Politics Fri, 15 Jan 2016

Akuapem South elects Presiding Member

Mr Michael Ahwireng, Assembly Member for Ashyeresu Electoral Area has been elected Presiding Member for the Akuapem South District Assembly.

Mr Ahwireng had 33 out of the total 35 votes cast to win the position after his contestant, Mr Samuel Gampson, former Presiding Member of the Assembly had stepped down.

Mr Okoffo Doadi-Boampong, the Coordinating Director of the Assembly commended the former Presiding Member of the Assembly for stepping down to allow his colleague to have his position, which had eluded the assembly since October last year.

Mr Winston Afari –Gyan, the Akuapem South District Chief Executive (DCE) called on the Assembly Members to support efforts to develop their communities to help raise the standard of living of the people in the District.

In an acceptance speech, Mr Ahwireng promised to cooperate with the Assembly Members, DCE and all staff of the Assembly to develop the area.
Source: GNA