General News Sat, 18 Mar 2017

Click for Market Deals →

Parliament to vet Akufo-Addo’s last batch of 54 ministers in 6 days

The appointments committee of parliament is expected to sit continuously for 6 days in order to vet all 54 ministerial nominees announced my President Nanan Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo making his full complement of his government before going on recess.

Four Ministers of State including the Member of Parliament (MP) for Dome Kwabenya, Ms Sarah Adwoa Safo, Minister of State (Public Procurement) at the Office of the President; the Vice-Chancellor of the Central University, Prof. Kwesi Yankah, Minister of State (Tertiary Education) at the Ministry of Education; the MP for Abetifi, Mr Brian Acheampong, Minister of State at the Office of the President, and Dr Nurah Gyeile, Minister of State at the Ministry of Agriculture are expected to be vetted within this period.

The rest are deputy minister nominees some of whom include; Mr Kwaku Kwarteng, the MP for Obuasi West; Mrs Abena Osei Asare, the MP for Atiwa East, and Mr Charles Adu Boahen, an economist, for the Ministry of Finance; Mr Owuraku Aidoo, the MP for Afigya Kwabre South; Mr Joseph Cudjoe, the MP for Effia, and Dr Mohammed Amin Anta, the Executive Director at the Africa Centre for Energy Policy (ACEP), for the Ministry of Energy.

Nominee for the Ministry of Local Government and Rural Development, Mr Osei Bonsu Amoah, the MP for Akuapem South; Mr Collins Ntim, the MP for Offinso North, and Mr Kwasi Boateng Agyei, the MP for New Juaben North; while those nominated for the Ministry of Information are Mr Kojo Oppong Nkrumah, the MP for Ofoase/Ayirebi; Ama Dokua Asiamah Agyei, the MP for Akropong, and Mr Perry Curtis Kwabla Okudzeto, a Deputy Communications Director of the NPP.

The appointment committee is expected to commence next Friday, which is just six days before the house rises on March 31.

Source: My News GH

Send your news stories to and via WhatsApp on +233 55 2699 625.

Join our Newsletter

Related Articles: