Scrap Council of State – Bentil to Akufo-Addo

Read Comments Comments (86)

• Dickson 7 years ago

Well thought unecessary , all this is a drain to our national coffers

• AYITEY France (Ga Mantse Claimant) 7 years ago

WHY DIDN'T IMANI ASK JOHN MAHAMA TO SCRAP THE COUNCIL OF STATE? ALLOW NANA TO ENJOY CERTAIN PRIVILEGES. I BOUGHT MY CHEATING WOMAN A RANGE ROVER.....WHY SHOULD I BUY MY FAITHFUL NEW WOMAN A KANTANKA?
    A WISE PRESIDENT WILL MA ...

• Son of man 7 years ago

The council of state has no place in Ghana politics. What do they even do, nothing! It is a drain on resources. There are Presidential advisors therefore the council is a duplicate body with no real impactful function in Ghan ...

• Ipso Facto 7 years ago

Why do you call this an incentive. The council of state has no use. Let them scrap it

• OBINALO 7 years ago

THE COUNCIL OF STATE HAS OVERSTAYED IT USEFULNESS. I SUPPOSED THEY ARE PAID A WHOOPING SUMS OF MONEY. DOES USA HAVE A COUNCIL OF STATE?

PLEASE, LETS SCRAP IT. IT IS A DRAIN ON OUR FINANCES.

• Ernest 7 years ago

Useless loudmouth npp think tanks with babies-with-no-teeth as heads. I hope they won't enshell like snails when the REAL npp take over on 7th.

• Ghanaman 7 years ago

We need to get figures to see how much financial resources we spend on this council annually.
    That will help us to see if really there is value in that council at all by comparing it to their contribution to the state and g ...

• Kkd 7 years ago

This is complete nonsense. Who do these Imani guys think they are? Even in our family system we have elders who play similar roles as the counsel of state. Whiles other think tanks in the west are using their time profitabl ...

• Gye Nyame 7 years ago

There is a lot of fat that can be trimmed off some of the requirements in the constitution. I wonder what the council contributed to the Mahama government. We need a lean working group of thinkers and not filling positions fo ...

• AYISAM 7 years ago

Counsel of state role could be effectively played by paramount Chiefs from each region and supported by technocrats when the need arises.Ater all they are custodians of the land but surprising they have been relegated to t ...

• Xxx 7 years ago

Bro you are on point.....

• Gbortsu 1 7 years ago

Council of State is constitutional.

Article 71 was spearhead by Kuffour. Kuffour benefited with many brand new cars, a house etc. But because it is time for Mahama to enjoy the same benefits, people are complaining?

Ou ...

• Hassan 7 years ago

If they are good everybody will support it. If they are good enough i bet Mahama government would have survived. They are there only to get their money and benefits. USELESS CS. Its no good no good NOOOO GGOOOODDD. These grou ...

• Aduanaba 7 years ago

Ghana is practising the pure system of western style democracy, and not a hybrid of the traditional and western system of democracy. Hence, the suggestion to scrap the Council of State construct makes sense. The construct is ...

• Osei Wusu 7 years ago

Kkd or whatever your name is. You need to talk constructively and practically. What advice can these greedy, idiots and bustards give the president that the cabinet cannot? You need to come for education about how government ...

• Kasavubu 7 years ago

I like your stand on this. However, your example of elders in a family set up does not go with the position of Council of State members in our body polity.
    With the family elders, their admonitions, pieces of advice and dire ...

• Omanba Kwame 7 years ago

The adage is:Wonni opanin a due!Therefore,let's elect fresh brains, incorporating diversities like Paa Kwesi Ndoum,Hon Kofi Annan,Hamid Amid and the likes.
    But,make sure likes of Kwesi Pratt are not near,but LOCKED UP !!

• Peniz Chopper 7 years ago

These IMANI idiots must come again. The creation of the Council of State is mandated by the constitution and no one in his right sense should ask for a presidential fiat to change that. Instead of these unnecessary demands, t ...

• JOHN 7 years ago

THEY JUST CANT WAIT TILL DEC 7TH. THEY'VE BEEN DEPRIVED OF THEIR COCAINE BUSINESS FOR TOO LONG. I WILL ADVICE THEM TO SHIP ALL THEIR COCAINE TO LONDON. BECAUSE OF THAT IDIOT JON BENJAMIN WHO SECRETLY SUPPORTS COCAINE BIN ADDI ...

• Citizen 7 years ago

What an idiotic John?

• Kasavubu 7 years ago

l like your post...they can't wait to start the cocaine business...l have the list:
    1.Nayele Ametepe is an NPP Card bearer. The High Commissioner who was ready to assist her getaway was Hackman Owusu Agyemang.
    2. Ruby Bouch ...

• Obourba 7 years ago

It is, I will advise not I WILL ADVICE.

• Kimathi 7 years ago

Your ignorance is astounding! For your information IMANI proposed that the NPP uses its majority in Parliament to push this through. The Constitution can be amended easily by Parliament where the provision in question is not ...

Waaaaa look. Another "educated" idiot. Reasons why Ghana is like this. Go read the constitution.. imbecile

• Aduanaba 7 years ago

The constitution is a living document, as a consequence; none of the provisions in the constitution is set in stone. They are all subject to change if there is consensus for a change.

• Fordwo A. 7 years ago

i SUPPORT 100%. THEY ARE THERE TO SUPPORT THE PRESENT PRESIDENT WHETHER HE IS DOING GOOD OR BAD,Take it out. It is useless and draining money for nothing. Scrap council of state now.

• Atta 7 years ago

Council of state should be trimmed down to about 5 to 8 persons. 2 who are either former chief justice, former IGP, former defence staff etc. 1 chief & 2 to 4 prominent Ghanaians appointed by the President

• Nana Atakora Sikahene 7 years ago

Where were the council of state when JDM went and brought terrorists into our country? Where were they when wayome was paid for no job done? Were they not in Ghana when babies with sharp teeth were insulting everyone includin ...

• cuuh!. 7 years ago

Good idea but can u allow Nana to use his own judgement to implement his policies. I dont see any wisdom in our chiefs. Forget abt them. They cant be among de council of state.

• zombie police 7 years ago

Ms.Cecilia Johnson as head of the council of State ,Ms.Ama Benewa Doe to mention a few,what advice did they give apart from the released of the montei troi and the injury time appointments by Mahama .That Council have no rel ...

• KPODO PHILIPS 7 years ago

It's one of the most useless organs of the nation. Absolute useless individuals who have no love for the country but their pockets. That's why they supped the thief mahama to destroy our country. They are part of the thievery ...

• nana asenso 7 years ago

"In consultation with council of state".Really? So President Mahama did all these by consulting them, all these last minute appointments? Then I think the incoming president should consult them before appointing ministers els ...

• OKOROMANSA 7 years ago

I SUPPORT MR. KOFI BENTIL 200%. THE COUNCIL OF STATE IS A DRAIN, IT IS BIASED, AND IT IS NON-PERFORMING. THEN AFTER DOING THAT, NANA SHOULD ALSO DISSOLVE THE NATIONAL PEACE COUNCIL, WHICH IS ALSO BIASED, NON-PERFORMING AND A ...

• Martin Kwakwa 7 years ago

I have always been hoping that the Council of State will be scrapped. It's an unelected body in a democracy. Which democratic country has a similar body? None. The President's top advisory body is the cabinet. Why should the ...

• Kwame Osei- Boateng 7 years ago

Who can state ONE ADVICE that the Council of State gave to Kuffuior or Mahama or Atta Mills or J.J.Rawlings to stop the sordid corruption and gross mismanagement in this nation called GHANA.Nana,please abolish it.Does it make ...

Thanks Kofi Bentil, you are not Kofi for nothing. The Council of State has become a Council of Stooges. It is the most useless institution established by the Rawlings Constitution.

• Jacob Wilson 7 years ago

Good suggestion. They are just rubber stamps. It must be abolished immediately.

• KUTRIKU 7 years ago

THIS NEEDS TO BE REVIEWED AS WELL AS PARTS OF THE CONSTITUTION WHICH WERE MADE SPECIFICALLY TO FAVOR RAWLINGS AND IF THEY HAVE LIVED THEIR USEFULNESS OR DEEMED IRRELEVAND BE SCRAPPED.

• KO 7 years ago

The council of state needs to be scrapped but Prez Akuffo Addo cant do that except the whole constitution os reviewed. There are a lot of changes that is needed, a cap on the number of ministers and MPs and Supreme court Just ...

• jimmy canada 7 years ago

thats a good idea its a useless organization

• Yellow man 7 years ago

I don't think the counsel of state should be abolished but rather reduced in number.These people who are appointed should be people with great respect and love for the country.They shouldn't necessarily be technocrats but peo ...

• Nii 7 years ago

Have all state bodies failed?Akuffo Addo must be wary of these loudmouths who are having problems with almost all state bodies that operate under the present constitution. The country is not in crisis to warrant these talkert ...

• Komfo kesi3 7 years ago

I feel we should not use the performance of council under John Mahama, where it became a rubber stamp of the president's irresponsible actions, to scrap it. I agree with the frustration most people feel about shameful decisio ...

• BRIGHT BOADU 7 years ago

MR. IMANI , YOUR SUGGESTION ON THE ABOLITION OF COUNCIL OF STATE IS LAUDABLE.

• Fine boy 7 years ago

Seriously most advise from concil of state to the president was unreasonable. Especially the motie 3 criminals case and many more. They are not helping the country and anyway.

• ABOLISH 7 years ago

THE COUNCIL OF STATE IS A USELESS ENTITY WHICH MUST BE ABOLISHED

• Kojo 7 years ago

The council of state is a provision under the Constitution. Akuffo Addo cannot get rid of it, unless through a referendum and decision by the citizens.

Some of you NPP twerps think that wining an election means Ghana belon ...

• Amoat 7 years ago

Yes Mr you are exactly right thi councl of state is just missusing our limited resources. Therefore it should be scraped

• Joey Boy 7 years ago

A good suggestion, but do you think Nana Addo will attempt doing it? This is one legal means through which any President would want to reward his gallant "dead horses."

• John L 7 years ago

Well what of Parliament we don't need that either, let give the powers to the President and his team to make the decision, how many hospitals can we equip in a month? Think of how much we can save, full time democracy is too ...

• semantical 7 years ago

yea.sir u hv made my day.some of us hv bn calling 4 long long ago.it has bn a total waste in recent yrs especially in d past 8 yrs.it was just a total mess.

• JOE HANSON,MIAMI,FLO. 7 years ago

UTTER NONESENSE BY KKD.BENTIL,S REQUEST TO SCRAP THE COUNCIL OF STATE WAS FOR ECONOMIC REASONS-MONEY AND I FELT BENTIL WAS RIGHT SINCE THAT "FAT"COW HAS NO AUTHORITY OR INFLUENCE WHATSOEVER ON NATIONAL POLICIES.
    KKD,DO U PAY ...

• semantical 7 years ago

it is 1 institution which if continue 2 exist n exist d way it has existed in d last 8 yrs nana is very likely 2 loose my vote.

• paul Kwao 7 years ago

Stupid Bentil don't you have elders in your home?

• Afoko samuel 7 years ago

Theses people think Ghana Is for them. u said same thing about EC. U have problems with everything.u can use ur majority to even suspended the entire constitution. foolish fools

• Yussif 7 years ago

It so unfortunate that the well though through establishment like the council of state has been so much abused that this current members performance is so useless that many now believe it should be abolish,i agree that it sho ...

• Jim 7 years ago

I think this idiot Kofi Bentil is underestimating the role of that institution hence taking the peace in the country for granted.

If he advocates for a reduction in the number to save some money, that is fine but not to sc ...

• Aduanaba 7 years ago

The constitution does not prescribe a security role for the Council of State. It's role is primarily advisory to sitting Presidents. Scraping an institution that is mostly dormant would have no impact on national security or ...

• kobina 7 years ago

Thumbs up well said.

• Theo Codjoe. Maryland 7 years ago

I agree that the revisited Constitution amendment project should take in the Council of State issue .Its existence in our laws goes against all the tenets of democracy: it cannot be held accountable, it's deliberations are no ...

• KB 7 years ago

Sincerely, IF that part of the constitution that establishes the Council of State is not entrenched, then it should be immediately SCRAPED off.

From where I sit it cost Ghanaians at least GHC 5m to keep this USELESS body i ...

• Mr concern, 7 years ago

We all need advicers or elders at times in life,it should stay,but my thing is,should not be only party functionaries who sitting gov't try to indirectly say thank you for campainig,you see colonial heardteachers with their ...

• Bienu yie 7 years ago

It's complete useless. What benefit has accrued to Ghana for their continued existence ? Were they not there while contracts have been inflated, Woyome, SADA, SUBA and more recently midnight appointments occurred ? Scrap it a ...

• Kofi ANTHONY 7 years ago

Scrap it and give their role to National House of Chief.

• obi 7 years ago

yes they should be scrap just there taking state money

• cactus 7 years ago

if going the IMF way, is partly the advise of the council of state and partly parliamentary approval, this institutions are really ugly and must reshaped. because any country that goes to IMF is bound to have serious economic ...

• nana addo 7 years ago

Why don't you start with abolishing the chieftaincy institution.
    Useless think tank.

• SANKOFA 7 years ago

Kwasia Ghanaian leaders. It's not only the council of state draininng poor old Ghana. There are many orther useless antiquated quasi autonomous institutions draining Ghana till it drops dead. Ghana fucking politicians are awa ...

• Kwaku Frimpong Owusup 7 years ago

I doubt if we have council of state in Ghana.Or they are there to satisfy the constitution or they are there to sing the masters voice?.I think the Ghanaian council of state members are there to sing the masters voice.Where w ...

• eddy asanco 7 years ago

i completely agree with mr Bentil. this body is useless in this age.

The council of state is just a useless organ in the society. Of late it had been the appendage of the sitting governments and does not sever independently from governments and should be scrapped.

• Man 7 years ago

GOOD ADVISE ,THEY ARE PAID AND WAIST OF CASH.

• Tyga Eye 7 years ago

I partly share in Mr.Bentil's take on the council of state bt rather think he sounded a little harsh.I only believe their emoluments shd b reviewed to suit the country's economic standing.

• Luke Dery 7 years ago

It is absolutely useless. We do not need council state no relevance

• Luke Dery 7 years ago

It is useless and should be scrapped. No relevance what do they do nothing. It is too much of a drain on our economy. How on earth can elderly advisors be on salary, given vehicles plus running cost etc, etc. We are joking

• Obese 7 years ago

In my Candid opinion I think call the to scrap the council of state is highly unnecessary. Even in our traditional settings Chiefs have elders whose responsibility is to give advice. To say it's expensive is just like saying ...

• Obese 7 years ago

Schzosphrinic Bastard child

• Ghanaman THE REAL 7 years ago

At least, Mr Bentil even if it is to be maintained, then I suggest that the membership should be reduced drastically by abolishing the 11 appointed by the President and the Regional representatives since nobody knows how thes ...

• JH New York 7 years ago

When they get the Chance to Draft the Constitution,they Craft it to benefit themselves!.What work do the Members of the Council of State do to get paid,either than the President Rubber Stamp.I think the ff suggestions is appr ...

• Mr concern, 7 years ago

"Scrap chieftaincy,scrap council of state,scrap ex-gratia,"I dont know what will remain at the end of the day in Ghana ,lf we think these are some problems what concrete solotions are we providing or provided,as concerned Gha ...

• Why? 7 years ago

It is a useful state institution. The only problem is that most of its members tend to do the bidding of the government in power. They do not advice based on truth and honesty. Many even represent the President reading politi ...

• adarkwah, sunyani 7 years ago

Sir you have said it all. I am for you 100 percent. That institution is useless and must be scraped immediately.

• Akokraba Akwasi Adu Acheampong 7 years ago

Mr Bentil may almighty God bless u Ghana needs people like u bravo

• Akokraba Akwasi Adu Acheampong 7 years ago

Cancel of state is no more important in our democracy today

• brain rejuvinater 7 years ago

NPP cohort IMANI, go ahead to prescribe to your pay master and if they will abide by it, is up you. Konogo kaya, it is not surprised you are talking with loud mouth. Assailants.

• ex-cpl atia naagode 7 years ago

Just abolish this Council of State system.Its of no use and a drai to the national economy.