General News Sat, 15 Jul 2017

Click for Market Deals →

Akufo-Addo appoints Council chairpersons for Universities after court order

The seat of government, Flagstaff House, Friday, released the list of chairpersons appointed by President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo to head the governing Councils of the various public universities in the country.

Among the high profile personalities was Supreme Court Judge, Justice Jones Dotse who was appointed to chair the governing Council of the University of Allied Sciences in the Volta Region.

While Prof. Emeritus Kwame Sarpong chairs the Council of the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, the Council for the University of Ghana will be headed by Prof. Yaw Twumasi.

Other Council Chairperson for the universities includes; Mrs. Nancy Thompson, University of Cape Coast; Prof. Emmanuel Abaka, University of Education, Winneba; Mr. Nutifafa Kuenyehia, University of Development Studies; and Dr. Stephen Saforo Yirenkyi, University of Mines.

The announcement follows a Winneba High Court ruling that help an application to restrain the Vice Chancellor Prof. Mawutor Avokeh and the Finance Officer of the University of Education, from holding office until the final determination of a case brought against them by one Supi Kwayera.

The court presided over by His Lordship Ato Mills-Graves also gave a 14-day ultimatum to the Ministry of Education to reconstitute the governing Council of the University of Education, Winneba and also awarded an amount of GH?4,000 against the university.

Source: Kasapa FM

Send your news stories to and via WhatsApp on +233 55 2699 625.

Join our Newsletter

Related Articles: