General News Tue, 14 Feb 2017

Click for Market Deals →

Okudzeto, 13 others appointed by Akufo-Addo to Council of State

President Nana Akufo-Addo has selected 14 individuals to serve as members of the Council of State.

A statement from the presidency released on Tuesday, February 14 stated that the president did the nominations “pursuant to Article 82(2)(d) of the Constitution”.

These appointees include Juabenhene Nana Otuo Siriboe II, Sam Okudzeto, Nana Kofi Obiri Egyir II, Stanley Adjiri Blankson, Mrs Alberta Cudjoe, Alhaji Aminu Amadu, Dr Margaret Amoakohene, Alhaji Sahanun Moqtar, Mrs Georgina Kusi, Alhaji Sule Yiremiah, and Mr Paa Kofi Ansong.

The release also added: “The President has, subject to the approval of Parliament, also appointed, in accordance with Article 89(2)(a)(ii) and (iii), General J.B. Danquah, a former Chief of Defence Staff of the Armed Forces, and Nana Owusu Nsiah, a former Inspector General of Police, to the Council. Since there is no living former Chief Justice, the president is unable to propose a name for the approval of parliament, in accordance with Article 89(2)(a)(i). The President of the National House of Chiefs, Togbe Afede XIV, is an ex-officio member of the Council in furtherance of Article 89(2)(b).”

Source: Class FM

Send your news stories to and via WhatsApp on +233 55 2699 625.

Join our Newsletter

Related Articles: