Technical Universities to curb youth unemployment – Mahama

Read Comments Comments (56)

• Rastafara"I" 9 years ago

polytechnic graduates serve a unique purpose in the technical industry....i.e. technicians

how would a technical university be different from KNUST ? not every person need or is capable to earn a degree..

• T'pau 9 years ago

Mr President, the unemployment problem is not a question of inadequacy of degree-level qualifications. It is rather, the lack of jobs. Are the youth going to be more innovative to create jobs, after completing the so-called T ...

• Yaw Boakye 9 years ago

must put premium on knowledge generation and creativity to create a knowledge-based economy.

“Re-branding of our Polytechnics is one of the strategic objectives for driving the change. We must carefully execute the proce ...

• Ghfuo: Be Bad & Hang Nyantakyi, NOW! 9 years ago

The reasons for the conversion are all benign. NDC Thieves will inflate the costs and steal. Parliament must debate and vote on this matter.

• Asem se be 9 years ago

@Yaw Boakye I like interesting contributors like you. You made a very good point but you failed to conclude that we have to place practical s at the doorstep of these institutions. Just turning a poly into a uni is not going ...

• Yaw Boakye 9 years ago

I have read the Final Report & the Technical University Bill. Please visit the Ministry of education website to ascertain if, you have time.

1.1 Membership of the Committee

The Committee has the following membership:

• Asante 9 years ago

LACK OF INDUSTRIES AND COMPANIES TO EMPLOY GRADUATES NOT THE NUMBER OF SCHOOLS AND TECH UNIVERSITIES. BY THE WAY HOW AN INDUSTRIAL COMPANY SURVIVE IN A "DUMSOR" ECONOMY WITH BAD TRANSPORTATION AND VIRTUALLY NO RAILWAY LINES. ...

• The Truth in UK 9 years ago

Mahama got his position on silver platter so he always think most of us are fools. How many jobs will be created with the conversion from Polytechnics to Universities. Somebody better advise him to invest his stolen or corrup ...

• USMAN 9 years ago

If we have students who study carpentry, auto mechanics, electrical installation, fish farming, food technology, glass technology, plastic technology, etc, at the degree level from any of the proposed technical universities, ...

JJ changed the GCE system to JSS reason being students will be equipped with technical skills for employment.where are we today?

• John 9 years ago

Who told you they are unemployed they're on the street selling dog chains.They are JSS graduates who can't write their names.

• USMAN 9 years ago

Mahama is correcting all the wrongs created by the implementation of the bogus JSS concept.

• Pelicles 9 years ago

This is what you should do. Tackle the electricity issue and let water flow 24/7. The private sector will pick up and the huge unemployment facing Ghana will evaporate. I am not an economist but that is what my commonsense ...

• My thots 9 years ago

Isit not possible to change the curriculum and if necessary, the qualifications obtained. With this name change to technical universities, lots of money will be wasted for printing new stationery and other materials etc. and ...

• Yaw Boakye 9 years ago

The forum on the theme: “Repositioning Technical Education as a Driver of Economic Transformation and National Development,” brought together a number of distinguished personalities in the education sector for deliberatio ...

• Koo Nimo 9 years ago

Yaw Boakye, is copy and paste all you can do?

• Yaw Boakye 9 years ago

Yes Koo Nimo, I see nothing wrong in highlighting points of interest. I am sorry for not doing more that time.

• MENSAH 9 years ago

Did MAHAMA and ATTA MILLS think through before offering money to WOYOME,WATERVILLE,ISOFOTON AND STX PROMISES?
    Decisions control future.
    NDC has made uncountable mistakes with their weak economic policies,just to find an ope ...

• Dessy 9 years ago

Good move

• meh 9 years ago

How is it a good move? guyman has not done anything or put the necessary pillars in place and making crass statements as if the polys are ready to solve an employment problem. His education policies are not worthy of consider ...

• HUMANISM 9 years ago

COMMUNIST INFERIOR TACTICS. HOW IS THE HO UNIVERSITY COMING ?

HOW IS THE TAMALE SUPER INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT COMING ?

• Yaw Boakye 9 years ago

The President commended the Technical Committee for a good work done, and extended government’s appreciation to Deutscher Akademischer Austausch Dient (DAAD) for their assistance.

Professor Jane Naana Opoku-Agyemang, Min ...

• MAHAMAH 9 years ago

MR PRESIDENT, YOUR FUCKING ASS HOLE WILL PROVIDE ALL THESE NUMEROUS GRADUATES FROM THE POLY UNIVERSITIES JOBS SINCE THEY ARE MARKETABLE. THIS IS THE LOOSE TALK FROM FOOLISH PRESIDENTS MAHAMAH. THIS STUPID FOOL TALKS REALLY L ...

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

What is the logic in Mahama's statement? Is the lack of employment due to absence of Technical Universities. Is the prevalence of poverty the result of lack of proper skills for the many unemployed graduates. Weren't NVTI, Te ...

• Koo Nimo 9 years ago

Election is approaching...........

• Abubaker Salif 9 years ago

This is a very clear evidence that this socalled predident has not the slightest clue about education.
    Let me teach him some basic rudiments of education: The Massachusetts Institute of Technology, California Institute of Te ...

• USMAN 9 years ago

When the teacher training colleges were given tertiary status, there was no complain. When two new univerities were created in the Eastern and Brong Ahafo Regions it was hailed as a noble idea. When Nurses training colleges w ...

• Abubaker Salif 9 years ago

In order to capture some little knowledge about this so-called president, we need to ask him to tell us about his four children (with Lordina). We want us to tell us about the schools they attend or attended, and where they a ...

• Barimaba 9 years ago

not enough professionals to fill the vacancies

• Fifi Kwetey 9 years ago

There are already tens of thousands of techies without jobs so what on earth is he waffling about ?

• fiction 9 years ago

Another empty talks dis useless president ll neva learn n stop making promises whn at all ll mahama do things right in ghana everything is jst amess nw stupid pepeni no wonder u people were always relegated to de background ...

• Sam 9 years ago

(1) Great opportunity for job seekers and pensioners.
    (2) Cleanshield, Amazing new product for health solution

CLEANSHIELD, Natural Alkaline supplement from USA designed to clean inner Ossian, clear toxins in the stomach ...

• 1 Lawyer 9 years ago

The major problem with our educational system right now is the large number of young students who do not qualify to enter Senior Secondary Schools from our Junior Secondary Schools.These are the young people selling cell phon ...

• Thelma 9 years ago

This is the goof of the century.
    Polytechnics to start awarding degrees.Is it
    really degrees we need to solve our
    economic problems and propel
    developments or the quality of what is
    churned out. If its university degrees ...

• USMAN 9 years ago

We need a specific institution to offer technical and vocational education up to the PhD level. One may ask, what happened to KNUST? I tell you, KNUST has deviated from its core mandate. The engineering they offer at KNUST is ...

• Amensco 0244523451 9 years ago

Quality Toner and Ink refill at AMENSCO TECHNO SERVICES at Abeka-Fadama.
    We also sell and repair Canon and HP Printers and Copiers.
    Call 0244523451

• impromptus 9 years ago

Copy copy and copy without thinking through properly

• impromptus 9 years ago

Sack your advisers Mahama. They are as dumb as yourself. How on earth could you dream that

• USMAN. 9 years ago

He is only righting the wrongs created by our traditional university system.

• Punch(USA) 9 years ago

Why do you keep on producing graduate, when you know that they cannot find job when they finished. Mr Penpeni, think twice.

• USMAN. 9 years ago

Don't worry.If we have students who study carpentry, auto mechanics, electrical installation, fish farming, food technology, glass technology, plastic technology, etc, at the degree level from any of the proposed technical un ...

• Asem se be 9 years ago

Usman what s needed is practicals in all aspects of our education

• USMAN. 9 years ago

Our educational system does not have any technical/vocational education traditions/culture. You remember during the colonial days when our elders had to travel abroad for tertiary education majority, if not all, went in for t ...

• USMAN 9 years ago

Technical education is an option and not a graveyard for the intellectually weak. Read what the experts say. "For someone who is certain about his chosen profession, a specialized[technical or vocational] education can be the ...

• Yaw Boakye 9 years ago

USMAN, could not side you any less, the stigma induced into our educational systems by slave and colonial perpetrators, has played a greater roles in sidelining technical institutions as hub for academically and intellectual ...

• edward asamoa 9 years ago

I'm agree with you for this vision.

• Addai Sarfo Yeboah - Canada 9 years ago

I think the government is jumping the gun.As nation,we do not have adequate teachers for the move.We do not have machines.We also do not have industries to coordinate with.Our existing technical schools are already not in goo ...

• The mask 9 years ago

Lecturers in tertiary institutions must recognize the fact that students in these institution are adults. Some may be married and some may be business executives.

It has been said that many lecturers lack teaching methodol ...

• Atikopo#1 9 years ago

This Mahama guy is a foolish shiit!!

• Asem se be 9 years ago

Mahama what you are doing is theory technical education which has produced useless non performing graduates over the years. Buy a brand new car and give it to the engineering department of the KNUST to play with for a start a ...

• Keewuo-- USA 9 years ago

Who told you technical universities alone will solve youth employment. You must be kidding.

• jagadu 9 years ago

Germany has Universitats and Fachhochschules. Universitats are the universities and the Fachhochschules are the technical universities which awards technical degrees. I will advice the government of Ghana to consult the Germa ...

• MENSAH 9 years ago

NDC TALKS AND TALKS AND TALKS,BUT NO WISDOM IN IT.

It is a very good thing to convert these polytechnics unto technical universities,but we have to make sure,pertinent jobs have already been created to absorb them,after th ...

• mujaihid 9 years ago

Mr.Perez are u a fool or do u think we are politically doomed?, come on do you think converting polytechnics to tech universities will help solve unemployment? Where is the already university graduates how many jobs do they h ...

• GOD IS WATCHING 9 years ago

WHAT WILL CURB YOUTH UNEMPLOYMENT IS JOBS, JOBS.JOBS.WHAT IS THE PURPOSE AFTER POLYTECHNICS,UNIVERSITIES.PLEASE GIVE US A BREAK.CREATE JOB,AND STOP TALKING.

• Issah at India 9 years ago

Who go and sign the 10% for our oil