Movies Wed, 31 Dec 2014

Kumawood Akoben Film Festival Awards rounds up in grand style

The Kumasi Akoben Film Festival and Awards (KAFF) which took place at the Round Pavilion of the Golden Tulip Hotel Kumasi has come to a successful end.

The august awards ceremony was put together by Adom TV and Kumawood Multimedia.

Prominent players in the industry, including most favourite actor and actress, were awarded after a public voting.

Captain Smart of Adom FM and Nana Yaa Brefo of Adom TV hosted the ceremony with performances by Jak Alolome, Guru and Lil Win.

Members of the Traditional Council of Ashanti represented Otumfuo Osei Tutu II, the Asantehene. Joy Herbal Centre, Yaakson Herbal Centre, Prestige Commodities Ghana Ltd, Samara Pharmacy Ltd and Rockcare Clinic sponsored the event.

The thousands of people that thronged to the event were very satisfied and asked that the organizers of the ceremony keep doing it to give Kumawood a reputable presence in the film industry.

The full list of awards winners are as follows:

1. Best Make Up Artist - Felicia Boateng Ndinyah (Obaapa nisuo)

2. Best Costume - Peace & Love Collection (Boys Abre)

3. Best Lighting - Kwadwo Brefah Dankroah (Enye me saa, Boys Abre)


4. Best Sound - Kofi Sefah (Obaapa nisuo)

5. Best Visual Effects - Ninja (13-30 Kaba Church)

6. Best Director of Photography - Leonard A. Kubaloe (Tomorrow)

7. Best Original Song - Broni Hiani

8. Best Screenplay/Script - Theophilus Amoabeng (Enye me saa)

9. Best Film Editor - Mind Studio (Obour)

Individual Awards

10. Discovery of the Year - Vivian Zoroaster (Obaapa Nisuo)

11. Best Collaboration (Twi & English) - Obroni Hiani


12. Best Actor Supporting Role - Kwadwo Nkansah/Lil Win (Had I known)

13. Best Actress Supporting Role - Christiana Awuni

14. Best Actor Lead Dagbani - Ahmed Adam (Sal Tuma)

15. Best Actress Lead Role Dagbani - Imoro Anda States (Biegni 'Tomorrow')

16. Best Actor Lead Role Frafra - Atinga Amoah (Nobigre Kaine ne Songa)

17. Best Actress Lead Role Frafra - Lareba Dansor (Poka)

18. Best Actor Lead Hausa - Yusif Saseed (Zabin Zuci)

19. Best Actress Lead Hausa - Hakima Hashim Larny (Al-Kalami)

20. Best Actor Lead Role Twi - Akwasi Boadi (Akrobeto)


21. Best Actress Lead Role Twi - Nana Ama McBrown

22. Best Actor Lead Role Ewe - Hoddor Richard (Agbetsi 'Water of Live')

23. Best Actress Lead Role Ewe - Madam Amenuveve (Agbetsi 'Water of Live')

24. Best Juvenile - Rahim Banda

Honorary Awards - 2015 Kumawood Award Ambassadors

Bill Asamoah

Vivian Jill

Honorary Veteran Awards

Veteran Actor and Producer Award - Mr. Samuel Twumasi

Vetran Film Producer and Pioneer - Samuel Nyamekye (Miracle Films)

Somehow controversial but Bill Asamoah wins Most Favorite Actor over Kwadwo Nkansah Lil Win

Most Favorite Actress - Emelia Brobbey

Best Film Director - Leonard A. Kubaloe (Biegni 'Tomorrow')

Best Film - Biegni (Tomorrow)

Source: Myjoyonline.com