Bawumia outlines 10-point plan for solving unemployment

Read Comments Comments (130)

• Jeff 8 years ago

This is the kind of campaign you should b doing instead of the stupid things you been saying so far.

• Awuku Womafunu 8 years ago

Besides, some of the things Bawumia cited that need to be done, are already in place. I think he should think properly and stop following professional and desperate politicians who are out there JUST TO LOOT and boldly tell u ...

• ALEX 8 years ago

I honestly dont know why previous governments and the present government cant just do the simple thing. A country that gained independence nearly 60 years ago is still not able to have a proper identification system to determ ...

• Kwami - US 8 years ago

Alex, I guess you are in Europe, but an African born who does not even understand African development programs before moving to Europe. By your very poor assessment and understanding of African development and economy, the I ...

• KWAMI 8 years ago

AND ISLAM TO YOUR KIDS,A VOTE FOR THIS MAN IS A VOTE FOR RADICAL ISLAM O

• GOLDEN HOSPITALITY HOMES 8 years ago

A REPUTABLE HOSPITALITY HOME NEEDS
    1. EXPERIENCE ACCOUNTANT
    2. A MATRON (COOK)
    3. A MATRON ( HOUSE KEEPING)
    CHEF
    COOKS
    SECURITY GUARDS
    POTERS
    CLEANERS
    GARDNERS
    CALL;
    0322 037073
    027 443 7073
    JOB IS IN KUMASI. IN ...

• K.K 8 years ago

It is always very good having plans, which could/would guide one to build on.In this wise, coming out with such plans, Bawumia and his party Npp have than the right thing.
    Unfortunately, in Ghana the major problem is not the ...

• Kontonkyi 8 years ago

Good one there KK!. The what to do is a knowledge for most people in Ghana. The How to do it, the will to do it and the corporation from opposing parties is the problem that the people want to know how he will solve.

T ...

• Kwami - US 8 years ago

KK, policy without proper strategy: program implementation, evaluation, and monitoring; decision-making and problem-solving; contingency planning, project management and appraisal; and above all, accountability and trust, to ...

• Gods will 8 years ago

Wat do mean by he shld think properly? Av u thought properly before putting down this comment erhh? By the way wat r d things that r already in place . u see ur shameless propagandist face. Y won't u give him crdt n stop dis ...

• Nene 8 years ago

Thanks

• Zoobie-Zoobie 8 years ago

when do these ideas kick in

• Kontonkyi 8 years ago

Good observation.

• Point 8 years ago

When they read they don't understand. Reduce interest rates and you say it is text bk stuff but the common text bk you don.t understand.or u say it is already there if it is there why is it not working the problem is u don't ...

• Santaana 8 years ago

Talk is cheap! African politics for you. Talk big. Come to power. It will not work but you can always blame the previous government. why do people kill for African politicians? Because they are convinced they are stakeholders ...

• sanjay - Abu Dhabi 8 years ago

we wont vote npp again, npp is violent arrogant greedy selfish condemn and collapse party, mahama all the way

• kwame USA 8 years ago

Illiterate NDC fools always posting from their animal smelly anus.Look Bawumia is a U.S/ UK/Canadian trained economist.Do you know how much it cost to get you PhD in these country? Do u know how the education is structured? S ...

• Adu Boah 8 years ago

This is not the time to blame people but to work hand in hand to ensure that the plans developed by Dr Bawumia comes to pass. President Mahama has started and he is working around to ensure the good people of Ghana gets a bet ...

• naviscoly 8 years ago

NDC from my observations so far is being followed by the very poor who are wallowing in abject poverty. Most are ill** too.

• APONKYE 8 years ago

Bawumia is only useful to NPP for his nuisance value. But when the time comes they will dump him like they did to Aliu.

• Adu Boah 8 years ago

It is not about the understanding but its about how this policies of Dr. Bawumia will go a long way to change situations in Ghana. For all i know, President Mahama is already working on it. The question is why is President Ma ...

• Mr lartey 8 years ago

Stupid comment,dead goat

• Philip 8 years ago

The right direction

• Austin 8 years ago

Going into an e-money system is very good in formalizing our economy, but my question is why then did the NPP re-denominated the cedi in 2007. At least, it is only when people risk carrying bulk sums of money around that they ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 8 years ago

There goes Mr. Copy and paste economist.

• OBAA YAA 8 years ago

paste economist, period.
    Thank you, today you proven some of us right for what we have been writing about for a long time. Simply put “we have incompetent administration” It is easy to jot down ideas but when it comes to ...

Hahahahaha, don't like me choke uncontrollably over my own delightful laughter because it hurts. Ouch!

• Habiba 8 years ago

I wish John Mahama could have !/10th of your brain. Ghana would be relieved of hardships. The man is too dull papa. President don.t know Huuu. What a dead goat with dead brains.

• TKD 5 8 years ago

We shall be better off allowing Bawumia to be time tested for us to start comparing him with a sitting president who; if for nothing had once upon a time been a legislator, Vice President and now a president.

Verily Veril ...

• Kontonkyi 8 years ago

I feel the same way. If I could vote, I would add my vote to place these two in the highest office of the land so we can see what they can do about what he has stated.

My friend, all that he mentioned in here are nothing new or different from the NDC's with the help of the IMF, implementing right now. Bawumia, is simply a copy, polish a bit with fancy English and paste economist, period.

• wisdom 8 years ago

Ndc and its supporters have no shame.Your party is doing opposite of the ff. Which of the above is Ndc implementing,the least which is the National ID they could not complete..NDC guys please READ haba. If your party is doing ...

• Adu Boah 8 years ago

Why should the NDC supporters feel shame for the good ideas developed by Dr Bawumia. The idea or policies was the same policies developed by every sitting president of Ghana; so its not news. But what we should be thinking ab ...

• Nana Yaw 8 years ago

Be fair to yourself, which of them is working and in good shape.His plan will help the nation alot such as employment and protection to Ghanaians

• OBAA YAA 8 years ago

If all these policies from Bawumia are copy and paste from NDC with the help of IMF, then why is it no working for the country? Is it because the process of putting these decisions together or executions of these policies are ...

Copy and paste Bawumia is the gentleman who knows no shame. Policies don't come to fruition overnight, but I guess I can't convince a die hard NPPian who is neck-deep into bogus propaganda in here, can I? NPP simply has no co ...

• Adu Boah 8 years ago

NDC policies plan as u rightful said is the help from the IMF and the taxes of the good people of Ghana but the policy executed by the NDC goes a long to open employment opportunities for the youth. With the schools, more you ...

• Adu Boah 8 years ago

The plans developed by Dr Bawumina is a good plan but as to the implementation: for how long will it take the NPP to execute this plans. Ghana already policies under the Mahama administration to provide the youth job and a be ...

• TKD 5 8 years ago

These are no new things for you to think you have the absolute panacea to the unemployment issues facing the whole wide world including the first world countries and the emerging economies.

• JONES 8 years ago

Ghanaian we are funny, someone is giving you medicine to your illness and you are saying everyone has the same condition so i wont take it. USA has unemployment rate of 5%, stay here and joke. if you are dieing, dont say we a ...

• Adu Boah 8 years ago

The medicine that the doctor is giving us Ghanaian has been implemented already and we have facing the results. The policies implemented by our president Mahama is still under control and it is bringing development to the cou ...

• G. Danquah 8 years ago

Thank you Dr.Bawumia. I hope all politicians in the country will learn from you and stop abusing their political opponent.Thank you and God bless you.

Before you get carried away by this confused Dr Pinksheets, take your time to read wide and you will be surprised that he has simply repeated what Mahama and other countries are doing to move Ghana forward. His intention is t ...

• UAE 8 years ago

Stupid talk @kwame. Why can't u allow yourself to see the light a bit. What has ndc dan for som of u especially ghana in general l. Natin !!

• Adu Boah 8 years ago

Kwame is not lying but spreading the gospel truth. The purpose of Dr Bawumia policies or idea is a laudable one but such policies has been implemented not just by one president but many. President Mahama through his administr ...

• DB 8 years ago

Nonsense, would Mahama and you kind who don't read even understand what Bawumia has said? Stringing English language together and commenting on this plan does not make you any better than the illiterate foot soilders of NDC. ...

• kakabo 8 years ago

It takes vision to see vision, and without vision the people perish. We are perishing because we are being led without vision A trotro driver cannot and I repeat cannot fly a jet. This is what is happening to Ghana where tro ...

• Jew 8 years ago

How different are these your 10 points from what president Mahama and his team are doing? Typical of Ghanaian pull him down politics, only to do the same things when you win, and Ghana will never move forward.

• proud to be ashanti 8 years ago

So jew do u mean what mahama is doing wudnt send us anywhere?

• Joe Bee 8 years ago

@Jew can you please list the programmes you claim the NDC government is implementing? Some of us can only see Bus-rebranding, Wayomisation of the economy, SUBA, Dumsorition of power, tribalisation of politics, high taxation e ...

• Adu Boah 8 years ago

“the first and most important step is to increase skills training to make more Ghanaian youth employable and that is why we are empowering the Vocational and Technical Sector to provide such skills, rather than concentratin ...

• Asea Ho 8 years ago

All that Bawumia said are either ongoing or at the validation state. What is new about what he said. Even a first year university student knows this.

Are these the gurus who who want power. some of the things Bawumia liste ...

• kwasi 8 years ago

Please npp never goofed on the ID's i had mine after the transition your party refused to continue. You have been in power 8years please you could have finish it.

• Authentic 8 years ago

Theory is easy to write in Ghana than practicals,these are good points no doubt about it,but remember Bawumia will not get the political will to implement this good points he is raising today in case NPP assumes power in 2017 ...

• Jew 8 years ago

Don't mind Dr Pinksheets. He needs to get a job with his PhD in economics, to feed his family, and stop following this confused 3rd class degree in economics who is well known as an all die be die certificateles lawyer.

• kwame USA 8 years ago

Illiterate JEW .You NDC motherfuckers who don'tread articles and presentations n always posting from their smelly anus.Bunch of mass illiterates in NDC .FOOL ENEMIES OF THE STATE.BITCHES.

• PARKA 8 years ago

WHEN THEY ARE IN OPPOSITION. WHEN THEY COME TO POWER THEN, THEY WON'T EVEN REMEMBER ALL THESE 10 LIARS.TYPICAL NPP, THEY CAN SOLVE EVERY PROBLEM IN GHANA WHEN THEY ARE IN OPPOSITION. LET ME TELL YOU. WEATHER HE SCHOOLED EVEN ...

• PARKA 8 years ago

WHEN THEY ARE IN OPPOSITION. WHEN THEY COME TO POWER THEN, THEY WON'T EVEN REMEMBER ALL THESE 10 LIARS.TYPICAL NPP, THEY CAN SOLVE EVERY PROBLEM IN GHANA WHEN THEY ARE IN OPPOSITION. LET ME TELL YOU. WEATHER HE SCHOOLED EVEN ...

• Adu Boah 8 years ago

Government had also introduced the Young Enterprise Programme where the youth would be trained to gain employable skills that would empower them to develop enterprises to employ others to reduce the unemployment rate.

• Efo Kwaawaaku Canada 8 years ago

Theory you said? But npp was able to implement national health insurance with wisdom, all what Dr Bawumia is saying here can be implemented by wisdom, ndc criminals have no wisdom to do this plans

• OPANINPA 8 years ago

DON'T MIND BAWUMIA. NPP WILL GO OUT TO GET FOREIGNERS TO DO THE JOBS.

• Kofi kuma 8 years ago

This is a guy Ghana needs to develop the Country. He has outlined the 10 points plan in solving the unemployment in the country. A word to a wise is enough.

• Sir miller 8 years ago

This are bold policy that can lead to real gains in terms of job creation for the youth

• Citizen Ghana 8 years ago

There is everything new in what Dr. Bawumia is saying. if you doubt, ask yourself what has become of Our National ID since NDC took over? just one example for u.

• GIVE ME MY BALLOT PAPER 8 years ago

Meanwhile in other news John Dramani Mahama's NDC gov't cannot find the whereabouts of a colossal $84million dollars of petroleum funds as reported in the GEITI report.
    Of the points enumerated by Alhaji Dr. Bawumia, can we ...

• Adu Boah 8 years ago

The President understands that although government was within the international debt management standards , steps would be made to make judicious use of all loans to invest in economic ventures that could create new growth po ...

• GIVE ME MY BALLOT PAPER 8 years ago

Conventionally, when your debt overhang exceeds the margin of 60-70% of GDP, then you are in a very high state of debt distress. Now this situation, coupled with a borrow to loot mentality, which has seen just about a little ...

• Jay+++++++++++++London 8 years ago

With NDC ignorants not even Jesus can open their eyes and MIND.

I mean these NDC folks are SO THICK you can REASON WITH THEM and in there lies Ghana's Problems. Few iNTELLIGENT people dealing with more IGNORANTS.

• Joseph ganyobi 8 years ago

THE ONLY THING YOU HAVE IN MIND IS TO INTRODUCED ARABIC TEACHING INTO OUR SCHOOLS.....THE MOST STUPID PEOPLE UNCIVILIZED ON THE FACE OF THIS EARTH ARE THE ARABS ....BAWUMIA GHANAIANS THOUGHT YOU WERE CIVILISED.

• Bash, 8 years ago

Oh Dr, this brainless incompetent NDC will steal your plans oo because they know nothing so stop.

• Kojo Morovia 8 years ago

See how some people are flabbergasted over Bawumia's O'Level copied answers. NPP people are clapping because all they know is 'sudee' and polish and drumming on boxes with brushes. aboniifo party.

• kwame USA 8 years ago

Stupid NDC animals.Bawumia is an intelligent U.S/ UK/ Canadian economist.PhD in economics.You illiterate NDC fools just insulting and posting from your brainless heads.

Have you read O'Level Economics before? I bet you don't even know what the O' Levels exam is. You see your folly and how brainless you are.? Do you know what Standard 7 is? Kwasiabi ba!

• Adu Boah 8 years ago

The President said he has neither forgotten his promise to the people of Ghana when he was sworn in nor lost his ability to listen. He is definitely going to honor his works and ensure that the unemployment rate in the countr ...

• PARKA 8 years ago

IF EVEN HE SCHOOLED IN WHITE HOUSE IN AMERICA, ABOUT 98% AFRICAN POLITICIANS SCHOOLED IN ALL THESE COUNTRIES YET LOOK AT AFRICA. HUMAN BEINGS ARE GULLIBLE ANYWAY.

• Moo 8 years ago

don't for get your npp needs more than 10-point to come together. anyway you are the course of all this in the party. so please solve that if you are a real brainer. don't wary, come 7 November 2016 you will be no more becaus ...

• Links 8 years ago

My only problem is, the African politician can outline all the fine policies and programmes. After winning the power will do the direct opposite.

• Nana Yaw 8 years ago

If we don't listen and learn from this intelligent man (Dr Bawumia) Ghana will not development. His plan will develop the nation.

• Kanawu III 8 years ago

Dr. Bawumia where have you been all along with your brilliant ideas.
    Please help save Ghana now from NDC

• Adu Boah 8 years ago

Presidnt Mahama admitted the nation has been hit by “several obstacles and challenges” some of which are still being resolved.
    He urged Ghanaians to work together with him for a prosperous nation.

• Joe 8 years ago

He should be the leader of the country and we would some have light at he end of the channel.

• duodu in Düsseldorf . 8 years ago

This is the kind of talk we always hear when economists want to be elected. Even if we stop all the corruption, stealing and waste of public money Ghana will not have a fraction of the money needed to pay for Bawumias plan. ...

• Nuhu 8 years ago

Dr god bless u for good work keep riding, The brainless ndc government n it flowers has nothing good to tell ghanaians their profession is insult

• Ohene 8 years ago

Go to the zongo communities in wa and count all houses, give them post codes. Rewrite birth certificates, ID them and put on national database.

Easy talk is cheap. Were you not a deputy gorvernor that helped Ghana colaps ...

• Joe Bee 8 years ago

@Ohene, please don't let the task ahead put you off. Who says cocoa farming is easy? It isn't but it takes vision, Knowledge, courage, wisdom, maturity, resilience and will power to implement any sound idea. Let's give NPP a ...

• walewale daana 8 years ago

All knowing Dr.Mahamudu bawumia the one who brought economics in the world. Dr Adam smith. have u ever contested an assembly elections in walewale? u refer to someone who has been a member of parliament for good twelve years ...

• Nana Yaw 8 years ago

Hmmm Talk is cheap ooo. We have almost all what he is addressing in our laws but who is willng to implement them? We hope he comes to power to implement them because we can't site one acheivment of Dr Bawumiah when he was the ...

• KOJO MENSAH 8 years ago

Bawumia has nothing new for Ghana. It is the same old story.

• NPP go lose AGAIN!!!!! 8 years ago

CHAI CHAI ALL THESE MENTIONED PLANS OR IDEAS OR WHATEVER DEY GOOGLE INSIDE PEPEPEPEPEPEPEPEPEPE,TWEAAAAAA SHALLOW MINDED ECONOMICS COME AGAIN

Stop,stop,stop,you are too much.The Idiots will pick and will not make reference to you.They have failed in cocoa mass spraying,nhis,sada ,and others.Bawumia,no ap) again.

• kaketonti 8 years ago

OUT OF TEN (10) REGIONS NPP WON TWO (2).GHANA STILL HOPING TO SEE THE 10% OF THE BLOATED VOLTA REGISTER,SORRY VOTER REGISTER. FUNNY, BAWUMIA SIMPLY WANTS TEN %(10%) ON EVERY CONTRACT HE WILL SIGN.

• Ga Mants3 8 years ago

None of dese tinz makes sense to me.seriously..Hv u tested it in ur party??...think b4 coming out wid beta plans..ds is needlesssssssssssss

• Ga Mants3 8 years ago

I was der when he was talking..U noe wht???.. What ds man said was made known to us when we were in Level Hundred..i mean all d tinz he said..U call ds Man an economist..am Even Beta dan him

• Ford 8 years ago

Dr Bawumia is 100% right on the first point. I have raised this issue with friend over and over without success.
    Personal addresses and identification are crucial for any meaningful development.
    That means, post and parcel ...

• Kpadzi......Keta Volta Region 8 years ago

Under Ndc....
    Teachers not paid for 5months
    Nurses not paid for 8months
    Teachers allowance cancelled
    Oil money missing
    High cocaine cases
    Judges collecting bribe
    Mahamas brothers aircraft full of money seized in lran ...

• TomTom 8 years ago

Good point, Kpadzi! But you need to remember that all these were concealed under previous government. In opinion, kudos to Mahama for exposing these criminals. Anyway, on Bawumia's ideas - nice essay, but, talk is cheap!

• Eric 8 years ago

This is what we need to turn around the worsening economy and living conditions of Ghanaians. NPP all the way in November 2016.

• Dangoro 8 years ago

Big grammer

• Dessie 8 years ago

non-sense article::these are the solution to job creation;creating data infrastructure system and and avoiding "cash and carry system" are part of job creation..

• Frenchman 8 years ago

Rediculous Bawumia, you are a shame to your origin. Northeners are normaly honest people with dignity and not liars without redicul or are you being used or manipulated?.Comme on get the hell out of that and save what is left ...

• Kwame Attah 8 years ago

The doctor would have been wrong if we had all that he mentioned in place and we are still not developed.But as it were, we do not have them and our nation is sinking.We are witnesses to several moves by the ruling governme ...

• Jay 8 years ago

Is this an angelic vision or one of the cheap slogans of the desperadoes. Baumia you are in the wrong house full of deception and lies. We you in this country for all this while and this so called points evaded you? And now t ...

• Asante 8 years ago

too academic

• Omanba Kwame 8 years ago

What a brilliant man,with rich focus,but not kookoase mentality.
    Any body that loves Ghana will yearn for these visions.On the other hand,stupid nation wreckers WI'll criticize,but have nothing close to contribute.
    Do we ...

• Kaywuo 8 years ago

In Ghana we know our problems. We start talking about our problems and challenges in the high school.Even class one pupil can enumerate our problems. The big beef is the leadership and implementation pieces.

• Francis 8 years ago

Master,all those things are in place or you are dreaming example identification authority card is there.please come again.

• Koo Nimo 8 years ago

Sir, with all due respect these ideas are noble but not achievable in next ten years. we don't have the job creation architecture to make it happen. first, we need an educational system that is efficient and effective to trai ...

• Joe 8 years ago

Bawumiah is the most sort for politician in Ghana today and even the NDC will admit it. This is a free lecture for Mahama but try will not even listen to it let alone implement it because the blue print is not from them. Same ...

• lee 8 years ago

speaking shit is very simple! !! joker

• Paa Joe 8 years ago

WHAT KIND OF PRODUCTION IS HE TALKING ABOUT.

WHY DID HE FAIL TO POINT ON THE KEY PILLARS OF INDUSTRIALIZATION-

THE USE OF TECHNOLOGY,SCIENTIFIC INNOVATION, INVENTION, DISCOVERY AND CREATIVITY ARE ABSENCE FROM THE PUBLIC ...

• Joe Longchamp 8 years ago

Dr Bawumia knows how to punch intelligently

• ASSEM 8 years ago

DR MAHAMADU BAWUMIAH, I DUFF MY HART TO YOU FOR OUTLINING YOUR VISION ON JOB CREATION. THIS IS WHAT THE VARIOUS POLITICAL PARTIES SHOULD BE DOING. WE NOW KNOW WHAT YOU ARE MADE OF AND WHAT YOUR VISION IS.
    WE AS GHANAIANS SH ...

• u s k 8 years ago

Why didn't you do this when you were in ? Shame unto you Mr man..go way you over there...

• pp 8 years ago

that 10-point plan will be 100 plan if they should give they come to power.

• brunho ashes 8 years ago

this is nothin new ofcourse it is easier said than done.Economic student who have finish the tertiary institution know those basic principles but the quesion is how will this principles be impl ...

• Chris 8 years ago

He doesn't know anything always predict ..your bad proposal of redinomination of our cedi..that is why we are in this mess.. Shout up mr man you don't have anything good for Ghanaians

• Nelson 8 years ago

abt unemployment is very essential part to be discussed ,to come out with a tactical solution.

• Yaa 8 years ago

May God give you the mandate to work and achieve these ambitions for Ghana so we can see our country move forward again.

• Nana Chere .Bk 8 years ago

warning,NDC dont steal the plans of the NPP again. They have no plans and vision for GH.Dr Bawumia.Allah go bless you.
    NDC u are out Nov 7

• joe 8 years ago

Bawumia should solved the problems in they party first. The good people of Ghana will not entrust our Beloved Ghana to Akufo-Addo & Bawumia. May God Forbid. Long live Ghana.

• Whatever 8 years ago

I want to be fair to everyone so I won't comment

• Sankofa 8 years ago

'critical keys to creating an economy of jobs which Dr. Bawumia explained were increased infrastructure investment to match growth in economy'

Is this not exactly what this administration is doing? Is this not the same Baw ...

• kojo botsio 8 years ago

I have wondered why NDC supporters always use tribal words in their statement and turn around calling npp tribal party

• JM 8 years ago

WHILE IN POWER WHAT DID YOU EVIL npp DO .NPP RULE THIS COUNTRY BEFORE, WHAT BEST AND EMPLOMENT YOU HAVE TO POINT OUT. LOTING OF GOV.PLOTS AND SELLING DRILL SHIP TO PAY WORKERS ?

• Afrikikoman--Abiding in Salvation per 8 years ago

What we need is customise to track activities. Any government is already formalised and the words are not the same. We various ministries and you are telling me we are not formalised? Some degree holders, they can read, not t ...

Upon all the noise see what you are suggesting. Ordinary and basic economic theories. Copy and paste and go to sleep solutions. I said it before that you were a TWERP. Is that what you would have said in a debate?

• Kojo Poku Canada 8 years ago

Ssnjay, what kind of person are u?do u have brains at all? You may not like NPP,.but don't underestimate the interlectualls in the party. Dr Busia did it in 1969,Pres.Kuffuor did it in 2000 and Nana with Dr
    Bawumiah in charg ...

• pk 8 years ago

Hope roads and transport network, energy, water and sanitation will be secured first. These would make all good plans flourish

• Mr lartey 8 years ago

Excellent there doctor, inaabo po

• Yelkoang Lawrence Namps 8 years ago

hehehe ! Bawumia? anyway your points are laudable. can you proof before we the voters how you are going to put this measures in place ? did you join NPP today or yesterday when it was in powe? were these ideas not there when ...