Sports News Sat, 1 Sep 2018

Zambian referee to officiate Kenya-Ghana match

The Confederation of African Football (CAF), has appointed Zambian referee Janny Sikazwe to handle the total African Cup of Nation’s qualifier involving Ghana and Kenya in Nairobi on September 8.

He will be assisted on the lines by first assistant Oliver Gift Mweene whilst Kabwe Chansa both of Zambia will be the second assistant of the day.

Ghana is chasing a fifth continental glory at the continental gathering.

The Blacks stars have already announce their 21 member squad by head coach Kwesu Appiah to face the harambee stars of Kenya .and It is also the first time the Stars are coming together after the Anas Amereyaw Anas exposé which has brought football in Ghana to a standstill for over two months.

Ghana and Kenya have met seven times, and out of the total of seven matches played between the two teams, the Black Stars have won four, drawn two and lost one.

The first time the two teams played was an Independence Tournament on September 30, 1964 which Ghana won 7-1. A month later Ghana repeated the same scoreline in an international friendly against the same side.

Kenya’s heaviest defeat to the Black Stars came a year later when they lost 13-2 in an international friendly on December 10 before drawing 3-3 in the return leg three days later.

The only victory for the Harambee Stars came in 2003 when they beat the Black Stars 3-2 in another international friendly with their last clash against Ghana ending in a 2-2 draw.

Currently Ghana s Black Stars top group F of the continent’s qualifiers for next year’s nations cup after beating Ethiopia 5-0 in the opener in Kumasi last year.

Interestingly, Ghana s coach Kwesi Appiah dropped captain Asamoah Gyan as well as the Ayew brothers, who are in frosty relationship with Coach Appiah and have been out of his squad since the World Cup qualifier draw against Congo in Kumasi.

Full Squad:

Goalkeepers: Lawrence Ati Zigi (Sochaux, France), Richard Ofori (Maritzburg United, South Africa)

Defenders: Harrison Afful (Columbus Crew, USA) Daniel Opare (Royal Antwerp, Belgium) Kasim Nuhu Adams (TSG Hoffenheim, Germany) John Boye (FC Metz, France), Daniel Amartey (Leicester City, England), Andy Yiadom (Reading Football Club, England), Nicholas Opoku (Udinese, Italy)

Midfielders: Afriyie Acquah (Empoli, Italy), Isaac Sackey (Alanyaspor, Turkey), Ebenezer Ofori (New York City FC, USA), Christian Atsu (Newcastle United, England), Edwin Gyasi (CSKA Sofia, Bulgaria) Kwadwo Asamoah (Inter Milan, Italy), Frank Acheampong (Tianjin Teda, China), Nana Ampomah (Waasland-Beveren, Belgium)

Forwards: Raphael Dwamena (Levante UD, Spain), Thomas Partey (Atletico Madrid, Spain), Majeed Waris (FC Nantes, France), William Owusu (Royal Antwerp, Belgium)

Source: Frank Obimpeh