General News Thu, 6 Apr 2017

Click for Market Deals →

Parliament approves 17 Deputy Ministerial Nominees

Parliament has approved 17 Deputy Ministerial Nominees referred to the House by President Akufo-Addo for consideration.

The approved nominees include the Robert Ahomka-Lindsey for Trade and Industry, Godfred Dame for Attorney-General and Minister for Justice and Patricia Appiagyei for Environment Science Technology and Innovation.

A report by the Appointments Committee recommends the approval all the nominees by consensus.

The Vice Chairperson of the Committee Sarah Adwoa Sarfo presented the committee’s report on the Floor of the House.

The Minority Leader Haruna Iddrisu seconded the motion for the approval of the nominees.

Meanwhile, the Minority Leader Haruna Iddrisu has suggested to President Akufo Addo to consider withdrawing the nomination of George Oduro, the Deputy Minister Designate, for Agriculture.

He said a BNI report indicts the nominee and that it will be appropriate to stand down his appointments.

The Minority Leader stated suggested this when the House was considering the Ninth report of the Appointments Committee.

The Majority Leader Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu responded to the concern of the Minority Leader.

Source: gbc.com

Send your news stories to and via WhatsApp on +233 55 2699 625.

Join our Newsletter

Related Articles: