General News Fri, 8 Feb 2019

‘Commanders’ of Ayawaso ‘thugs’ have owned up, punish them first - Franklin Cudjoe to Akufo-Addo

The Thursday, January 31 by-election held at Ayawaso-West Wuogon constituency will be remembered by many Ghanaians as a historical by-election where violence led government to form a Commission of Enquiry.

The by-election was characterized by violence after some armed masked and hooded in police vehicles stormed the residence of the residence of the NDC parliamentary candidate and some polling stations where civilians were beaten up. NPP’s Lydia Seyram Alhassan eventually won the election and was sworn in by Parliament on Tuesday.

In the course of the election, six people were shot leaving them with varying degrees of injuries. The Member of Parliament for Ningo Prampram, Sam George was also assaulted by the unknown men who are all expected to be exposed by the Commission of Enquiry.

Founding President of IMANI Africa Franklin Cudjoe has however if there is no punishment even before the Commission of Enquiry starts work, it would be a waste of time, as in his opinion, those who armed the vigilantes have owned up already.

His post was later to be edited to this:

“I am expecting the presidency to disband the thuggish state-sponsored squadron first and sanction those who armed the unit with cudgels, axes, catapults and guns and directed the thugs. They owned up already. At best the police must do their investigations and punish all involved. Criminal acts are not resolved at commissions, at least recent history has shown. When you see a snake charging at you, kill it. Do not go setting up a committee on snakes. While at it, we can and must have a national conversation about politically sponsored violence.”

Emile Short Commission Terms of Reference

Acting President Dr Mahamudu Bawumia with President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo’s approval set up a Presidential Commission of Inquiry to investigate the Ayawaso-West-Wuogon by-election violence.

The Commission is composed of: Mr. Justice Emile Short – Chairperson, Mrs. Henrietta Mensah Bonsu – Member, Mr. Patrick K. Acheampong – Member.

Mr. Ernest Kofi Abotsi, former Dean of the Faculty of Law of GIMPA and private legal practitioner, has been appointed as Secretary to the Commission.

The terms of reference of the Commission are:

(a) to make a full, faithful and impartial inquiry into the circumstances of, and establish the facts leading to, the events and associated violence during the Ayawaso West Wuogon By-Election on the 31st day of January 2019;

(b) to identify any person responsible for or who has been involved in the events, associated violence and injuries;

(c) to inquire into any matter which the Commission considers incidental or reasonably related to the causes of the events and the associated violence and injuries; and

(d) to submit within one month its report to the President giving reasons for its findings and recommendations, including appropriate sanctions, if any.

Thursday’s by-election at Ayawaso-West Wuogon constituency was characterized by violence after some armed masked and hooded in police vehicles stormed the residence of the residence of the NDC parliamentary candidate.

Source: Mynewsgh.com
Related Articles: