NDC aspirants move to five to contest Flagbearer race

Ndc Race Updated NDC flag-bearer aspirants

Wed, 5 Dec 2018 Source: www.ghananewsagency.org

At exactly 16:57 hours, representatives of Mr Alban Bagbin arrived at the National Democracy Congress Party’s Headquarters to pick the flagbearer nomination form on his behalf, joining the four others who made the deadline of December 4.

The four are Former President John Dramani Mahama; Professor Joshua Alabi, the Former Vice Chancellor of the University of Professional Studies, Accra; Mr Sylvester Mensah, a former Chief Executive Officer of the National Health Insurance Authority; and Mr Stephen Atubiga, a politician.

The representatives of George Boateng were, however, unlucky as they got there just after the ceremony to close the picking of the forms by 1700 ended.

Eight persons, including Mr Ekwow Spio- Garbrah and Mr Bagbin, who had earlier declared their interest to contest the January 2019 Primary, have, however, petitioned the National Executive Committee of the Party to review the GH? 400,000 that aspirants were mandated to pay in addition to the filing fees of GH? 20,000.

Mr David Jawara Banye, the leader of Mr Bagbin’s team said they were party members and constituents of the Second Deputy Speaker of Parliament, and they knew that he was the right material to lead the Party, hence their support.

He said: "Alban Bagbin is a household name in Ghana and a strong force to reckon with, and they all attest to his hard work".

Mr Bagbin is also the Member of Parliament for Nadowli West Constituency.

Mr Peter Otokunor, the Deputy General Secretary, who took them through the procedures urged to conduct a clean campaign.

He thanked the media for their support for the past two days.

He said on December 13 or 14; all those who had picked their forms were expected to file their nominations.

"December 17 has been set aside for vetting after which ballot will be conducted," he said.

"After balloting we will announce the process of polls and then the aspirants will start their campaigns".

He said voting would be conducted in all the 217 constituencies, including the additional centre at the Headquarters.

Source: www.ghananewsagency.org
Related Articles: