General News Fri, 8 Feb 2019

Minority wants National Security, Interior Ministers summoned over by-election violence

Video Archive

1st Deputy Speaker of Parliament, Joseph Osei-Owusu, has announced that plans have been made to invite the Ministers for National Security and Interior.

This was in response to a call by the Member of Parliament for Adaklu, Kwame Agbodza for the house to summon the two to give a full account on all the allegation of brutality that occurred during the Ayawaso West Wuogon by-election.

“I would request the Chairman of Business Committee to consider scheduling a meeting with the Ministers responsible for National Security and Interior to brief parliament on all the allegation of brutality that occurred at the Ayawaso West Wuogon”

Member of Parliament for Effutu, Alexander Afenyo-Markin also suggested to the Business Committee to consider inviting the Interior Minister to one of their meetings.

“The business committee should consider inviting the ministry of interior to brief this house the support systems that his outfit put in place in ensuring this success particularly so, coming from the police, that is very important,” he said.

He further commended the Ghana Police Service for their role in ensuring that 'Aagbe Wo' demonstration was peaceful.

Hundreds of Ghanaians on Thursday marched through principal streets of Accra to put pressure on the government to take urgent action against the growing incidents of violence and attacks in the country especially during the by-election at that Ayawaso West Wougon.

The demonstrators, clad in red and black held placards with inscriptions such as “Ghana beyond Delta Forces’, ‘Bloody MP’, ‘Ghana beyond violence’, ‘Bryan is evil’, ‘family and friends government’, ‘Boot 4 boot’, ‘Ghana is no longer safe’, ‘IGP must go’ among others.

Key political figures sighted at the demonstration included NDC Deputy Youth Organizer, Eric Edem Agbana; MP for Ningo Prampram, Sam George; NDC General Secretary, Johnson Asiedu Nketiah, former Ministers of State under the NDC government, Sherry Ayitey and Nana Oye Lithur and former AMA Chief Executive, Alfred Oko Vandepuije.

Others including former MP for Tano South constituency, Hannah Bissiw, NDC flagbearer hopeful Sylvester Mensah; MP for Klottey Korle, Zanetor Rawlings, MP for Sagnarigu, A.B.A Fuseini and NDC National Chairman, Samuel Ofosu Ampofo all joined in the demonstration.

Source: www.ghanaweb.com
Related Articles: