I'll ensure Savannah region becomes next 'Bantama for NPP' - NPP Chairman elect

Alhaji Sulemana.jpeg Alhaji Iddrisu Sulemana

Tue, 21 May 2019 Source: Abraham Ananpansah

Humanitarian politician, Alhaji Iddrisu Sulemana has disclosed his binding commitment to painstakingly work towards ensuring the newly created Savannah region becomes the next "Bantama" for the ruling New Patriotic Party (NPP).

Professor Kalimonia as he's affectionately called, emerged victorious at the end of yesterday's 1st Regional Delegate Congress of the NPP in the Savannah region held at the Assembly Hall of Damongo S.H.S.

He polled a total of 88 votes representing 70.4% of the valid votes cast to beat his only contender, Nana Kwame Aboagye, the erstwhile Damongo constituency chairman of the party who obtained a total of 37 votes representing 29.6% of the valid votes cast.

Mr. Nana Kwame Aboagye resigned his position as constituency chairman to bid for the regional chairmanship slot following the creation of the new regions.

In a congratulatory message the regional chairman expressed gratitude to the delegates for the confidence reposed, stating that, he would work diligently with all losing candidates to consolidate and deepen the democratic credentials of the party.

"My dear delegates, you indeed made the right choice and I promise to work assiduously to ensure Savannah region becomes the next "Bantama" for NPP. As a party, we believe in democracy thus, the other aspirants who vied for the various positions have not lost anything but only deepened our democratic credentials once again. I shall tap knowledge and wisdom from all to develop the party at all levels," he pledged his troth.

The position of Secretary went to Mr. Haruna Iddrisu who garnered 50 votes translating to 40% of the valid votes cast to beat his close contender; Mr. Amadu Zakaria who polled 47 votes representing 37.6%.Mr. Awusi Mahama Natogma placed third with a total of 28 votes representing 22.4% of the valid votes cast.

The position of Organiser was won by Mr. Mohammed Tohir with a total of 50 votes representing 40% of the valid votes cast; the rest are: Frederick Tahiru-12 votes (9.6%); Salifu Dramani Jawula-30 votes (24%); James Kipo Sunhezi-33 votes (26.4%).

Mr. Mahama Akati won the position of Youth Organiser with a total of 91 votes translating to 72.8% of the valid votes cast to beat his close contender Mr. Majeed Issahaku Porous who obtained 26 votes representing 20.8%; the rest are: Dauda Eliasu Gbane-6 votes (4.8%); Abubakari Abdul-Samed Gbanso-2 votes (1.6%).

In a solidarity message delivered by the Communications Director, Mr. Mumuni Yahaya prior to the election, the NDC entreated candidates to be magnanimous in victory and gracious in defeat after declaration of polls, noting that, "Together as one, we move our region forward".

The party wished NPP well and ask them to remember to keep the peace, whilst assuring them of a responsible opposition in the region.

The General Secretary of the NPP, Mr. John Boadu who witnessed the election called on the executives to work together in a united front to win more seats for the party in the region.

He noted that the party, even though, should have been a force to reckon with in the region was currently not faring well considering that it has only one seat in the region from the last election.

The election was also witnessed by other bigwigs of the party such as the Deputy Chief of Staff, Lawyer Abu Jinapor, Managing Director of Ghana Water Company, Dr. Clifford Braimah inter alia.

Find below the rest of the portfolios, the total votes and percentage computation of the votes obtained by individual candidates:

1st Vice- Chairman:

1. Amantana Abudulai Pozo; 45 votes (36%).

2. Dr Amadu Musah Abudu; 80 votes (64%)-elected.

2nd Vice- Chairperson:

1. Hajia Zulfawu Amadu;82 votes (65.6%)-elected.

2. Haruna Alhassan; 12 votes (9.6%).

3. Jacob Dumakawe; 31 votes (24.8%).

Deputy Secretary:

1. Jebuni Kwabena; 26 votes (20.8%).

2. Sulemana Amin; 52 votes (41.6%)-elected.

3.Abdul Rahman Kadiri; 47 votes (37.6).

Women's Organiser:

1.Tika Veronica; 21 votes (16.8%).

2.Mohammed Safia; 104 votes (83.2)-elected.


1. Asumah Dabo; 13 votes (10.4%).

2. Mahama Mumuni Akotia; 40 (32%)-elected.

3. Abu Lutie; 28 (22.4%).

4. Majeed Ziblim; 22 votes (17.6%).

5. Issifu Sualihu Denkeri; 22 votes (17.6%).

Nasara Coordinator:

1. Losina Barikisu-; 56 votes (44.8%)-elected.

2. Buamani Macdonald Asumah; 4 votes (3.2%).

3. Mohammed Masahudu; 39 votes (31.2%).

5. Mustaphq Shafig Mettle; 18 votes (14.4%).

6. Abuabkari Kamel; 8 votes (6.4%).

Source: Abraham Ananpansah
Related Articles: