Politics Tue, 25 Dec 2018

EC sets Januay 31, 2019 for Ayawaso West by-election

The Electoral Commission has set Thursday, January 31, 2019, as the date for the Ayawaso West-Wuogon constituency by-election.

The date was agreed upon at an emergency meeting of the Inter-Party Advisory Committee (IPAC) on Monday, December 24.

According to Eric Kofi Dzakpasu, the Head of Communication for the EC, interested parties may pick nomination forms, which will be available from December 27 to January 12, at the Ayawaso West Constituency office of the Commission.

The filling fee has been pegged at GH?10,000.

The seat became vacant following the death of the New Patriotic Party Member of Parliament for the constituency, Emmanuel Kyeremateng Agyarko, who died at the age of 60 on Wednesday, November 21, 2018.

He will be buried on January 26, 2019, at Odumase-Krobo, his hometown.

NPP reschedules Ayawaso West Wuogon primaries

The New Patriotic Party (NPP), has rescheduled the party’s primaries for the Ayawaso West Wougon Constituency to Saturday, December 29, 2018.

The exercise was originally slated for December 27.

Six people have picked nomination forms to contest the race including Edward Agyekum Kufour, the second son of former president John Agyekum Kufour.

Josephine Agyarko, a wife of the deceased Member of Parliament for the area, Emmanuel Kyeremateng Agyarko is also in the race.

All aspirants were vetted this Saturday to determine their fate.

The Greater Accra Regional Organizer of the NPP, Prince Obeng, in an interview with Citi News said the party is looking forward to elect someone who is capable of helping the party retain the seat.

“We are going to have our internal primaries on 29th December, this Saturday. We will select a formidable candidate to lead us to the by-elections. By the time we are done with the primaries, the NPP in Ayawaso West Wuogon will come up with a very strong and formidable candidate who will continue from where the former MP, Mr. Agyarko left off,” he said.

Three to contest on NDC ticket

Meanwhile, only three persons successfully filed their nomination to contest to lead the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) into the by-election at the close of filing on Saturday, December 22.

The three are Ekwow Acquah, Delali Kwasi Brempong and Donna Selassie Agbo.

Source: citinewsroom.com
Related Articles: