Politics Sat, 1 Sep 2018

NDC elects regional executives today

The opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) is expected to elect its regional executives nationwide today, Saturday, September 1, 2018.

Delegates from all 275 constituencies are expected to assemble at various designated centers to perform the exercise.

Founder of the NDC, former President Jerry John Rawlings had earlier urged delegates participating in the elections to elect committed executives who will serve the interest of the party since to him, “the outcome of these conferences will go a long way in determining the future direction of the party.”

“To ensure the consolidation and re-invigoration of our party, I urge delegates to listen to their constituents and elect persons with integrity who genuinely have the party at heart,” the former President said.

After the regional elections today, the party will later in the year choose national leaders and subsequently elect its presidential candidate before the end of December 2018.

Prior to the regional elections today, the party had organized elections for its Regional Youth Organisers on Friday.


Egypt Kudoto loses

In the Volta Region, Egypt Kudoto, an aide to former Transport Minister, Dzifa Attivor, and incumbent Volta Regional Youth Organizer lost his reelection bid to his deputy, Mathias Alagbo.

Mathias Alagbo polled 51 votes against Egypt Kudoto’s 47 votes.

There are suggestions that Kudoto’s defeat could have some impact on Madam Dzifa Attivor who’s contesting the chairmanship position against the incumbent Regional Chairman, Gyapong Kudjo.

Egypt Kudoto, a former reporter for the Enquirer newspaper, was noted as also being a key member in the campaign team of Dzifa Attivor.


NDC flagbearership race

About 11 aspirants are vying to lead the NDC in the2020 elections.

They include former President John Dramani Mahama, former Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the National Health Insurance Authority (NHIA), Sylvester Mensah, Dr. Ekwow Spio Garbrah; a former Trade and Industry Minister; Former Vice Chancellor of the University for Professional Studies, Accra (UPSA), Prof. Joshua Alabi, Cape Coast South MP, Kweku Ricketts-Hagan and Goosie Tanoh.

The rest are, Alban Bagbin, Second Deputy Speaker of Parliament, Stephen Atubiga, member of NDC communications team; Elipklim Agbemava, a lawyer; David Doste Kwame Kuwadah; and a banker and oil and gas consultant, Nurideen Iddrisu.

Source: citinewsroom.com