General News of Wed, 27 Jun 201820

Create six new regions – Commission of Enquiry recommends

A nine-member Commission of Enquiry set up by President Nana Akufo-Addo has recommended to the President, the creation of six new regions to bring the total of regions in Ghana to sixteen (16).

The six regions recommended for creation are Oti (Volta Region), Ahafo (Brong Ahafo), Bono East (Brong Ahafo), Western North (Western Region), North East (Northern Region), and Savanna (Northern Region).

Addressing members of the Commission for the creation of new regions and/or the alteration of existing regional boundaries at the Jubilee House, President Akufo-Addo said he followed keenly the work of the Commission and the broad consultations in the various parts of the country they visited and is satisfied that the work done by the Commission has been comprehensive and purpose driven.

The President in his address observed that with the completion of the work of the Commission, the Electoral Commission of Ghana will be responsible for conducting a referendum in all six locations as recommended by the 1992 constitution of the Republic and based on the guidelines pointed out by the Commission of Enquiry in its report.

Chairperson of the Commission, Retired Supreme Court judge, Justice S. A. Brobbey, in his address said their comprehensive report if implemented to the latter will certainly lead to the achievement of the objectives set out in their terms of reference.


He expressed his sincere thanks to the President, the Chief of Staff, Akosua Frema Osei Opare and the Minister for Regional Re-integration, Dan Botwe, for all the support the Commission enjoyed from them during the execution of their assignments.


President Akufo-Addo, on the 19th of October, 2017, in accordance with Article 5 of the 1992 Constitution of Ghana, appointed and inaugurated the 9-member Commission of Enquiry to inquire into the need and substantial demand, and to make recommendations on all the factors involved in the creation of a region or alteration of regional boundaries.

The 9-member Commission chaired by Justice S. A. Brobbey, a retired Supreme Court judge, also had Dr. Grace Bediako, Maulvi Mohammed Bin-Salih, Prof. Kwasi Kwafo Adarkwa, Gladys Tetteh, Robert Ajene, David Wellington Essaw, Prof. George Owusu, and Ms. Josephine Hughes as members.

President Akufo-Addo, pursuant to paragraph 3 of Constitutional Instrument, No. 105, gazetted on Thursday, 12th October, 2017, also appointed Mr. Jacob Saah, a lawyer with great interest in this aspect of governance, as the Secretary to the Commission.

Comments (20)

Related Articles:

Today's News