General News Sun, 2 Sep 2018

We will win Greater Accra Region for NDC in 2020 - Tetteh Chaie

Video Archive

Theophilus Tetteh Chaie has pledged, as part of his mandates as newly elected Regional Secretary of the National Democratic Congress, to secure the votes of the populace in this part of the country and ensure that the party regains power in the 2020 polls.

Speaking to Ghanaweb after his win Saturday, September 1, Mr. Chaie was confident that the power vested in him by the people through this new position will fully be brought to bear. Teamwork, between past and present executives he noted, is going to drive the party in their activities to ensure that nothing less than victory is guaranteed in the 2020 elections.

“I’m coming into this position with probity, transparency, accountability and fairness, for me that is my hallmark and that is why my people voted for me. Aside that, I know how to do party work and I know what it takes to win elections.”

“I don’t have all the knowledge or skill but I’m going to work with the team that has been elected especially with my chairman because he is the overall leader of the region. We’ll also work with our past regional executives to ensure that whoever is elected as Flagbearer of the NDC, God willing, in 2020, we’ll win the region for the party”, he stated.

Touching on his rather unexpected diversion from lawmaking to party work, the former Member of Parliament for Ablekuma Central said his passion for the party coupled with his experience from his previous line of work is what motivated him to pursue this dream.

“I remember when I wanted to do this, people said it was a demotion, I told them my party has invested in me and to a large extent, I can say that I’ve been successful and that success must be put into party work and that was the main passion that drove me to come back and help the party in the region so for me, it is something very exciting and I’m going to do it with a lot of passion”.

Mr. Chaie congratulated past regional executives of the party for their work in the party and urged them to cooperate with the new team to promote unity and effectiveness.

“I want to thank the former regional executives for the work they’ve done in the past, yes, we have a new leadership but they’ve also contributed to the welfare of the party, so I want to say a big thank you to them for all the work they’ve done”.

Theophilus Tetteh Chai secured a landslide victory in the NDC regional elections September 1. With 561 votes, he beat his contenders to become the newly elected Regional Secretary of the party. The others, Victor Quarshie, Nii Ayee and Lois Korkor Tetteh 305, 82, and 56 votes respectively.

Below are the results of the Greater Accra regional elections


Daniel Amartey - 293

Yahya Kundow - 113

Ashlie-Moore -283

Kwabena Ade Cooker – 319


Vice Chairman

Rex Daniel - 147

Mohammed Bashiru -19

William Vinyo - 399

Ibrahim Jajah – 345

Abdul Basit - 8

Gifty Emefa -39

Billey Tahiru - 25

George Tetteh -14


Anthony Kwame Nukpenu – 390

Derrick Myers – 246

Maxwell Ofosu – 224

Humphrey Tetteh Mensah – 144

Deputy Organizer

Gambo Abudullai – 373

Habel Akwasi Adjei - 26

Dickson Mawuko Lekey - 78

Joshua Bortey Alabi - 255

Isaac Mensah - 68

Gabriel Lucky Ocansey - 58

Jonas Jesse Narh - 86

Richard Eyram Dogbe - 61

Rejected - 1

Deputy Secretary

Rakim Derek - 39

Emmanuel Salam - 125

Baba Abu Abdulai - 205

Mac Daniel - 45

Augustine Nii Amoah - 263

Patricia Naa Addy – 333

Rejected - 1


Victor Quarshie - 305

Theophilous Tetteh Chaie – 561

Nii Ayee - 82

Lois Korkor Tetteh – 56

Zongo Caucus Coordinator

Mohammed Ashkar - 446

Ismaila Horoya – 556


Deputy Communicator

Nana Adobea Koranteng - 93

Isaac Nii Otoo Lartey - 68

Dickson Dodoo - 86

Thomas Addy Godfred - 49

Maurice D.K Mawugah - 31

George Acheampong - 38

Frank Nii Dua - 86

Simon Kwaku Tetteh – 344

K. A Aboah - 76

Gideon Tettey Tetteh - 131

Rejected - 2


Solomon Barnor - 117

Regina Samiratu – 430

Seidu Haruna - 242

Rabbon Kwashie Dodoo - 216


Deputy Treasurer

Nubil Kakra Vanlare - 273

Mohammed Norgan – 345

Abagna Raphael 124

Mercy Akomah - 219

Ahortu John Nurudeen 41

Source: www.ghanaweb.com
Related Articles: