NDC Polls: Jomoro NDC elected Alex Kwaw as organiser

Thu, 28 Jun 2018 Source: Daniel Kaku

The opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) in the Jomoro Constituency of the Western Region has elected Alex Kwaw as their Organiser to mobilise people for the party for the next four years.

The party held its constituency executive elections on Saturday 23 June 2018 in almost all the constituencies across the country.

At the end of keenly contested election held at Annor Adjaye Senior High School Assembly Hall on Saturday, June 23, 2018, Alex Kwaw emerged victorious polling 446 votes to beat his close contenders, Paul Blay who had 464 votes, Isaac Amihere also polled 233 votes, Paul Atimo had 116 votes and Justice Amoah also polled 113 votes to become last.

Mr. Anthony Awuah Benle won the chairmanship post by polling 527 votes to beat his close contestants, Mr. Francis Tayi Nda who had 372 votes, Mr. Isaac Yankey who had 202 votes, Mr. Patrick Annor the incumbent Treasurer who polled 185 votes, Mr. Francis Nwole had 41 votes and Fred Amakah who polled only 28 votes.

The communication officer post went to the incumbent communication officer, Patrick Ellonu who polled 1142 votes to beat his main contender, Nana Frendo who managed to had 336 votes.

In all, 1478 delegates voted for 54 candidates that contested 15 vacant positions in the Constituency which was supervised by Mr. Isaac Otoo, the Municipal Director of Electoral Commission (EC) in the Jomoro Municipality.

Speaking to GhanaWeb's Western Regional Correspondent after the elections, the Chairman elect, Alex Mahama expressed joy for the confidence reposed in him and promised to work closer with other executives.

The NDC lost the Jomoro seat to Mr. Paul Essien of NPP in 2016 parliamentary elections for the first time since 1992.

He pledged his total commitment to liaise with the grassroots in order to build a united front to win back the seat and increase the presidential votes in 2020.

He also used the opportunity to plead with all party faithfuls in the Constituency including the contestants to forge ahead in peace and unity and work hard to recapture the seat in 2020 elections.

He added that the current Member of Parliament for the area has failed to honour his promises not even to talk about a single project that has been done by him and urged the NDC members in the area to work hard to make the party attractive and win the seat.

"The Jomoro parliamentary seat is for NDC and we gave it to the NPP in 2016 as a rent but in 2020, we are taking our seat back because the NPP MP, Hon. Paul Essien has failed woefully and we are determined to take it back", he emphasized.

He, therefore used the opportunity to appeal to all the losers to remain resolute and come onboard as a one family and whistle the parliamentary seat from the NPP and increase the presidential votes in 2020.

Find below the full names of the newly elected executives

Jomoro NDC Constituency Executive Election Results


Steven Blay: 69

Mohamed Awudu: 63

Danis Agyima: 31


Ernest Annaman: 68

Isaac Ackah: 47

Eric Nwanyi: 47


Abiba Mohammed: 63

Agnes Nwah: 104


Matilda Alhassan: 30

Comfort Adansi: 82

Gertrud Amulley: 55


Ben Armah: 527

Taye Ndah: 372

Patrick Annor: 185

Isaac yankey: 202

Fred Amakah: 28

Francis Nwole: 41


Anthony Frimpong: 809

Peter Anaman Ndefo: 410

Thomas Bangotoh: 189


James Bolia Benson: 110

Henry Anlimah: 842

Emma Kulu Armah: 432


Godwin Sockey: 772

Abraham Yankson: 228

Emma Assabial: 392


Justice Amoah: 113

Paul Blay: 464

Isaac Amihere: 233

Alex kwaw: 466

Paul Atimo: 116


Justice Ette: unopposed


Patrick Elonu: 1142

Nana Frendo: 336


Emma Bonlo: 709

Assuman Yaw Gabriel:602


Francis morkeh: 550

John Arthur: 339

Cecilia Grant: 502


Blay Jeff: 460

Salamatu Banse: 942


Ahmed Adams: 1005

Mutala Mohammed: 397

Source: Daniel Kaku