Politics Mon, 28 Jan 2008

NPP young wing in Ahafo-Ano North elects new executives

Tepa (Ash), Jan 28, GNA- Mr Eric Kwabena Poku, Ahafo-Ano North Constituency Chairman of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), has appealed to supporters and executives of the party to bury their differences and remain united to enable the NPP retain the seat in the 2008 Election. He made the appeal when he swore into office the newly-elected executives of the Youth Wing of Ahafo-Ano North Constituency NPP, after an election that was supervised by the Electoral Commission (EC) at Tepa in the Ashanti Region on Sunday.

Mr Poku said the NPP Government had done well in the constituency in terms of infrastructure development, the School Feeding Programme and the Capitation Grant and the introduction of the National Health Insurance Scheme.

He said despite these achievements, the party had to intensify its electioneering campaign, especially in the rural areas to explain government policies and programmes to the people to enable the NPP win more votes in the 2008 Elections.

Mr Fred Amfo the newly-elected chairman of the Youth Wing, said the 2008 Election would not be easy for the party in the constituency, particularly the parliamentary polls and urged the youth to support the party's campaign strategies with their time and energy. He urged the government and the district assembly to ensure that all on-going development projects particularly the rural electrification and road construction in the district were completed on schedule. Mr Amfo complained about the delay in granting of loans to the people through the rural banks as promised by the government and appealed to the authorities to expedite action on it. The other executive elected were Mr Ransford Hammond Donkor, vice-chairman, Mr Ernest Yamson, secretary, Mr J.B. Dankwa, assistant secretary, Mr Francis Boateng, treasurer, Zackaria Sadick, assistant treasurer and Miss Francisca Konadu, women's organizer.
Source: GNA