General News Mon, 27 Feb 2017

Click for Market Deals →

Council of State members to be sworn in today

President Akufo-Addo will today swear into office members of the Council of State.

The membership includes 11 nominees by the President, and 14 elected regional representatives.

The Council of State is enjoined by Article 89 of Ghana’s 1992 Constitution to “counsel the President in the performance of his functions”.

The Council is required to “consider and advise the President or any other authority in respect of any appointment which is required by the constitution or any other law to be made in accordance with the advice of, or in consultation with the Council…”

The council, upon request or on its own initiative is to “consider and make recommendations on any matter being considered or dealt with by the President, a Minister of State, or any other authority established by the Constitution.

Many of the President’s appointees are currently operating in an acting capacity as it is required for the President to consult the Council before confirming them.

Source: starrfmonline.com

Send your news stories to and via WhatsApp on +233 55 2699 625.

Join our Newsletter

Related Articles: