How international media reported Ghana’s ‘elephant sized’ ministerial list

Read Comments Comments (105)

• Ghanaba 7 years ago

Akomea made sense in his defense of this issue. Mustapha Hamid just made a mockery in his defense of the large number of ministers by saying they did not promise a lean government. Does it mean that if you did not promise so ...

• Zoobie-Zoobie 7 years ago

confused and overwhelmed

• Zoobie-Zoobie 7 years ago

loud and empty

• . ..AGBESI KWESI 7 years ago

According to a story attributed to the NDC MP for Asunafo South district, the NPP plagiarized the NDC’s 2016 budget. In his statement " Paragraph 273 of the 2017 budget says principally that the government has allocated GH ...

• FactFinder 7 years ago

Some foolish NPP supporters are always comparing Akuffo-Addo to Mahama. Its true that Mahama failed Ghanaians. So should Akuffo-Addo also destroy the country to square up with Mahama before he engage in responsible governance ...

• NDC IS SATANIC 7 years ago

Mo besu ara awu. Ndc will never be the alternative ,thieves,akronfuo. Ndc should think of after 40 years hahahahaha. Only fools with no vision and planing see this as empty but those who understand things know you need to in ...

• Kingz 7 years ago

Nana I believe will deliver..he is building 2020 strategy where more ministers from his party will be there to do the grounds work and comprehend the ndc again .. but 110 is kinda too much considering our status as a nation . ...

• Kwabena Hannover 7 years ago

There is nothing arrogance in his statement. dont confuse yourself with facts and imaginations.If they never promised,what do u expect him to say?

• Tibaa 7 years ago

First, they ridiculed a plagiarized speech; second, the international community is making fun of Ghana's clientele state approach to governance.

Shameful

• chief Bani 7 years ago

Tibaa did u really listened to BBC during ur soo called plagiarised speech.According to the BBC the reporter said “Some section of Ghanaians(particularly the NDC cohorts) claims the new president speech was plagiarised.Isn' ...

• Abena,Ksi 7 years ago

Massa don't twist the issue...Aljazeera and BBC were emphatic that Nana Addo plagiarized...CNN also did same...you think we have short memory

• master 7 years ago

Find out how many ministers and deputies in UK. Then check the number of executives on each local council.
    The BBC was just shocked about why the NDC guys are complaining knowing it is the right to do.

• King US 7 years ago

BBC Shock!! Why do some ghanians compare ghana to Uk US and even Japan?
    We are a third world cty, we shd compare ourself to Camaroun Cote dvoir, Bokena faso, Zambia and other africa ctys. We are soo over rated ourself be rea ...

• FactFinder 7 years ago

You are a liar to say that the BBC is shocked that the NDC did not engage in irresponsible governance. Really? Please stop visiting the Stalin and Machevilian libraries. I know where you are coming from.

• Tsatsebi 7 years ago

Ghanaians elected an incompetent leader based on tribalism. Now the chickens are coming to roost. This is certainly jobs for the NPP sycophants. Africans never learn and we will be a Third World forever. Very shameful

• KWAKU MANU 7 years ago

Where was tribalism when MAHAMA was elected. NDC still does not seem to realize that they robbed the nation as Ghanaians loo,ken on helplessly, that is why they were voted out.
    We Ghanaians do not mind how Akuffo Addo will d ...

• Lord 7 years ago

Even China, Japan, USA and Nigeria with large population does not have such gargantuan ministers. Job for the boys to enjoy , tax payers cry.

• adwoa 7 years ago

we need the title belt to reach where they are

• A TRUE GHANAIAN 7 years ago

When matters reach such international levels, we should bow our heads in shame. Old man Akufo Addo, why take headline news in such disgraceful manner. Which foreign country will give you funds to implement your budget as pl ...

• TIPOLIPO 7 years ago

Oh Nana you have really disappointed us. With all the noise 'try me try me'Is it what we are in for? Oh Nana try and be a listening govt. Don't behave like Mahama

• star 7 years ago

I heard the sitting president say that his govt will be lean. So I was brutally surprised when I got to know that he has named 110

• efo 7 years ago

Enemies of progress, why the hullabaloo???? and these idiots who messed the country up can't wait to see the end result. Do we care about what BBC reports, even if BBC reports that is make it right. black inferiority compress ...

• KnYc(USMC) 7 years ago

Thank you, who the fuck is BBC? We as Ghanaians want end result, not what the international community thinks. After eight years of going through hall all they ( the international community) did was lending us money with high ...

• Appiah 7 years ago

After all this kind of talk you go on your knees begging for money to pay your 110 ministers. Boy , understand ! We are are spending money we do not have.

• KnYc(USMC) 7 years ago

Keep kissing BBC ass dummy.

• Wiseman 7 years ago

The 2 of you are either a disgrace to your wives and children, that's if you're married or a big embarrassment to the wombs that brought you to this earth. It's only a fool that throws away the water in the house because it's ...

• KnYc(USMC) 7 years ago

Piece of shit like you. I don't kiss no white man ass dummy

• King US 7 years ago

Keep on praise your dommy god..

• Kofi Columbia 7 years ago

Another bush rat smelling like shit do you have the money to service all this minister's thank God am not in that jungle anymore to witness this type of foolishness God thank you

• makuz 7 years ago

nonsense again
    you want the country to spend it's last cedi on these good for nothing old fools? amad you are

• kweku 7 years ago

It's inferiority complex and not inferiority compress. Why are you from Kumasi

• Chieftancy 7 years ago

My Friend y3 steady wati. Hahaha.

• Sandra 7 years ago

Hahaha haha hahaha. ......... I laugh aaaaa cry.......

• kweku trouble 7 years ago

"inferiority compress."? What the f**k does that mean?

• Kwami 7 years ago

no one destroyed Ghana more then ndc and their dummy leader mahama

• Africanus 7 years ago

So what are you saying... that it is fine for Nana to do the same??? Stupid. It is people like you who will make NPP fail, because you are going to support every stupid thing they do.

• Wiseman 7 years ago

Are you a stupid idiot.... so Nana should destroy the rest...

• They Say They Say 7 years ago

Is this the same guy who used to call President Mills incompetent with 30 ministers?

• Stephen Donkor, New York. 7 years ago

There should never be any hullabaloo about the size of this government except that the NDC criminals are jittery about the prospect of success of the Nana's government. Governments have priorities and that should reflect thei ...

• Wiseman 7 years ago

Hear another baboon from the amazon forest.. Only a stupid poor father who's near psycho that will for instance borrow money to organise party whiles his children are driven from school because of school fees..

• FactFinder 7 years ago

The stupid NPP supporters are defending this indefensible action. The issue here is not about what NDC did or didnt do. Its about all Ghanaians standing together to hold their leaders accountable. Period.

• ONE GHANA 7 years ago

VERY SHAMEFUL INDEED. "PREACH" VIRTUES AND PRACTICE VICES!!! NANA HAS PROVEN BEYOND DOUBTS THAT, HE CANNOT BE TRUSTED. HE'S SIMPLY NOT A MAN OF HIS WORDS...I CAN'T THINK FAR, AND I CAN'T THINK MADNESS!!!

• master 7 years ago

By 2020 the NDC would be vanquished in the election. Ministers everywhere to cut the waste and work for the country. Free SHS would be blossoming, NHIS would be resurrected and the railway construction creating many jobs. Peo ...

• JOHNSON 7 years ago

By the end of 2020 you will see all these so called ministers in mansions while your children still struggle to pay fees. How will Nana monitor these gangs?

• master 7 years ago

if they don't deliver Ghanaians would vote them out period. But they will deliver and Ghanaians shall keep them for another 4 years. Nana means business. He will monitor them that is why they are called ministers. They report ...

• Adu 7 years ago

you surround yourself with many people. so when things go wrong you can point fingers. Very disappointing. Even Osafo Marfo is a shadow president. Incompetency and thievery

• Bobby, Denmark 7 years ago

Where in the news that BBC mocking the elephant size of the government? Did that BBC mock the vision of our great leader as well?? These wicked whites know the only party they can fool them is NDC. Ghana is going to be depend ...

• Akua Mansa 7 years ago

Ghana need to perform to transform the country. The number of Ministers is not necessary a yardstick to measure Ghana but their performance and progress.

Whiles I think the number is excessive, I think we should measure th ...

• Abeeku 7 years ago

NPP you people are really insubordinate ! Why do people think that all that you do is right? You don't want to listen to any advice. Always very stubborn in your ignorance. Listen a bit to an advice from others...

• Winwin 7 years ago

You talk like a fool. You think ministers and deputy ministers are appointed and it ends there? There's huge cost to everything. Stupid!

• you don't care 7 years ago

Sometimes I look at the NDC talking about this government disgraceful act. A disgraceful act?
    what's more disgraceful than bus branding, sada,inflated ameri deal, inflated Veep residence, black stars saga, the coffee money, ...

• Prof. Issifu, USA 7 years ago

I traveled to Ghana to vote for a change but I'm baffled by the 110 ministerial appointments. The cost is going to be too much burden for Ghana. What Ghana needs are checks and balances on few competent ministers but not 110 ...

• master 7 years ago

You think the cost would more than if they were not there? Think again. I understand there will be a minister in the office of the president in charge of procurement. Now, if such a minister is able to his/her work properly t ...

• Prof. Issifu, USA 7 years ago

In his book titled "Ghana: Evolution and Change", Prof. Adu Boahen observed that "politicians learn history but they fail to learn from history." The NDC defended every dubious action of Mahama and paid for it dearly on Decem ...

• MR ADUBOFOUR 7 years ago

LET US WAIT AND SEE WHAT HAPPEN NEST

• Henry 7 years ago

We don't live for international community which does not exist. We live as Ghanaians. Who cares about ur perceived IC. BBC reported about the guinea fowl, bus re-branding, Brazil World Cup, Woyome and the infamous JD, most ...

You will still remain in the wilderness am sorry for you.

No doubt thus why you will remain poor and keep praising this useless venture what will this appointments benefit you as a person keep on struggling in Trotro with your foolishness thanks to America for my comfort

• My Name 7 years ago

Hahahahhahahahahaha

• peace man Nkoranza 7 years ago

hmmmm!! Ghana is suffering .they should just make it one village one minister to make more sense!!

• FREE EDUCATION 7 years ago

Ghana is in the international news lately for the wrong reasons under the npp. first plagiarism and now the npp government has the largest ministers in the world. very shameful.

• JAY 7 years ago

I am surprised some NPP Officials are trying to justify the unjustifiable numbers,NANA ADDO should STOP acting and behaving like MAHAMA

• Kojo Yankson 7 years ago

Nana is actually behaving like himself. Dullllllll!!

• Daakyehene Bimpong 7 years ago

Oh oh oooh, Fellow Ghanaians . If u employ 10 ministers and u generate Gh 5 cedis and spend Gh 4 cedis , whiles the other employ 30 ministers generate Gh 100 cedis and spend Gh 30 cedis then let us ask ourselves whose is more ...

• Daakyehene Bimpong 7 years ago

Colleagues, we have not paid attention to some of our Lectures in the universities. Some are having as many as 5 teaching assistance .So why shouldn't they ignore them n then do their work on their own .Hmmm, posterity will j ...

• Ynwa 7 years ago

Akuffo Addo: You fucking lost my vote today? Do all your friends have to be ministers in order to move this country forward? Another four wasted years...no wonder you were wasting our money on some useless 60 year anniversary ...

• Let's Get It Right 7 years ago

See there is a misunderstanding here. The US has maybe 23 cabinet level secretaries. Each has several "deputies" and assistants. When you add it all up political appointees are about 4000. That was the number Donald Trump was ...

• Atoklo 7 years ago

Let's get it Right, or whatever your name is. I think you've got WRONG!!! The USA may have 4,000 appointees but the US doesn't come to Ghana government to borrow money, do they? So don't talk nonsense and compare us to the US ...

• master 7 years ago

How about if it is because they have enough to police all their sectors that is why they are rich? People like you would be ok if there are only 5 ministers and nothing gets done because you're so used to nothing being done. ...

You can even ask Nana to employ your parents how about that ? I think that will make you more happy useless idiot

• Africanus 7 years ago

My brother the Ghanaian president has much greater leverage for appointing officials than the US president. Besides the government ministers, Nana is also going to appoint district officers, vice chancellor of universities, C ...

• King US 7 years ago

Keep on comparing ghana to US and UK, one state alone is bigger than gh. Secondly ghana is third world cty.Be Real!!

• Paa Kwesi 7 years ago

Unbelievable, unreasonable, this NPP government is already failing Ghana.

• Mark 7 years ago

AKUFO-ADDO IS JUST A USELESS PERSON.

• Alex London 7 years ago

International media. Who are they? BBC has its own problem at home. As a young man growing up in Ghana BBC world Service programme was seen as the gold standard until I came to live in the UK

• AAziz Issahaku 7 years ago

Mr. president most people with large penis are always in effective in bed.a quotation from Dagomba

• Kosi 7 years ago

Nana, is on the slippery slope to incompetency. He has yet to demonstrated the practicalism and sophistication expected of him. Still premature to judge but
    I'm so disappointed.

He could have appointed half the minsters and kept the rest at the presidency as presidential staffers. They would all be paid and treated like ministers. Makes no difference.

• ananseba 7 years ago

One wonders what the annual salary costs and other benefits will amount to. Wontumi appears to be calling the shots. Poor Akufo-Addo's weakness is beginning to show. Wait till the 'invissibles'? and the 'bull dogs square up.

• one love 7 years ago

ghanaweb u are a big fool, which international media did u interview. kwasia, gyimifour people write something good because u are losing ur credibility nonsense

• CARBOO C GIDEON 7 years ago

110 ministers, is d npp governing a continent or a federation just imagine. Never trust politicians, the largest ministers since independence. N wat is mustapha Hamid talking about such nonsence is he correct I don't think so ...

• funny 7 years ago

SO these are the wise men NPP talk about?God have mercy.

• Firstborn 7 years ago

I don't think madness

• Odikro 7 years ago

Ghana is Ghana. Who cares what other countries think.

• GASKIYA 7 years ago

WAHALA GOVT. The Npp telling Ghanaians that they are the elephant party and as such, the elephant sized government. And don't forget that They also steal elephant size!.

• Yaa..US 7 years ago

Why are people actually surprised?

• KD 7 years ago

you see all this has got to do with height. he needs to build a tall pyramid of ministers in order to be visible when he hits atop. otherwise the problem of dwarfism continues to haunt us.

• GOOD FATHER 7 years ago

How can NPP do this to poor Ghanians who are fighting to get two meals a day.They are really confused about welfare of the country.Ghana is been laugh how this matter is reaching international level.

• UN 7 years ago

Ghana always send the biggest delegations to UN conferences. Rich countries like Sweden, Germany, Spain are just sending a moderate size that are taking part in meeting. Ghana MP's like to shop and
    eat

• Nothing 7 years ago

Please! I'm begging you try me this is my third attempt to presidency.

• Ugly akufo addo 7 years ago

That's why he is fooling this way . Military have to get up to overthrow this fool not to destroye the country further

• amoako 7 years ago

foolish ndcs,akua donkor was paid every month without doing any work.even wayome money can pay this ministers.nana go ahead and appoint two dces in each district

• Flight Tickets 7 years ago

For Bookings of Your Flight Tickets & Hotel Reservations Please call: +233 268-035-407 whatsapp: 001(813)824-2313 For 50% Discount

• K .Amponsem 7 years ago

It is shameful for Akufo Addo and Mustafa to justify the formation of elephant sized ministerial list of ministers and deputies not to mention the civil servants to work for this huge list of ministers and deputies. This show ...

• Paa Joe 7 years ago

WITH ONE HUNDRED AND THIURTY MINISTERS OF SSTATE AND DEPUTIES IN A POVERTY STRICKEN COUNTRY, ONE DOUBTS IF, TRUMP, MAY AND HOLLANDE WILL EXTEND THEIR INVITATION TO HIM FOR A DISCUSSION ON GHANA'S AILING ECONOMY

IS IT TRUE ...

• Emperor 7 years ago

Kibi Mafia in action

• Jojo 7 years ago

THE SO CALLED SENIOR MINISTER, MARFO LOOKS ON WHILE THE NATION IS DESTROYED WITH ONE HUNDRED AND THIRTY MINISTERS OF STATE(130) AND WITHOUT A WORD ON HOW HE IS GOING TO ACHIEVE HIS PROMISED ONE FACTORY AND ONE DAM AT EVERY D ...

• Osei Mensah 7 years ago

Mootia mumu naadaa hene akuffo addo. Omanpanin biara maa ghana a nano twa ahuro tes3 Akuffo adowa. Ode animguase3 na hy3 n'adwuma ase nti no ode animguase3 na bewie.

• Amoo 7 years ago

NPP is disgraceful. Do these people still have this " scratch my back, and I will scratch your back" mentality
    NPP will fizzle out soon. Group of know it all but nothing to offer

• adwoa 7 years ago

so BBC now can report on Gh. hypocrates. whether 110 or 1100 what bi your beef. nana toaso...add more

• Osman 7 years ago

I think Akomea makes sense and speak well than Mustapha Hamid.the truth be told.

• Kofi K 7 years ago

Ghana is a sovereign country. We have different problems from Britain, USA, UAE etc. We do what is best for our country....and fuck the international critics.

• DESPERATE NPP STILL DESPERATE!!! 7 years ago

AS FOR THIS ONE DE3!!!!!!!

• Tand T 7 years ago

The richest people in the country are all politicians or friend or family of present or former politicians.
    Akufo Addo is just giving people opportunity to be rich. 4 years will come and go and we will remain 3rd world.
    W ...

• Eugene 7 years ago

Do you really need more ministers to do the work or less ministers who are more efficient and able to delegate???