Kwaku Worwui-Brown 5. Kojo Adu Asare 6. George Lawson 7. Abdullah Ishaq Farrakhan 8. Nii Dodoo Dodoo 9. Kale Cezar 10. Ephram Nii Tan Sackey 11. Evans Amoo

National Organizer

1. Mahdi Gibrill 2. Akamba Joshua Hamidu 3. Jemima Anita De- Sosoo 4. Yaw Boateng Gyan 5. Baba Jamal Ahmed 6. Enoch Amoako- Nsiah 7. Solomon Yaw Nkansah

National Deputy Organizer

1. Dr Alhassan Hanifa 2. Kobby Barlon 3. Vivian Abla Kpeglo 4. Mohammed Mamudu 5. Agbesi Nutsu 6. Chief Hamilton Biney Nixon 7. Alfred Kojo Triddles 8. Ebenezer Asare Sackitey 9. Ahmed Gedel

National Communications Officer

1. Fred Agbenyo 2. Sammy Gyamfi

Deputy Communications Officer

1. Godwin Ako Gunn 2. Mahama Seidu Samuel 3. Kwaku Boahen 4. Alhaji Mohammed Nasiru Seidu 5. Adongo Atule Jacob 6. Muhammed Nurullah Iddrisu

National Executive Committee Member

1. Mohammed Mashood Alhaji 2. Alhaji Babanlame Abu Sadat 3. Sheriff Abudul Nasiru 4. Ebenezer Effah Hackman 5. Eliyasu Amadu 6. Alhaji Adramani Haribu 7. William Wilson Agbleke 8. Evelyn Enyonam Mensah

National Zongo Caucus Coordinator

1. Ismail Bawa 2. Alhaji Mamah Mohammed 3. Sadiku Sulley 4. Baba Ibrahim Mohammed 5. Abdul-Aziz Mohammmed 6. Abass Fuseini Sbaabe

Source: www.ghanaweb.com
Related Articles: