40-year dev’t plan apt – Lecturer disagrees with Osafo-Marfo

Read Comments Comments (37)

• Ohene 7 years ago

We need a nitch 10 year plan than 40 year old one. On the many 5 -10 year plans we have drafted, which of them was achieved completely? Let alone 40 years.

• freedy B. 7 years ago

SAFO IS ONLY LOOKING FOR WAYS TO STEAL STATE FUNDS:

• Gye Nyame 7 years ago

40 year plan makes no sense, China is not a good example -- look at how long it has taken China to get to where they are today. China still lags behind the Western countries.

• Omama 7 years ago

The UP ridiculed Nkrumah's 5 year development plans. It is not surprising Maafo can't think far.

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

I PUT THE BLAME SQUARELY ON THE NATIONAL ACCREDITATION BOARD FOR GRANTING LICENSE TO THESE BELOW PAR DEGREE COLLEGES WHO INTURN HIRE HALF BAKED PROFESSIONALS AS LECTURERS. NO WONDER MOST OF THE GRADUATES CHURNED OUT TURN OUT ...

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

SO MAHAMA & CO WENT TO SENCHI TO EAT, DRINK AND SLEEP ONLY TO COME OUT WITH 40 YEAR PLAN WHICH WILL SEE GHANA MANUFACTURING CARS IN 40 YEARS TIME. WHAT IF A NEW TECHNOLOGY COMES OUT IN 10 YEARS TIME WHERE AN COMPUTERISED BACK ...

• CHAMPION ATTA 7 years ago

THESE ARE THE SO CALLED "WE HAVE THEM" BY THE TIME THEY GO OUT OF POWER AFTER, 48 YEARS, SO SAYS ON NPP SUPPORTER OUR CHILDREN'S CHILDREN WILL STILL BE WALLOWINH IN DUMSOR! CHAIRMAN MAO OF CHINA HAS A 50 YEARS DEVELOPMENT PLA ...

• Citizen 7 years ago

That's the beauty of democracy. One person likes a 40-year plan with 5-year rolling budgets whiles another person thinks he's comfortable a a 10-year plan. Each strategy has its pros and cons and never means one is right and ...

• Fur/Coat Asiedua Nketia 7 years ago

Afro China analyst! This is funny. He looks like another baby with sharp teeth.

• Loko 7 years ago

He is another booklong pundit!

Is China's system of "hijacked-government" the kind of system we have in Ghana?

Pathetic attention-pimp!

• freedy B. 7 years ago

HE IS OLD TIME THIEF UNDER KUFOUR REGIMEE

• KWASI IN EUROPE 7 years ago

This lecturer just wants to be famous for nothing. With this garguantuan inflation that collapses businesses everyday you cannot even have a 5 year plan. China, Germany, USA can have 1000- year plans because they have stable ...

• Senior citizen.BS Germany. 7 years ago

I support Mr Yaw Osafo Marfo with the 10 year development plan as suggested,because of the exigencies of the world economies.We are not on an Island of our own,and since we depend by and large,on the world economies we need t ...

• Mahama Deadgoat 7 years ago

Mr Lecturer if you had done your research well, you would have realized that China has believed in one Ideology ever since, and that is why they could have a 100-year development plan. This 40 year plan could only be feasible ...

China is a one party state so why the comparison.

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

NOT LESS THAN 30 YEARS AGO THE USE OF COMPUTERS AND LEARNING OF FOREIGN LANGUAGES WAS BANNED IN CHINA. THEY REALISED THEY WERE FALLING BEHIND JAPAN & SOUTH KOREA IN TERMS OF ECONOMIC PROGRESS SO THEY CHANGED STRATEGY. THEY LU ...

• BUILD MORE PRISONS 7 years ago

ITS GOOD HAVE A PLAN.
    IVORY COAST HAS A PLAN.

IN 1976 THEY COULD SHOW YOU EXACTLY WHERE THE WANTED TO BE AND GRADUALLY THAY ARE GETTING THERE.

They know where all ghe infrastructure are going to be and they are enforc ...

• Odikro Mununkum 7 years ago

Funny, always comparison to other nations. Mahama and his NDC thought they were going to rule forever. Nana must roll his dice now for his goals in rescuing the standard of living.

• atwei 7 years ago

What Osafo Marfo said needs to be looked at again by Ghanaians. The long term plans are blueprints into which short term and medium term plans are fitted. These therefore serve as guidelines which every goverment would be g ...

• kwaku Stuttgart 7 years ago

He is old and want to chop fast. The future is for him not interested. He will not plant cocoa but tomatoes. He can harvest before he dies. So for a 40yrs walaihi he will not think far

• Prof. Seth A-O, USA 7 years ago

The professor is wrong. China has a 100-year Communist party Vision. Within the vision, China has always focused on a series of 5-year development plans. Ghana can have a 40-year vision within which it can focus on a series o ...

• Obialeke 7 years ago

Massa, you just repeating what lecturer has said. The lecturer is right. a 40yr plan is basically the framework upon which medium and short term plans can be developed.

• OBREMPONG NY NY 7 years ago

DR Kwame Nkrumah said SELF GOVERNING NOW
    (S.G.N) in the early 1940s, while J.B. Danquah said
    SELF GOVERNING FUTURE. Do you see how long it took KWAME to obtain independence for Ghana .
    For aggressive development 40 yea ...

No! 40 yr dev't plan? I laughed! Even past gov't projections were not met due to rampant dynamism of the environment. In an environment where exchange rates not stable, inflation keeps raising, frequent borrowing with its att ...

• Bitter Truth Pill 7 years ago

China cam have a 100 year development plan because they will not have democratic elections all through the period. Does he not know that China is a one party state like Nkrumah's Ghana in the 1960s. So what does this China ex ...

• Amen 7 years ago

Is ghana a global power?

• Ekow Samuel. 7 years ago

The 40 years plan of devolopment is a realy good and the fact is how the plan is adopted it gives a carring of any party whom will be win to continue the projects which is alreasy plan to be ahearding so it is very nescessary ...

• KONKONSA 7 years ago

Just shut it! Do you have to comment on issues which are clearly beyond your depth simply because you have access to the internet? Waa hwe brofo bi a wu twere. Dien nyansa na ewo mu? You will say educated folk are arrogant bu ...

• NYC 7 years ago

To plan for 20 years in this century shows a fundamental lack of understanding of what world we live in. Whether plans are realized or not depend a lot on variables outside of the control of the planner. In the 18th century m ...

• ADAMU BAWA 7 years ago

There are a lot of these lecturers who have become parrots on radio. They speak to ideas that are not in their fields!

• Ahmed@Assin Foso 7 years ago

The maafos are thieves and bully.
    Sarfo maafo and his family members are liars and crook. They think that they can use their money and power to bully people and take what doesn't belong to them. Everybody in Ghana here know ...

• Cool 7 years ago

SUCH SHORT SIGHTED ARROGANT FOOLS

• Kwame Boateng 7 years ago

Let's be realistic here. If you have done any real world project you will realize that predicting project variables beyond five years is extremely difficult and therefore a waste of time. So why waste time, energy and money t ...

• GUTTER JOURNALISM 7 years ago

It's a waste of time to have a 5- year development plan. Nkrumah at least tried a 7- year plan.

• Kofi Adjei 7 years ago

What is Ghana's projected population in 40 years? You don't even know how many Ghanaians there are now.

• Odikro 7 years ago

Amoah must have been indoctrinated in China. China is not developing because of any 100-year plan. They are developing because they wrk hard and they copy hard. In fact it would be better to have 5-year rolling plans. There' ...

• AwuduKasiru 7 years ago

Study Kasiru