Politics Sat, 29 Dec 2018

Voting in NPP Ayawaso West Wuogon primary underway

The New Patriotic Party (NPP) is holding its primary in the Ayawaso West Wuogon Constituency ahead of the January 31 by-election.

Voting is currently ongoing at the Dzorwulu JHS to elect a candidate who will subsequently contest on the ticket of the NPP in the by-election.

The contestants for the election are Madam Lydia Alhassan, Victoria Esinam Ansah Offei, Mame Yaa Aboagye, Samuel Amankwah and Ato Williams.

The seat became vacant following the passing of the Member of Parliament for the area, Emmanuel Kyeremanteng Agyarko, on Wednesday, November 21.

About 700 delegates are expected to cast their ballot.

District Electoral officer for the area, Nantogmah Abdul Rashid, in an interview with Citi News stated that proceedings are going on as planned.

Edward Agyekum Kufuor, son of former president Kufuor, pulled out of the primaries, saying he did so out of respect for the late MPs widow, Lydia Alhassan.

The NPP has held the seat since 2000, with Emmanuel Kyeremanteng Agyarko succeeding Madam Akosua Frema Osei-Opare, the current Chief of Staff in January 2013.

Meanwhile, the NDC side elected Delali Kwasi Brempong, a former Parliamentary candidate in its primary on Friday, December 28.

Delali Kwasi Brempong overcame Ekwow Acquah and Madam Donna Selassie Agbo.

Delali Brempong polled 415 votes, while Selassie Agbo and former constituency secretary Ekow Acquah got 115 and 119 votes respectively.

The Electoral Commission will open and receive the nominations for the by-election from Thursday, January 10 to Saturday, January 12, 2019.

This will take place at the EC’s Office in the Ayawaso District.

Source: citinewsroom.com
Related Articles: